Find companies:
Big 5 Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
207 reviews

Big 5 Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and great team.
Sales/ Cashier (Current Employee), Roseburg, ORFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: unreliable hours
I jump from sales associate to cashier, I am the top sales associate there and I was efficient and fast at the register. I learned quite a bit about sporting goods. I really respect Big 5 and my managers and co-workers are amazing. The hardest part of working there is that the hours are not stable, especially in the winter months. I am a single mom – more... and I really can't scrimp and save anymore, it is just time for a change. As far as the most enjoyable part of the job...honestly being part of a great team and I love a fast pace work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run place to work, enjoyed being at the work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Bell Gardens, CAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, management awesome
i would always walk in with a smile to work. day went by smooth and fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to wrok
Part Time Cashier (Current Employee), Pueblo, COFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: dicounts, great coworkers, and management
Cons: not enough hours
One of the best places I worked in a long time, great managers, and coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job to get started with
Cashier (Current Employee), Orange, CAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: short breaks
My typical workday would consist on ringing each customer up as well as answering phone calls from other customers and stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Cashier and Sale Associate (Current Employee), Ceres, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: the work environment is very professional.
Cons: part timers get very little hours.
I have been working for Big 5 Sporting Goods for two years. The work environment is very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative work environment with friendly coworkers and management
Associate (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: flexibility with hours according to school schedule, happiness, friendly co-workers and management
Cons: low pay, few hours
At Big 5 Sporting Goods I would either do opening duties or closing duties depending on when my shift was which usually included organization and cleanliness. I spent most of my time either behind the cash register or out on the sales floor organizing and cleaning while simultaneously assisting customers. I learned a lot of California Laws pertaining – more... to hunting and fishing as well as knife and gun laws. Management was absolutely amazing. They always had a smile on their face and I enjoyed working with every single solitary one of my managers. My co-workers were also a complete joy. Everyone was always happy and I became friend with a few of them. The hardest part of my job was leaving at the end when I moved. When pertaining to the job itself, the hardest part was finding an item in the computer if it wasn't physically tagged. I enjoyed almost everything about this job but it was a thrill when I would bring in more e-mail subscriptions than some of my co-workers, counting drawers for the managers and filing all the different receipts as well as just being in the environment. Going to work actually improved my mood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Retail sales (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: that i couldn't get hired as a full time employee
Come into work on my shifts and go straight to assisting customers in need of assistance.
Everything that I took into every job that I worked at came from this job.
My manager was really cool. He taught me a lot about the product that we were working with.
My co workers were always there to help me when I needed help.
Nothing was hard about this job.
When – more... we had a blackout and power outage the manager pick on assistant manager and two employees to watch over the store till the armed security came. We played with the air soft guns in the dar. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An acquired taste/ a regular retail job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fresno, CAJanuary 22, 2014
Low pay and mini raises but if you work a lot of hours it may be beneficial for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic retail job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Upland, CAJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: steady work
Cons: work hours are never consistent on a week to week basis
Working here is very easy. By the day of the week you know what you need to work on. Some managers will remind you of your daily tasks but for the most part the part time employees will know what to do. Great place to be if you like staying busy. Though it can get boring if you find yourself with nothing to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great "Assistant" managers, great co-workers, Requires your very best to be noticed.
Part-time Sales Associate (Current Employee), Henderson, NevadaJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, easy going work place
Cons: complacent manger, angry customer ( its retail, what can you do. right?)
Overall good place to work, like any place there are some short-comings but the people and environment are easy going and polite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
cashier (Former Employee), Redwood City, CAJanuary 13, 2014
this job was a fun working place. i learned how to handle cash and work the cash register. my co-workers always made work fun always had positive attitude managers were also very nice and helpfull.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company.
Cashier (Former Employee), Henderson, NVJanuary 13, 2014
Big 5 really gave me most of the work ethics I use today. It was a great starter company in my opinion. At the first store I worked in Las Vegas NV i had the most amazing team. Everyone was driven and keep the same goals at heart always. I truly appreciate all values acquired at this store.When i moved to a store years later in Henderson I didn't have – more... quite the same experience as i had in my first store but i still truly appreciate the work ethic and the kindness of the people i met there. I love that wherever i went it seemed like everyone hired in Big 5 was truly trying to do their best. It was completely refreshing. There are not too many opportunities for advancement is my one complaint but otherwise I really love this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad pay, lots of work to do in day
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Cerrito, CAJanuary 10, 2014
great people to work with, manager was a women who yelled at everybody, and complained about everything. I was lowest payed person their doing all the heavy lifting, and managing retail area with most costumer, the shoe area. A typical day at work for me will going constantly in back and grab shoes that were very unorganized in shelf's that where 10 – more... feet high with heavy ladders that I had to repeatedly move to find shoes. I was most athletic and youngest at job so I helped costumers lift 50-150 pounds weight sets, trampolines, treadmills, etc. That was most enjoyable part of job, getting fresh air. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Kmart of Sporting Goods stores
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAJanuary 7, 2014
The headline is not meant to be a compliment either. I would not suggest working here if you are a self respecting adult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding place to work
2nd Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Hollister, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Big 5 was a rewarding company to work for. I really respected that Big 5 promotes from within and I worked my way from Full time Cashier to 2nd Assistant Manager in my time with the company. It was also fun to work for the Sporting Goods Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Concord, CAJanuary 6, 2014
decent, decent coworkers, decent manager, not much room to move up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job to have while attending college.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 1, 2014
My time at Big 5 was great while I was attending school. They worked around my schedule so I was able to finish college with no problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver, WADecember 31, 2013
Corporate structure. Great management packages. Upper management is very professional and follows through well. Store employees were great! Nice environment. Good discounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met alot of interesting people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 19, 2013
It was a good job but I was not getting enough hours. I mostly sold shoes but some days worked as a cashier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working with other employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CODecember 17, 2013
Pros: customers always came back, the job was easy and fun
Cons: manager made me feel like i didnt belong their!!!
I enjoyed working with big 5 sporting goods the only thing I did not like was there was an employee who was jealous and spread a horrible rumor about me that cost me my job and I had no way of proving them wrong.

About Big 5 Sporting Goods

Big 5 Sporting Goods has outgrown its name. The company, which started out with five army surplus shops in California¬†in 1955, – Read more