BIG TEX TRAILERS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for
Trailers Direct Support (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, TXNovember 14, 2017
Recently Converged, making history in the trailer manufacturing industry. In that process though, several departments took pay cuts, and no overtime. Overall, a decent company to work for. The hardest part was the pay cut. The most enjoyable part was working with the Trailer World stores
Pros
Periodic overtime
Cons
New management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long stressful day
Auditor/ Store Support (Current Employee) –  Odessa, TX 79765November 13, 2017
Little room for advancement or growth. Highly stressed and very little pay. Corporate is very unorganized and needs to show more appreciation for the small folks who make the company run.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Human Resources/ Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Caldwell, IDNovember 12, 2017
This is a growing company with a large investor backing. The company has a lot of room for improvement but is on a good path to get there.
This company has the potential to become the largest trailer manufacturer in the nation due to it's commitment to customer service, warranty, quality and cost.
They have never had a lay-off so the stability is definately there.
Pros
Employees
Cons
Benefits Need Improving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co-workers
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 31, 2017
My co-workers were awesome. I, did learn a lot. A lot of times it was fast paced. It was fun working as a team. I learned a lot about how a business works.
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced,
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Madill, OKSeptember 21, 2017
you weld dump bed tralers on an assembly line.
each stall welds a differsnt section of the trailer together.
i worked at every station, and learned the quickest way to move the trailer thru each stall. it is hot in the summer no aircondionting. this job requies you to move fast and learn fast. i enjoyed the competiveness of some of my co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company and learned a lot while working there.
Welder/Framer (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 12, 2017
Learned to weld trailer frames together. A fitter and a welder. Management was fair in the job. The hardest part was lifting the trailers up. I enjoyed welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Wills Point, TXSeptember 2, 2017
They're always looking for a reason to fire everyone unless you a friend or family. The turnaround on employs is rediculas. The pay is also extremely low but they call it competitive pay. 12 13 dollars for a welder is far from conpetitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work at.
Welder (Current Employee) –  Madill, OKJuly 31, 2017
Every day working in a hot environment. I learned how to weld vertical, horizontal, and overhead. The management is ok, could be better with attention to emplyees and attitude toward employees. Work with people and emploers that do not want to work. Work with people that comes to work to work and is a team worker.
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Bring your own water, Hot environment, OK Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Line Welder (Former Employee) –  Madill, OKJuly 10, 2017
i liked working for big tex but due to relocation of housing i could no longer work for the company. work environment was outstanding and employees and upper management was amazing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company over all.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Caldwell, IdJune 24, 2017
Great company. Great designed products and production facilitys.
Texas management team is awesome.

Pay could be better. Better benefits would be nice. Caldwell has major moral problems with production floor employees and the management that has been around for long terms. Plant has had a rediculis amount of hired in Plant Managers instead of promoting from within. Production management is poor and inconsistent. Lots of hard working people with family's that would be great assets to the company have come and gone because of lack of a standardized pay scale with a liveable income. Hard working dependable people have been past up on oppertunitys for advancement despite there skill set, and positions given to lesser qualified friends of upper management or hired in. Management is not held to the same standards of plant rules and safety as non management. HR hiring for an industry not familiar with and not providing proper hired help. HR not familiar with safety and plant opperation, not able to prioritize what is most important.

In my opinion corporate needs to take more time to look at who is running the plant.
Pros
Best and biggest trailer mfg company anywhere.
Cons
Mismanaged caldwell plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment. Not a bad place to work.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Wills Point, TXJune 14, 2017
The pay is decent. You get insurance and benefits. The company is very steady and fast paced. They will work with you if you need a little more hours (overtime).
Pros
Good benefits, decent pay
Cons
Not good office help
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for this company
Welder (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, TXJune 8, 2017
Great ppl to work for great hrs and benefits training provided there and certificattion recieved there also. The supervisors there are very easy to work for and very professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
fabricator/ welder (Former Employee) –  westminister caMay 31, 2017
one of my favorite places of work dennis is very nice and willing to give chances and room to grow he will also allow you to learn on the job if you are a beginner welder apply here
Pros
good pay learn on job
Cons
really hot in metal buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Wills Point, TXApril 27, 2017
hard work, moving constantly, but its a fair check with overtime. I like manual labor work and outside jobs. it wasn't too bad. id refer people to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recomend to anyone
Welder (Former Employee) –  Madill, OKApril 10, 2017
There is no pride put into work sub par products management don't care about employees raises are very scarce if you get one quantity over quality and they hire welders that know nothing about fabrication the worse place I have ever worked
Cons
Poor management poor quality. Really low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past
Walder (Former Employee) –  Idaho Canyon, NVMarch 24, 2017
It was not fun in the summer time. Very fast paced environment. Legend a lot of things there . They make all taps of trailers even parted them there too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a productive fast paced work area with good coworkers
Welder (Former Employee) –  Madill, OKMarch 14, 2017
I welded hydraulic dump trailers, worked on welding machines, cleaned my work area. I enjoyed that it was fast paced so your always busy which makes the day go by faster, I didn't like that the shop foreman over my area didn't know much about welding and safety issues,
Pros
was payed every week, got to meet some really good people and developed a friendship with my co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big tex
Welder (Former Employee) –  Cordele, GAJanuary 18, 2017
Very hot environments must able to lift over 60 lbs
If you are good with welding and production work then you should do fine
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rockwall, TXJanuary 3, 2017
Everyone works great as a team and supports eacg other when need be. You learn a little of everything in case you need to jump in to help in the absence of another employee. If you need time off do to personal issues it will get accomodated as much as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Madill,OklahomaNovember 16, 2016
Good place to work, welding all day get a 10 minute break and they have a good break room! Sometimes get off on fridays , it gets hot in the summer no fans hardly, no exhaust fans,
Pros
Had Cafeteria, supply room, break room
Cons
Dont pay enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BIG TEX TRAILERS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1