Big Brothers Big Sisters Employee Reviews

Found 205 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing organization
Mentor (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 23, 2017
BBBS is so much fun and gives me joy to watch children grow and learn. I can bring them out, help with homework or help them work on personal skills. It is very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with many learning experiences and opportunities
Intern (Former Employee) –  Lawrence County, PAJune 16, 2017
I learned a lot about time management, and had many leadership opportunities during my internship. I learned how to more effectively communicate with superiors and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed environment with low pay
Match Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 13, 2017
Mostly good experience. Nice people. Female dominated organization. Good place to stay if you are not needing to be the main "breadwinner" in the household.
Pros
Flexible w/ good benefits and PTO
Cons
Low salaries, limited room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ansonia, CTJune 13, 2017
Productive and fun work place. Competitive work environment with chances to earn extra money through incentive programs. Positive work atmosphere. Pace of job can vary depending on the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with nice people
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Grand Blanc, MIJune 12, 2017
I have had the privilege to work with nice and interesting people who are unique in culture and also in character and I do not know what I would be like if I had never volunteered.
Pros
Coupons at events for free food/drinks
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
AmeriCorps VIP Fellow (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJune 11, 2017
Cool place to work people are great and the facility is very well kept. The event are awesome, you get to network with other non profits and organizations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great laidback environment
Enrollment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 7, 2017
Great place to work and the people were truly amazing. With any nonprofit job you wont be paid the best but at the agency I worked for they did pay more than most.
Pros
Great environment/mission
Cons
Pay/career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
iinternship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Madisonville, KYJune 7, 2017
I was an intern I learned a lot of things that coincided with my degree. I was never treated like an intern, instead treated like a real part of the team. as an added bonus I received a nice cash bonus at the end of my internship
Pros
got a lot of on hand experience
Cons
internship ended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Volunteer
role model, mentor (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJune 5, 2017
Big Brother's Big Sister's is a wonderful program, and one I would encourage anyone who is interested to get involved in. Participating in young lives is one of the greatest ways to promote a healthy upbringing in our future leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hays, KSJune 2, 2017
I was a volunteer Big Sister for 2 years and LOVED it! Everyone was so nice and I had a wonderful experience and I encourage others to participate as a big sister or brother every chance that I get.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Match Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMay 31, 2017
The work culture is wonderful. Very flexible schedule and comfortable environment to work and learn. You have to take initiative in your work and meet deadlines, there is minimal supervision.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Telemarketer (Former Employee) –  Mountain Lks, NJMay 30, 2017
A good place to work with very good coworkers. Down to earth management. The hardest part is dealing with some people over the phone. You can dress casual.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BBBS Employee
Intern (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNMay 27, 2017
Great place to work but it is slow paced. Much of the time is spend on working on fundraising events. There is also a lot of community outreach that is done. Overall a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Big Sister Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 25, 2017
I am not an employee of Big Brothers Big Sisters but I am a Big Sister volunteer and mentor and it is the best decision I have ever made. We have been matched for a year and a half and have an amazing relationship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room to grow or advance professionally.
Case Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMay 24, 2017
The company has a poor work culture. Some employees are competitive rather than helpful. Great place to work if you're interested in social services and do not have any work experience.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
0 incentives, 0 appreciation, lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization for Non Profit
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Helena, MTMay 23, 2017
Superior organization helping children at risk. In 2008 the non profit sector began experiencing financial difficulties nation wide. We lost our funding and the organization was forced to lay off 5 of the 9 Executive Directors state wide.
Pros
Purposeful and meaningful job
Cons
non profit that relies totally on donations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Participant (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYMay 22, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed working with Big Brothers Big Sisters. It was a way to connect and mentor a younger girl in my community through safe bonding activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding opportunity
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 21, 2017
I enjoy being able to make a connection with my little. We have been matched for 3 years now and it has been fun getting to know her. We have about 2-3 outings a month where we do fun activities and bond.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a mentor
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIMay 16, 2017
I did not work here but i was a mentor for a young man. i liked mentoring but i didnt like how the organization was run. the counselors didnt do a good job at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, organized, and focused workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Vineland, NJMay 15, 2017
Everyone involved with Big Brothers Big Sisters is extremely focused on helping the children in the program in a positive way. My experiences at Big Brothers Big Sisters have not only helped me see how fortunate I am to have people around me that care for me, but also brought me to realize that I want to help others obtain that, as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Big Brothers Big Sisters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 240 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

CEO Approval

90%
61 ratings
Add your rating

Big Brothers Big Sisters Reviews by Location