Big Brothers Big Sisters Employee Reviews

Found 136 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place
mentor (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJune 15, 2014
Can't wait to be able to go to work for them again in the near future. I hope my little brother enjoyed his time and learned a lot from me!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 9, 2014
I am a volunteer and have a little brother that I mentor and see 3 plus times a month. The people involved in the organization are great and I love being a part of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice place to work
Office Internship (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNJune 8, 2014
It was nice, quiet. Co workers were nice and pleasant. I learned office skills such as data entry, phone etiquette, file management.
Pros
nice people and it was helping the community
Cons
not as fast paced envirnment as i would have hoped for
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer Coach at Brentwood Soccer Club (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 3, 2014
Worked with kids who needed to be loved. We played games, talked about school, and talked about life at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Match Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Palm BeachMay 19, 2014
My experience at Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) Palm beach and Martin Counties has been the best working experience of my career. All staff believed and where committed to the cause - Mentoring. The community involvement was just as great, the support from business, school and government agencies was incredible. The best was the outcomes, the opportunities for the children and their families.
Pros
lots of activities and interaction with the community
Cons
lots of driving
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brother Big Sisters, Big experience!
Intern (Former Employee) –  Clackamas, ORMay 10, 2014
I interned and did community service for this wonderful organization in 2007. I learned a tremendous amount not only within myself, but also within the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVMay 8, 2014
Learned a lot from the wonderful people who work there. It is a wonderful program doing great things for the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 2, 2014
I loved working there. The hardest part of the job was simply leaving at the end of my shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Time Spent Well
Subordinate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 26, 2014
My colleagues were almost like family, everyday I just couldn't wait to get to work.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
transportation to work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bbbs
Internship/Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEApril 20, 2014
oAssisted with and participated in group activities
oDeveloped a one on one relationship with a youth by offering consistency, encouragement, and role modeling
oMonitored youth during activities
oTutored ages 9 and assisted with homework assignments
oTo fulfill the time and contact requirement or either the community of school programs
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brother
Volunteer and Auction Chair (Former Employee) –  Baldwin City, KSApril 16, 2014
•Serve on planning committee for annual fundraising event. Chair auction team and coordinate with marketing, logistics, and finance teams.

•Solicit silent auction items from local businesses, resulting in 25% increase in items received.
•Recruit and train team of volunteers to run the auction on event night.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding place to work
Caseworker (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAApril 10, 2014
It was great to see kids excited to be paired with their "big."
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brother Big Sister
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYMarch 27, 2014
This was just a volunteer job when in high school but I really enjoyed working with my little. She was a wonderful child. I would help with homework along with art projects
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive office with interactive outside work
Intern (Former Employee) –  State College, PAMarch 17, 2014
Half of my day is spent in the office making phone calls, checking e-mails and sending/writing letters. I have learned many useful office type skills including how to use the directory system and the copier/scanner/printer and how the postage marker. The other half of my day is spent at elementary or middle after school programs. There I get to hang out with the kids and be a one-on-one mentor. It is really great to be able to work with these kids and watch them grow week by week. I also spend time with first time, non-violent offenders on juvenile probation. I take them to and from activities and hang out with them and try to be a role model. My favorite part of the job is being able to work with all the kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Media Coordinator/Match & Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Danville, VAFebruary 21, 2014
Overall good company to work for, alot of opportunity for growth.
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding working with a little
Big Sister (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VAFebruary 12, 2014
Spend time eating lunch with my little during his lunch period. Following with playing kickball and basketball during recess.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Case Manager
Community Care Manger (Current Employee) –  Towanda, PAFebruary 3, 2014
My job is to find mentors for children ages 6 - 14.
I calls the Bigs and Littles to see how these matches are going.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant place to work
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 5, 2014
very nice and good heart felt job. coworkers very pleasant and enjoyable.
Pros
helping chldren thru hard times
Cons
moved to new city.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baseball Player
Basebhall Player (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 1, 2013
I played baseball at San Diego State University. I would practice everyday and have school and study hall on top of that. the hardest part of the job was waking up at 5 in the morning everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful company, passionate people, great cause.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 26, 2013
This is one of those jobs where your view of the world changes. The management is outstanding and the program is excellent.
Pros
great people and a great cause.
Cons
limited funding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 158 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture