Find companies:
Bimbo Bakeries USA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
210 reviews

Bimbo Bakeries USA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Job
Route Sales (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: a job, interesting people
Cons: long hours, no social life, many different personalities that are not on the same page, rising prices for what i view as a basic need. "bread"
Loading and unloading trucks at various bread stops around the city. Similar to a paper route, rain, sleet or snow, no sick days. Long hours and constant changes that make things complicated to pre-determine. Certain routes do better then others. Many breadlines are getting cut which in turn hurts commissions. Hard work, yet served its purpose at the – more... time. I appreciate the vendor community, the people who drive the trucks, stock our shelves, to feed their families. Some portions, "Sara Lee" is unionized, everyone else are subcontractors. Route are financed, so a contractor basically is taking out a mortgage, 7-10% down is typical. Felon Friendly if for buying your own route. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Key Account Executive (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: productivity was rewarded very well.
Cons: company became to large and lost some objectivity
Excellent company to work for offering many opportunities for advancement. Management team was creative and willing to do whatever it took to achieve sales objectives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work! no room for advancement!
Transport Driver (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAJanuary 26, 2014
good people,lots of work, good equipment! learned how to modify my skills! how to work under different types of conditions!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Independent Operator/ Route Sales (Current Employee), Columbus, GAJanuary 25, 2014
Loved The Day To Day Delivers And Sales co workers and management where great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a typical bakery job, no work/life ratio they will not give you a permanent shift....
Production Technician Duties (Current Employee), breinigsville pa.January 22, 2014
Pros: not to hot not to cold its inside work.
Cons: benefits not very good and shifts not guaranteed.
work is not hard physically, safety is promoted but not followed through on. management not very good at what they do. co-workers are ok. hardest part never having a guaranteed shift. enjoyed learning the jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience and great working environment
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Oakland, CAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great pay, union, benefits
Cons: plant closure
Throughout the ten months with Bimbo I learned how to operate new machinery, how to process wrapping for our merchandise and products. The hardest part was getting accustomed to new processes and getting acquainted with the machinery itself. Even though I have 21 years of experience, it was a new company with automatic machines that I had not worked – more... with prior. Overall, my experience was invaluable in that I learned a lot in the short time span I was there. I also became close with my teammates and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, great people
Production Helper (Former Employee), Montebello, CA.January 19, 2014
Pros: pay and people
Cons: supervisors, hours, training procedures.
I worked their for three months and I met some of the best people to work with, the lead men were , without a doubt, some of the best I've worked for, the training regiment is non-existent they send you to the dogs and hopefully,you survive. The hardest part of the job besides loading donuts onto trays and putting them in racks, is trying to work your – more... way through management , some of the most incompetent bunch I've ever seen, every week you had an evaluation, I was placed on five different pieces of machinery and told to listen to the operator. I was the only trainee who did that . Their isn't any Standard Operating Procedures and if your given a bad operator your out of luck . Make sure to get copies of every report that's given to you, I was given good reviews up until the last four days of my ninety day probation. Every word that was said to me was negative and i was mostly evaluated by only two of the 15 Supervisors. It was stated to me if I was positive you would have nothing to work at.Two of the supervisors that were their everyone would walk on eggshells when they were around they could find something wrong with your PPE or your uniform at any given second. I guarantee you, if you ever work their you will know who they are by the ego that both of those supervisors have I'm surprised they can fit through a door. Any person that is in upper management is treated like royalty by the two yes men.So, if your looking for a place, that pays well and you want Sat. and Sun. off this is not for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Good The Bad and The Ugly
Loader/ Unloader (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, free bread
Cons: breaks every two hours, if lucky. horribly shady management.
