Find companies:
Big 5 Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
217 reviews

Big 5 Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closing January
Customer (Former Employee), Duncan, OkSeptember 16, 2014
If you're looking for a steady job don't apply they will be closing January in Duncan store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part Time Job
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: shifts are different every week
Good Job if you're a student, minimum wage and hours vary. It's a lay back work environment. Also, you have to dress in slacks, button up and tie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work place with Fun, Friendly Staff
Cashier/Sales Rep., (Former Employee), Murray, UTSeptember 9, 2014
A typical day at Big 5 was punching in at the register, putting on my name tag and checking the add set bin for the week to see what needed to be done. If there was add to be done then that's where I'd start. As I do add if I pass by a customer or see one close by I'd always stop to ask if they needed assistance.
Management was really good, if I ever – more... needed help I knew I could go to 1 of the 3 for it. It was an all around great learning experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place if you're loyal.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southern CaliforniaSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: in store management is good, flexible scheduling, fun coworkers, easy work
Cons: micromanagement from people that are scarcely in the store, work is designed to make you feel stupid, company doesn't treat employees well
I worked for Big 5 Sporting Goods for a handful of years in the sales department. Throughout those two years, I enjoyed the job for the most part, but felt mistreated by the upper management. The in-store management was great. Almost all of my coworkers were good people and fun to work with. The work its self was fairly easy, typical retail work.

My – more... biggest complaint is that the upper management, who spend very little time in the actual store, feel the need to micromanage almost every aspect of the store's operations. I guess this isn't really unusual for retail, but it makes for a very frustrating work environment.

Another thing to keep in mind. The company does NOT reward loyal employees. I spent several years in the company and received one raise after the first year. When minimum wage was increased in my state, my raise did not carry over, and as an experience employee that rarely missed a day of work, I was making the entry level wage, same as the people hired a few weeks earlier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Resume Builder
First Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: paid training, fast advancement
Cons: bare minimum pay; no home life for management
Big 5 is a great place to move forward and get a head start on your career. However, the pay in far below average and they are light years behind in technology and not willing to make very many improvements. The company allows employees and customers to walk all over them. While you can generally get days off by request the hours are inconsistent and – more... management has restrictions on having any kind of system of scheduling. Management positions do get neat training in firearms, loss prevention, merchandising, and more. The sporting goods are always great to learn, sell and be in all day but there are far better companies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), San Bruno, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: good benefits and vacation time.
Cons: as you move up in the company the hours can get extremely long
Big 5 believes in promoting within. If you work hard, Big 5 will treat you well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Job
Sales and Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Elk Grove, CASeptember 3, 2014
This job is flexible on hours and availability but the overall work environment and management is sub par. Unless you're in high school in dire need of some gas money, Big 5 is not a place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Customer Service (Former Employee), Reno, NVSeptember 2, 2014
This job was very challenging but fun. I ran the whole store and I loved the team I was managing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very outgoing fun place to work. Great people to work with!
Cashier/Sales Floor (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 27, 2014
My typical day at work it would just depend on what hours i would work mostly in the morning. So we would open the store, count our drawers, sometimes do truck if it was on a Monday.
I have learned allot from working there from the manager, employs, but mostly from our wonderful customers that would come in. Angry, happy, sad just all the above.
Management – more... was the best! They did what they were suppose to be doing they made sure everyone got what they needed and just made sure everyone was in good hand. So no negative feedback on that!!
Co-workers some of them had their ups and downs but who doesn't you know? But most of the time everyone one got along. The store i was at was probably the best store to go to!
Working there, there was nothing hard about that job once you get everything down its one of the easiest job around! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and opportunities for advancement
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Spanish Fork, UtAugust 24, 2014
Pros: great training
Cons: short breaks, unreliable schedule
The basic work day a manager starts by opening the store using company software and settling accounts from the previous day. Then the day revolves around project planning and implementation. The work day ends by settling accounts for the day and making deposits. This company has been a great place to learn and develop lots of management skills. I have – more... learned the nuances of associated with project management and execution. The hardest part of the job was scheduling. It is hard to develop a good balance between home and work with a constantly changing hours. The job really give you to a good opportunity to work with people and provide good customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family like atmosphere, great attitudes, productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Oro Valley, AZAugust 14, 2014
a typical day at work is I in an check the manager notes on what to do, when finished with those duties I proceed to ask if there is anything that they need me to get done before my shift ends, if they don't have anything for me to do then I ask the cashier if he/she needs any help with what they have to do, if they have nothing for me then I hang out – more... and wait for customers to come in at that point I greet them with a smile and ask how I can help them, after all that I keep busy by straightening the store out. I have learned how to be courteous to costumers, work hard, a lot about shoes, and how to stay busy. The management team is really motivated and great at working with new employees, as in training etc. My co-workers are very friendly they treat me as if I were their blood family, it makes it a great place to work if everyone is friendly. Hardest part about the job is re-organizing the shoe room, most enjoyable is working with happy people and nice costumers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and dynamic work-environment, hard work is recognized
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Sierra Vista, AZAugust 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, recognition of hard work, friendly enviornment
Cons: long hours (41+), not much time for activities outside of work
There's ever a dull moment working at Big 5. There are always customers in need of something different from the right pair of running shoes to firearms and ammo to exercise equipment to camping and outdoor gear. There is plenty of product knowledge needed to do well so there's always something to learn. If it's a slow day there is always some sort of – more... project to be working on. I learned how to deal with employees and co-workers to create a supportive and productive work-environment, how to diffuse situations regarding both customers and/or employees. The management staff was always friendly, knowledgeable and hard-working. The hardest part of the job was getting employees that have been there a while to stay productive and not get a feeling of complacency or entitlement. I enjoyed being able to help customers who thought they'd be in for a fight when they had an issue (returns, need a better price, defective equipment, etc.) leave happy and excited to return, also building a relationship with the regulars and listening to their stories about hiking treks, sports talk or gun talk. I learned a lot about people, such as what motivates an individual or what one might struggle with when learning a new job. I would have no problem staying with the company if i did not have other ideals for my career and what I want to do for the rest of my life. I was able to rise through the ranks from a part-time sales associate, leave for school, come back and land a job as a part of the full-time management staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sporting Goods Heaven
Sales Associate, Cashier (Current Employee), Monterey, CAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: the people i work with, employee discounts on awesome sporting goods equipment
Cons: short lunches, lack of training
My typical day at work would be to identify what duties need to be performed that day and helping customers find the products needed to complete their sporting goods store adventure. Through this job I learned how to properly communicate with a variety of different people, how to professionally work with others, how to resolve situations with an unhappy – more... customer, and many other day-to-day skills. The hardest part of working at this job is not knowing the products you are trying to sell. Product knowledge comes from experience, for example if someone goes fishing for fun they are more likely to understand and have more knowledge about fishing than someone who does not. The most enjoyable part of the job is definitely the people I work with. Big 5 hires very spunky individuals who I feel get along with each other very well and makes the work environment a lot more brighter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 managers in one store
Manager trainer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: part time employees were cool.
Cons: company culture, only care about bottom line
I like a place where I can move up or even meet an owner. Working here was not like that at all. I was a manager trainee and above me in the same store was the GM, a 1st asst. 2nd asst and even one more below that. What I was really was just a full time employee. A glorified shoe salesman. The benefits were ridiculous, I had to fight with HR just to – more... be able to sign up and get a package that they offered. When I went to the Dr. they said that I still didn't have it. Supposedly this was supposed to be a position with advancement potential however where was I going to advance to with so many ahead of me anyways. It was 40 hrs. a week with walk home pay of under 10/hr. That plus the fighting to get benefits should show you that this company doesn't care about its employees only it's bottom line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn important basic employee skills.
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Former Employee), Ogden, UTJuly 21, 2014
Pros: flexible shcedule and layed back envirenment
Cons: low pay and low hours
Help a wide variety of people with there sporting good needs. Fun place to learn how to deal with the public and develop customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale products that met consumers needs.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tooele, UTJuly 21, 2014
This was a fun place to work because we were able to be extremely personable. While being able to make the customers laugh we were still effectively getting them the items they came into the store to acquire. There were set duties that had to be done, and they were clearly lined out on a clipboard of where end caps needed to be built and what discounts – more... went where in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work enviroment at Big 5 sporting goods store
Retail associate (Former Employee), Ukiah, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: the donutes for breakfast every morning for free
Cons: the 5 minutes to smoke and relax was only once after a 15 minute lunch break
Stock the shoes in backroom, Stock new products, clean mirrors/dust/sweep/trash&recycle, Help customers, price tag products w/current sales tag
Those were my daily duties while working with Big 5, I enjoyed the part of my shift the most though when we were allowed to organize the invatory by look. As in color, style, size, price etc. and we had to make – more... it look the most appealing as possible to the customers, i enjoyed this part mostly because i was allowed to use my organization and color coordination skills with the clothing.

