Big Brothers Big Sisters Employee Reviews

Found 219 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent program, excellent job
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, NJAugust 14, 2017
I passionately enjoyed working at this non-profit organization and wished I could have longer. The in office environment was stressful at times, but worth while and rewarding. I learned countless things about working at a front desk and take it with me wherever I go.
Pros
Positive program to be involved in
Cons
Relocation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private owned company
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Randolph NjAugust 7, 2017
I worked there for 2 years out of highschool. Minimum wage as a porter, laborer. Planting various trees. All through NJ. Use of heavy machinery on a daily basis
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Very strenous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Match Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 4, 2017
Depending upon the position, it can be a slow day or a very fast paced non-stop day. I wouldn't recommend it for males and I wouldn't recommend it for people that get bored easily.
Pros
Loving culture
Cons
Boring, slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Intern (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJAugust 2, 2017
It was a great organization who really keep their clients and staff in mind. Their programs are made to fit the population of clients they serve and provide excellent care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect for students in high school!
Volunteer to mentor young students (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 31, 2017
i volunteered in high school as volunteer hour participation and you build relationships with children on a weekly basis, very cool! you act as a mentor for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern- Customer Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2017
It is a great place to do your internship for college. I did it for my psychology degree and it was awesome. I really don't have too much else to say about it. It was an unpaid internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly environment.
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 30, 2017
I loved being part of a small family, every one knows everyone. The kids and volunteers that came in on a daily basis, lightened up the day, filled with excitement and ready for a new and better path to take.
Pros
being around such spirited kids and volunteers.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 26, 2017
Employees come with a great motive to help children and families - to better their communities. Management takes advantage of all hard working people, they do not listen to their employees when they are in distress.

The real issues here is management, who does not get reviewed by the board because they are friends, the last time someone reported them to the board their position was removed and the company hired out.

Just know you have been warned!
Pros
Helping children - seeing relationships grow
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Worthwhile
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJuly 24, 2017
BBBS carries out a great mission, and the results it produces are on display every day. It's always fun to meet new people and learn their stories, and see how they grow and change with time through the program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Internship (Former Employee) –  Warrensburg, MOJuly 22, 2017
I was required to do an internship and I chose t do it at Big Brother Big Sister. The environment was very relaxed and it was a wonderful place to do an internship. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine for just getting out of college
Match Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAJuly 17, 2017
It was fine for a job for getting out of college but certainly not something I could see myself doing permanently. I also just didn't enjoy the cattiness of the women in the office.
Pros
The people were nice
Cons
It could be catty in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an honor to work with the children at schools.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 12, 2017
This was an awesome opportunity to work with such a diverse company. This was a great experience that I had working inn the administrative place as well as a case manager for after school programs.
Pros
i enjoyed working with mentors and students
Cons
it was a temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow
Paid Intern (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 7, 2017
i cant even begin to explain the wonderful experience i had here. i was taught many things here like how to improve my typing skills, how to apply for jobs, i learned a lot about how i can help the earth by being more green efficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Community Relations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 29, 2017
Wonderful people, Big Brothers and Big Sisters are dedicated people who really care about their "Littles." I had a part time position there, and liked what I was able to accomplish and met so many people who cared deeply about our community.
Pros
Free coffee, very flexible, lots of nice people
Cons
no cons particularly...it was part time and I was very happy to have it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing organization
Mentor (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 23, 2017
BBBS is so much fun and gives me joy to watch children grow and learn. I can bring them out, help with homework or help them work on personal skills. It is very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with many learning experiences and opportunities
Intern (Former Employee) –  Lawrence County, PAJune 16, 2017
I learned a lot about time management, and had many leadership opportunities during my internship. I learned how to more effectively communicate with superiors and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed environment with low pay
Match Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 13, 2017
Mostly good experience. Nice people. Female dominated organization. Good place to stay if you are not needing to be the main "breadwinner" in the household.
Pros
Flexible w/ good benefits and PTO
Cons
Low salaries, limited room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ansonia, CTJune 13, 2017
Productive and fun work place. Competitive work environment with chances to earn extra money through incentive programs. Positive work atmosphere. Pace of job can vary depending on the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with nice people
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Grand Blanc, MIJune 12, 2017
I have had the privilege to work with nice and interesting people who are unique in culture and also in character and I do not know what I would be like if I had never volunteered.
Pros
Coupons at events for free food/drinks
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
AmeriCorps VIP Fellow (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJune 11, 2017
Cool place to work people are great and the facility is very well kept. The event are awesome, you get to network with other non profits and organizations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Big Brothers Big Sisters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 254 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

CEO Approval

88%
72 ratings
Add your rating

Big Brothers Big Sisters Reviews by Location