Find companies:
Big Lots
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,046 reviews

Big Lots Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work place.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Mooresville, NCJuly 26, 2014
Management is wonderful. Employee are treated like family. Even balance of work as well as social.

No bad comments about this employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
css (Former Employee), fairview park ohJuly 26, 2014
typical day would be very long with short bursts of customers. i learned to deal with cash i large amounts. my co workers were just that co workers. most of them didnt do their job correctly or at all. hardest part of my job would have to be the stand around waiting for a customer. since i was the css i would have to stay at the front desk to answer – more... phones and take care of customers. most mornings i was the only cashier and would have to wait till noon for a back up. the management could have used som work, most of the time they werent around when you needed them and when they were they werent happy about it. the part of my jopb i enjoyed most was making the customers laugh. the majority of the customers had a full cart and would be a the register for 5 to 6 min. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with open mind on ideas
Furniture Sales Manager (Current Employee), Mansfield, TXJuly 25, 2014
Pros: friendly customers, open minded management, good pay once you move up
Cons: not much room for advancement, upper management not motivated and not willing to change staff(let management advance)
My experience with Big Lots has been overall well. It is a "laid back" company as far as being able to share your ideas and change the things that you think could impact your store. However, the ideas that you do have that go in affect, go unnoticed even when they show success.

Moving up in the company can be hard depending on your location within – more... the district. If your store is close to the district managers home , or you are at his home store it seems easy to advance. But, district managers are put on a large map usually with store all over the place which makes it hard for them to frequent all the stores and see what their management team is capable of. If you do not have a manager that is willing to go up to bat for you, you can easily get stuck in the same position going unnoticed.

The typical work day is pretty easy. The customers that frequent are mostly nice friendly people, that are a joy to interact with. I have personally made many work friendships with customers, that alway come in just to say hi or make sure that I am helping them with their purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
customer service rep (Former Employee), Torrance, CAJuly 24, 2014
big lots is a great place to work people are very friendly and the customers wasnt that hard to deal with so it was great to work for big lots
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regular job
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee), farmington new mexicoJuly 24, 2014
I always busted my tail when i went to work and still got treated bad. i say the co workers would agree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Colonial Heights Va.July 24, 2014
•Generated repeat business through exceptional customer service •Conducted store inventories once per quarter •Trained and developed new associates on system •Completed profit and loss performance reports •Reported to the District Manager regarding all store and staff issues •Scheduled and led store meetings for all employees •Counted cash drawers and – more... made bank deposits – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some days better than others.
Store Associate (Current Employee), New Bern, NCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: holiday pay.
Cons: 3 hours a night
Typical night at big lots is recovering the store. The most enjoyable part is when customers let me know how good the store looks since I have been there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sales Manager (Former Employee), huntington,wvJuly 23, 2014
overall dissatisfied with this company. the corporate office needs a lot of work. these people are very disorganized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Part Time Cashier/Recovery (Former Employee), Forest Park, OHJuly 23, 2014
provide customer service and knowledge of store products and inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK PLACE.
STOCKPERSON (Former Employee), Ontario, CAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: sales went by to fast
I ENJOYED FRIENDLY TEAM MATES.WE WOULD GET RIGHT TO WORK SETTING UP SHELVES,PRICING PRODUCTS.SET UP FOR NEW MERCHANDISE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier / customer service associate
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Smyrna, GAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: associates were like family, fast pace, joking atmosphere, friendly customers
Cons: pay
open store, stock aisles with product, run front register, handle returns and exchanges
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to retire from.
Warehouse and Front end lead (Current Employee), Modesto, CAJuly 21, 2014
Good place to start off getting work experience. Some Management makes it hard to work for Big Lots.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive friendly work enviornment
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJuly 21, 2014
Promising opportunity with future goals in the company. Friendly co-workers on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with the public
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 21, 2014
Pros: pizza some time
Cons: rude people
cashier,unloading trucks,pricing items,to work with the public,managment worked with you,hardest part was doing refunds,the fun part was unloading trucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and people to qorl with
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Roseville, CAJuly 19, 2014
Spemt 16 years there, progressing through jobs and llocations. I really hated to leave,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Piqua, OHJuly 18, 2014
Pros: fast paced, and great people.
Cons: moody customers.
Customers asking questions.. How to run a register. management was great. co-workers I miss. Dealing with an irate customer. Helping customers to their cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier and stock (Former Employee), ColliervilleJuly 15, 2014
I really enjoyed working here i just wish it wasn't a seasonal positon.
the managers were great and the customers were awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun workplace.
Asst Manager (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARJuly 15, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: healthcare
my review of Big Lots is that it was a total learning experience and the promotional opportunities were excellent. i loved working for the company in general. A regular day was fun and i always learned something new. i was especially amazed by how the managers helped in every aspect of the every day duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Livingston, NJJuly 15, 2014
Cons: bad pay, too much work with not enough team members
this by far was the worst job i have ever had bad pay bad management and poor scheduling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth potential.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 14, 2014
This job is a great position to learn management. There's no room for a promotion and your wage is not equal to the responsibility. It's a decent employment to help understand store related procedures and store dynamics.

1 2 3 4 5

About Big Lots

Big Lots: North America’s Extreme Value Leader With clean, bright stores and well-stocked departments, Big Lots has – Read more

Big Lots Photos