The hardest part for me was taking the shoes down from the top shelves in the back constantly through out my shift, because sometimes there were 20-30 trips made up a 8 foot ladder in jus 30 minutes.

i learned a great deal about retail and customer interactions that i hadn't known before – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Daly City, CAJuly 17, 2014
The worst place to work. Cheapest company ever, very poorly managed, high turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great way to get customer service experience
Assistant Manger (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CAJuly 17, 2014
Being part of management we had to be on top of our associates making sure everyone is up to date with new ads, coupons and products. Big 5 is the same routine every week depending on the day i.e. Monday-Payroll, Tuesday-Truck delivery etc. I learned a lot about patience while working at Big 5 also about firearms and sports that I never participated – more... in growing up. Co-workers you have to make sure that everyone keeps busy. As a manager you can side tracked with other projects or paperwork that co-workers would take advantage of that and just stand around not doing anything. When work really needs to be done they are on top it. The hardest part is having to deal with high turnover rate since it is retail. I most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and talking with so many new people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Antioch, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: discounts on footwear and clothing
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work will consist of all workers providing the best possible customer service to their customers, regardless of how busy they may be. At Big 5 Sporting Goods, I was able to learn a lot about myself. First, since this was my first job, I was able to learn quickly how to balance having a Job as well as going to school. Working at Big – more... 5 Sporting Goods enabled me to be a responsible individual as well as developing the skill of being able to multi-task. The most enjoyable part of the job was the fact that I was able to put a smile on a customer's face, each day that I was working there. To have a customer feel completely satisfied and even sometimes thank you for assisting them, was enough for me to have a positive outlook on my Job. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Big 5 Sporting Goods

Big 5 Sporting Goods has outgrown its name. The company, which started out with five army surplus shops in California¬†in 1955, – Read more