Big Boy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
business was very slow
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 21, 2018
Management did have a good rapport with the other managers and employees. Managers did not communicate well with employees. The restaurant was not cohesive in its operations.
Pros
hours were flexible
Cons
servers with longevity micro-managed the floor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Eastpointe, MIJanuary 19, 2018
Easy going good place to learn lots of hours but no room for advancement sad to see it get closed as it was a second home to me and my family I started waitressing there at 15
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Dishwasher/Cook (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 4, 2018
Big Boy is a fun place to work with and has a very kind employees who have worked with the company for years. It is a exciting experience and are very helpful to meet hours or changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Manager
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Alpena, MIJanuary 3, 2018
I have never in my life had a worse manager, I am a workaholic quiet and hardly slow down in my normal life. She would call me from her house while watching me on the cameras to tell me that I needed to do something. While I already had a list of all of the things she wanted me to do in order and I hadn't got to what she wanted done yet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Houghton Lake, MIJanuary 1, 2018
I truly enjoyed working for Big Boy in Houghton Lake. The owners were good to their employees. I feel like I was successful working there. It's a shame that it closed down to become Mikey's Restaurant on October 12th 2016
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job.
Manager/Server/Cook (Former Employee) –  Essexville, MIDecember 20, 2017
Overall it was a pretty good job especially if its your or second job. Just not a very good job to have if your trying to have a family and live a stable life..
Pros
Free food when managing and 50% while working
Cons
Dealing with tough customers or annoying coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dying Demographic
Server (Former Employee) –  Mount Clemens, MIOctober 9, 2017
65 cent tips from 65 year olds. And you have to wait to get your credit card tips until your paycheck, instead of that night with your cash tips. The demo for this restaurant is literally dying off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medium pace work place
Server (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 8, 2017
Big Boy is an okay place to work for minors if you don't have to pay bills. As a minor you don't get more than twenty hours and the tips are not very great, however if you are working to spend it is an okay place to work.
Pros
50% off on duty employee discount on food.
Cons
Low hours for minors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced place
WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Grand Blanc, MISeptember 29, 2017
I was always on my feet assisting tables and helping customers. I learned how to work and multi-task at a fast-pace. Management wasn't horrible, but could have been better for employees. Everybody worked as a team. The hardest part was being on my feet the entire time with bad shoes. The most enjoyable part was working with good-willed people and satisfying customers.
Pros
Discounts, good tips, helpful coworkers.
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i just had a transfer
Bus Boy (Former Employee) –  Tawas City, MISeptember 17, 2017
i had to transfer jobs and neither of the big boys were good they both ran about the same only really cared about themselves and no one else really mattered to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my thought
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MISeptember 1, 2017
Big boy was the best place I have worked at. the work place was always taken care of the managers were respectful and nice, and all the coworkers did their jobs.
Pros
everyone did their job and food was up on time.
Cons
sime times people made mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for a student right out of high school
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Eastpointe, MIJuly 28, 2017
always worked hard and always learning something new management was great the other employees were so helpful
the hardest thing about this job was still being nice to rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Traverse City, MIJune 26, 2017
Was a good first job, worked well with my school schd and the need for hours.









I worked here til I graduated and needed more hours and money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going place to work
server (Current Employee) –  Clio, MIJune 22, 2017
I really enjoy working here. I like the staff and the customers, i'm just tired of working in the food industry or I at least don't want to have to depend on tips as my main source of income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disliked this job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MIJune 17, 2017
Not a good place to work. People and family not important to them. I worked there for 5 years and my sister worked there 20 and owner sold business and new owners fired us both and hired younger kids to work for half the money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Line Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Cedar Springs, MIJune 12, 2017
I had fun and the people were great. Management did what they were supposed to and made it a pleasant place to work. You were appreciated when you had to bust butt and get the job done. it was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude
Greeter/Server (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MIJune 4, 2017
Very rude managers. Extremely low pay. Managers are not understanding of your personal life when something arises. Was not treated well. Won't suggest this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Dishwasher, Prep Cook, Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Essexville, MIJune 1, 2017
good atmosphere and friendly co-workers good for a second job or getting into the workforce mostly part time not much room for advancement great for college students
Pros
discount food on work shift
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Host (Former Employee) –  Cheboygan, MIMay 16, 2017
I would get to work organize the menus along with the different sections of the restaurant. When we got busy I would help the servers with their tables if they were falling behind on orders by getting the customers their drink orders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy
Server (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIMay 4, 2017
regular customers,employee turn over was just enough to be interesting,food was ok,easy job,learned a lot,management had a real interest in the well being of emplyees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Big Boy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 117 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4