Each day something new, not necessarily bad, but at times a struggle. Hours consistently changing, one day you would work 8 hours, another day you might *have to* work 17 hours. They can't force you to work after a certain time, but there is a chance that they won't have anyone to take over for you. You learn to become a jack of all trades, meaning – more... you'll learn to do a lot of different jobs there. Working here means you'll have to be ok with never seeing friends or family, and regularly finding new pains you didn't know were possible. Majority of employees are on some sort of pain pill regimen whether it be Tylenol or stronger. Vacation time is not always allowed when you want, but when is more convenient for them. Don't get me wrong, this place has excellent benefits and the hourly is amazing. Speaking to co-workers, they have pension and all sorts of other great things in place as well. You just have to be the judge on what your willing to sacrifice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and not much family time.
Owner / Operator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 14, 2014
As an owner/operator you have long days and not much time off unless you build enough sales to hire help. It is a physically demanding job with no compensation if you are sick or injurred. the best part of the job is you contol your income and you meet new people along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company to work for
Material Analyst (Former Employee), ft worth txJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: great employees
Bimbo bakeries was a good company to work for. I had great coworkers and the company taught me a lot over the years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Meridian, MSJanuary 8, 2014
The benefits were outstanding, most of my co-workers were easy to get along with, the hardest part of the job was working 3 different shifts in the same week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Route Sales Operator (Former Employee), Murrieta, CAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: very early hours and never 2 days off in a row.
Great work if you can get it. Management was pretty good and helpful as well as most of the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unprofessional
production trainee (Former Employee), gastonia ncJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: no lunch and no steady schedule for new people.
I got hurt during my trial period and was inmediatly assumed to have been making up my injury kept bouncing me around in shifts and days basically before you go home at the end of the day you have to check the schedule as they may change it at a moment notice great place to work of you're single and no social life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paid very well but treated people very poorly
Production Team Leader (Former Employee), Carlisle, PADecember 27, 2013
The pay was very good and since it was union there was no forced overtime. They do not treat people very good at all. They talk about caring about thier employees but their actions show something totally diiferent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work in today's economy.
Distribution Supervisor (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIDecember 20, 2013
Pros: pay, great people
Cons: no weekends, crazy hours.
Crazy hours but descent pay.
Learned a lot in Bread manufacturing environment.
co-workers are great people.
Hours are the hardest part of the job. (different shifts and no weekends off)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding but Satasfying
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Frederick, MDDecember 19, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: work weekends and holidays
You work hard it is a very stressful environment but the pay is good. one thing I always liked was that management always saw employees as people with feelings and always treated them with the utmost respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really liked this job. I worked with the public, my favorite.
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee), NacogdochesDecember 13, 2013
I love working with the public. I get along great with others and they seem to like me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Montebello, CADecember 9, 2013
Very friendly atmosphere. Got along with all co-workers. Company provided us with a nice Holiday lunch which brought everyone together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bulk Rack Loader
Bulk Rack Loader (Current Employee), Chester, VADecember 6, 2013
Pros: i can take home all the free product i want. i get paid good and get benefits
Cons: i dont like my hours because i work at night.there is no real advancement opportunities
My main job there is to help manage a depot where 34 independent contractors come nightly to pick up there loads for the day. I help make sure that they have everything they need as far as the product they need to go into there stores. I also make sure they have all of the displays they need and that is where the organization part comes in to play because – more... I have to know where where everything is at all time so that it does not prolong the time they have to be in the depot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful work place and great team work
HRIS Analyst (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 4, 2013
Pros: open door policy and ability to always bring your best forward
Cons: that i was not a regular employee instead i was a contractor employee
Review work request from other HR's dept and upper management
Comply request for at HOC reports and daily reports
Daily and weekly meeting
Heavy involvement in the implementation with convertion of three systems into one.
I enjoyed the ability to learn new programs and no systems. I worked with a group of ladies that had great team work at all times.

About Bimbo Bakeries USA

No snickering about the nameĀ -- Bimbo Bakeries USA (BBU) is serious about making breads, cakes, and cookies. Its name is a shortened – Read more