Big O Tires Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to learn
Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CADecember 28, 2017
Had a good time working for the company while I was in Richmond CA. Owners were very fair and hands on. Had to relocate to Modesto CA worst job I ever had manager is horrible wants to diagnose every vechicle from the front desk himself.
Pros
40 hrs a week
Cons
Management at Modesto location very poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy place to work
Tire Technician/Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYDecember 21, 2017
always good hours home every night decent pay did everything from tire changes, oil changes, to clutches and engine rebuilds. easy going fast paced work place
Pros
easy going good pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderfull
Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Cañon City, CODecember 19, 2017
big o is a great place to work for they have and amazing work envoirment. no one was mad or upset about having to wirk and everyone works great togeather as a team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid, skilled labor profession.
Tire And Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Golden, CODecember 17, 2017
Considering the knowledge required to work on vehicles, Big O Tires underpays their employees. There is a McDonald's across the street that pays $5/hour more for an unskilled profession. Management is sub-par, with a worn out Store Manager that has been in his current position for over 20 years. The assistant manager is a spiteful, arrogant, and power-thirsty 23 year old engineering grad who has no idea how to deal with people.
Pros
Cheap tires
Cons
Underpaid, Stressful, Poorly Managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
top sales/mgr
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Pinole, CADecember 12, 2017
i enjoyed working at big o tires. it was a fast paced enviroment where you had to be on your feet using your brain to get the goals set for the business done. i was also a good salesman setting a record od 92 tires in one day. also a store mgr with a good record for making money for the company. had annual sales of plus a million dollars per year. had a crew of between 10 and 15 personnel who i had to train scedule and give them duties to perform. had regular training sessions. helped with advertising planning. was also a service mgr selling service to the customers
Pros
frast paced
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Bay manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, CODecember 11, 2017
Good people good jobs very helpful and great events i enjoyed working for them and hope to work more events and the perks and benefits from different events.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bust tires mount and balance
Salesman / Tire tech (Former Employee) –  Louisville, CODecember 10, 2017
Mount and balance tires retread snow studding. Yeah maintain shop maintenance cleanliness tools in the proper area. Use proper tools for dismounting tires
Pros
Fun work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good at first but has changed
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 6, 2017
prefer not to say since i still work here.
but my honest opinion they really need an experienced manager with automotive experience and one who treats their employees right. too much favortism, and the manager loves to yell and scream at his employees, and always threatens to fire them on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Service Advisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CADecember 3, 2017
I spent a lot of my early adult years working at Big O Tires. Working there, I learned a lot of needed automotive skills which i have used to advance my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, INNovember 29, 2017
Overall it was a very good place to work with. Calm, cool, collected enviroment but also sometimes quite hectic depending on the time of day and how many workers on duty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about cars
Oil Technician (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVNovember 21, 2017
Wake up work hard have an hour lunch and do my best to get through the day. Have learned a lot about my car the motors the tires and how to do maintenance on almost any vehicle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job and was able to learn a lot as I worked their.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Centerville, UTNovember 20, 2017
I worked their for 8 years and the owner was a very nice guy. They didn’t pay well and it was more of entry level job. Some other employees were difficult to work with.
Pros
Set schedule and hours
Cons
Pay was very low and didn’t have great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very straightforward and easy
Tire/Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Greeley, CONovember 17, 2017
I had this job as more of a temporary job but nevertheless it was a good place to work. Boss was fair and so were the managers. The only thing i didnt like was there was no room to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 13, 2017
I enjoyed the employees I worked with, The pace was hit or miss some days were faster/slower than others. The day went by fast for the most part. For those who enjoy hands on with cars this is the place for you to start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Lake Elsinore, CANovember 6, 2017
it was a good start job while in high school. Got me some money learned some stuff was able to work on my car for free while using the shop equipment and such.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work good work experience that youll take with you.
Tire Tech (Former Employee) –  Montrose, CONovember 5, 2017
this was a good experience and a good thing to learn not something I would want to make a career out of. the pay was not great at all 8.50 hr management was good and made the job fun sometimes.
Pros
great thing to learn that you'll take with you
Cons
the low pay very dirty and can be stresfull at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful work environment
Staff Accountant/ AP Specialist/ Auditor (Current Employee) –  Benicia, CAOctober 16, 2017
There is unreasonable demand of work required by a limited staff of accounting members. There is a lack of communication and direction as to how the company is growing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Wholesale Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 13, 2017
Worked at Big O Tires for 10 years. During this time I held 3 different positions; Wholesale Sales Manager, Brand Compliance Advisor and Franchise Integration Manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fast paste.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMOctober 12, 2017
Very busy, like every job very friendly, mostly clean, extremely professional, Family oriented, very welcoming & great response skills for every costumer concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 10, 2017
Very dirty work environment, no lack of work. Quick paced and very skillful job. Good skills to learn for anyone who owns or is planning on owning a vehicle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Big O Tires. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 262 reviews
585
470
373
215
119

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture