Find companies:
BigCommerce
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

BigCommerce Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company going through some growth challenges
FRONTEND DEVELOPER (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 16, 2014
For a large company, their environment is outstanding. Great people and they are focused on their clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, progressive, productive, enjoyable
Contract Data Migrations Specialist (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: strong community, great management, dynamic work environment, snacks provided, beer day, free lunch day, internal career transition opportunities
I had a great time contracting for Bigcommerce. Aside from their eCommerce platform, their strongest asset is their community. You'll immediately be welcomed in as part of the community, co-workers are friendly, they hold a variety of entertaining events, beer day, free lunch day, kitchen full of snacks and the overall feeling that Bigcommerce values – more... its staff. Management is also exceptional, they're supportive, they listen to staff suggestions, incorporate your feedback, provide insight and promote a well balanced work/social environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place rocks!
Acquisition Sales Executive (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: free lunch on tuesday.
Cons: it is a startup so you have to be able to solve problems.
I come into work each day, work hard with people who are awesome, and thank God that I get to do it all again the next day. Plus they give me free drinks!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing the World
Director, Client Success (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: brilliant coworkers, strong management, direction, employee-centric
Great environment - the best culture I've encountered in years. The team is on a mission! The management is strong, they care, and they're driven. Coworkers are A-players. The hardest part of the job? Reimagining the world through the eyes of the future of e-commerce. The most enjoyable part of the job? Too many to list. From the Friday all-hands meetings, – more... to the stocked kitchen, and the great coworkers...it's a great place to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best decisions of my life!
Small Enough Company, Rather Not Say :) (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: free lunchs, great managment, great healthcare, beer on fridays, stocked fridge, productive - encouraging company meetings, growth opportunities, great product, great clients
Cons: working with people who can not see the awesomeness can be a bummer, luckily its few and far between!
To say I love BigCommerce and the team here is an understatement. I have worked at BigCommerce for sometime. Its been gravy and fun for me. Has there been issues? Sure! Have they been resolved? Yes! Will there be more? Probably! No place is perfect. However, BigCommerce has a wonderful senior and executive management team that continuously strive to – more... make this a GREAT place to work. I give them an A++++. They consistently go above and beyond (at surprising lengths!). However, it just reiterates their goal to be fair and give people opportunity to grow.

Here is what I say to any review, less than a 4. bah humbug :

Good luck finding this environment and level of talent anywhere else! Sit, listen and learn. But, if you don't love it. The person reading this review will. :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Support Ninja (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: awesome culture! and a lot more
This place is fun and lively. The benefits are top notch. It is going to be difficult if I ever have to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Director, HR & Recruiting (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: great management team, good office environment, free drinks and snacks, awesome product
Cons: it's a start-up, so if you aren't wired to move quickly and adapt, then it's probably not the right place for you
BigCommerce is a rare find. The product is awesome, the people are friendly and truly care about the success of the clients and their co-workers, and the work environment is energizing. Everybody always says that but here it's the real deal.

It's a start-up, so along with that comes the need to be flexible and adapt to change but this company is moving – more... in the right direction. The senior leadership brought on board has done this before and we've all bought into their vision on where we are taking this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, amazing people
Senior Recruiter (Current Employee), AustinAugust 29, 2012
There is a certain positive energy you feel walking into Bigcommerce. People are empowered to do amazing things and it shows. There is a wellness, community service an team building committee all driven by employees not executives or HR. It is awesome to know we are truly changing the lives of our clients, employees and community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bigcommerce has a great culture with a nice benefits offering
Recruiter (Current Employee), Austin,TexasAugust 29, 2012
Pros: fantastic people, paid medical, free lunches, snacks galore, celebrations/team building events, transparency, ownership in the company
Cons: stage of growth can mean some disorganization, communication breakdowns when changes implemented, etc.
Overall, Bigcommerce is doing a LOT of things right. This is a company that truly cares about its clients success and the welfare of its employees. We are encouraged to not only voice what would make this a great place to work, but get involved in making that happen. We are very careful about the team members we bring on, and we make a point to hire – more... people who have a great attitude that add to, not subtract from what we call the "Mojo".

We are intrusted with a lot of information, and the employees value the transparency provided by management on key decisions, issues, and potential partnerships. Every Friday, management gives updates on what is going on with their team, then the floor is opened for team members to thank each other ("shout outs" as we call them) for us to thank anyone who really helped us out that week.

Medical (as well as 80% of dental and vision) are paid for in full by the company, as well as 2 life insurance policies, a long and short term disability. I've never felt like I couldn't take a day off when I needed it and we are encouraged to take that time to recharge. In addition, the company just added 2 paid volunteer days to encourage us to make a difference in the community and be a part of initiatives that matter most to each of us.

While we are transitioning out of start up mode, with our stage of growth comes some of those growing pains, learning how to communicate when its 30 people vs 100 people and figuring out how to get the needed processes in place without making it feel overly structured. Sometimes this can cause stress, but the good thing is that we have a "we are all in this together mentality" and most people seem to understand that at the end of the day we want to reach a common goal. Some departments have more clear growth paths than others, so my only complaint would be uncertainty as to a path in certain areas, while others have a lot of options. – less

About BigCommerce

We’re Bigcommerce, nice to meet you! We’re a hyper-growth company that’s gone from small startup to more than – Read more