Big Y Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work experience.
Porter/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTNovember 13, 2017
Its a great place to work for,good management, friendly coworkers. a relaxed environment with enough work to keep you busy. fun events for special occasions and an overall good work experience.
Pros
Fair treatment to workers, and a safe work environment.
Cons
too few hours because its only part time, plus only minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Y
Floral Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTNovember 9, 2017
It was good to start with but when something goes wrong, they are quick to blame the new person even when there is more then one person in that department.
Pros
Good Benfits
Cons
Poor training and poor department management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at, very friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Westfield, MANovember 2, 2017
Cashiering is basic- stand in the front of the register line (hosting), stock candy, ring and bag items for customers. The majority of the time they have baggers helping you if it gets really busy, like the holidays.
Pros
they throw an occasional party or two in the break room
Cons
15 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, long commutes
Meat Manager (Former Employee) –  Killingly, CTOctober 31, 2017
Nice place tomworl, great benefits, just the transfers and commuting is a little out of control.. always enjoyed working there. Company is always growing.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Grocery
FF/Dairy NC Clerk (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAOctober 30, 2017
Better than most competitors in area, highly engaging and rewarding workplace. Flexible scheduling and understanding staff, along with respectable customers make a great environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not vet friendly
Night Crew Clerk (Former Employee) –  Guilford, CTOctober 29, 2017
It was the worst job I have ever worked. I had my userra rights constantly . There is a distinct lack of communication between management. Had a co-worker constantly try to trigger my PTSD and no response from management in dealing with this issue.
Pros
none
Cons
too many too list
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
CASHIER/FOOD SERVICE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTOctober 27, 2017
check agenda sheet, clean, thaw out foods, shrink foods, help with customer asstistance, maintain hot selves, check off cleaning sheet afte finishing every task
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, hard depending on department.
Food Service (Current Employee) –  Northampton, MAOctober 26, 2017
It is a very good place to work depending on what department you work in and the management you get.
Management can be very understanding or uncaring depending on who you receive. They move people around a lot so it can be great one day and very stressful the week after. It also depends on the crew you have We get short staffed a lot because a lot of workers just come in until they finish school, so there is a lot of turnover. It can be hard on the body if you work there for a long time.
They have very good benefits and as a whole they treat their employees well. They have friendship fund, medical benefits, employee appreciation day, special events etc. Employees also get special pricing on certain items every month.
In short, if you are well staffed and have good management it can be a fun place to work. If not, it can be a stress factory.
Pros
Great Benefits, treat employees well
Cons
Alot of employee turnover, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Seafood Specialist/Deli Specialist (Former Employee) –  Naugatuck, CTOctober 23, 2017
Great place to work, good atmosphere, customers are nice and pleasant, Pay is fair and you get great benefits. mostly a fast paced environment , clean and fresh products at all times.
Pros
easy to request time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Overnight Stock Crew (Former Employee) –  Great Barrington, MAOctober 16, 2017
I liked the people on the crew they were all good workers. I liked the management who was very supportive. I also liked the continuing training they had me do.
Pros
Good working culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent enough
Cashier + Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Franklin, MAOctober 15, 2017
Not a whole lot of hours available to most positions, so honestly it'd be better for someone who works another job already, or is going to school part time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviornment
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ellington, CTOctober 11, 2017
I enjoy working as a bakery clerk because it is a self paced job (to an extent) and it gave me a lot of customer service experience. I learned how to interact with many different types of people and how to resolve different types of problems. It is a friendly work environment that I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned Business for 80 years
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MAOctober 10, 2017
Family oriented business. They care about their employees. Salary is competitive and the benefits package is better than most companies in the area. The owners work in the office and are approachable. They care about their employees and the longevity proves they are doing something right.
Pros
Benefits and working enviroment
Cons
Company is growing - they need to increase staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful place to work
Deli Manager (Former Employee) –  Groton, CTOctober 10, 2017
Loved my department manager, but the store director have a lot to be desired. I wold train incoming managers who would get promoted over myself. If you have any point of view for the common good of the business, you are not a team player.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
short staffed most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Great people to work with.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAOctober 7, 2017
Everyone was super helpful and kind when I first got hired. Some days it was slow but they still keep everyone busy. Only complaint was.that I was hired as part time yet worked more than full time some weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment and friendly coworkers
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Groton, CTOctober 6, 2017
Great place to work as a first job! Workload was not overbearing and a pleasure to have amiable coworkers to work alongside. Only slight issue is if you are part-time and it's not the summer season, your hours are unpredictable and may shorten. Other than that, no complaints!
Pros
Friendly, helpful coworkers
Cons
Shortened hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Avon, CTOctober 4, 2017
very relaxed fun time i had it was the best experience to work
i learned alot from working there that how to deal with the customers and how to help the customers in need
the management was excellent
workplace culture was amazing
i never had any bad times everyday was the best day ever
Pros
discounted lunches and with many choices
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with friendly staff
Cashier/Customer Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Adams, MAOctober 4, 2017
A typical day at Big Y consists of myself either working as a cashier or working as a customer service clerk bagging groceries and collecting the shopping carts, all while serving customers the best way possible. The workplace is always pleasant and friendly and I enjoy being there.
Pros
Flexible hours, benefits
Cons
Limited flexible hours for mother's hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Cashier & Cash Office Associate (Current Employee) –  Wilbraham, MAOctober 2, 2017
Big Y is generally a good place and good company to work for. They have people of all ages working there, and is mostly good for a part time positions for people who don't expect too many hours. The schedule can be very inconsistent depending on the time of the year, but the company itself is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTSeptember 27, 2017
this is just your typical retail job. Management play favorites and will only give hours to the people they like. Customer can be rude sometimes and entitled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Big Y. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 439 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7