Biotest Pharmaceuticals Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 39 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place of business with very long hours
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Augusta, Ga.October 7, 2015
overall very productive place, although you work very long hours with very minimal breaks. the co-workers there are for the most part a great group of people. i enjoyed working with the variety of donors that came in.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
very minimal breaks, long hours, and a lot of favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here it's a TRAP!!!
Biomedical Technician (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEFebruary 9, 2016
Does not foster growth used and used to be a fun place to work with but everything went downhill.

If you guys are wondering why you're having such a high turnover rate check your supervisors. Especially the Donor Floor supervisor who thinks she's the boss just because she lives with the regional manager and they're best buds!!!!. No life, tedious schedule is stupid, each employee is treated like they're replaceable (don't even think of calling in), and also workers are overworked and underpaid. Mission is deceiving place does not promote teamwork at all!!!! Everyone is talking behind each other's backs
Was this review helpful?Yes25No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure for young career
Associate Scientist (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLFebruary 27, 2016
At Biotest a young professional will be exposed to the the inner-workings of a pharmaceutical company because it is a small company and everyone including management is available to help if needed.
Pros
great exposure
Cons
short handed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
territory manager (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaJanuary 19, 2016
Small sized Pharma Company with great culture. Management is fantastic, my manager is a phenomenal mentor and leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work if you want to help people
C.S.R. / Phlebotomist / Med Tech / Sterile Tech (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMFebruary 25, 2016
The company is based out of Germany and is ran very well. However I could not stomach the hypocritical notion that we are helping people by paying poor and desperate people pennies for what amounts to biological gold.
Pros
Nice people, Simple Job.
Cons
Hypocrisy to the highest level
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Bio Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Iowa City, IAApril 16, 2015
Fast paced work environment that keeps you on your feet. I learned phlebotomy and reception skills. The hardest part of the job is trying to stick people with small, rolling veins. The most enjoyable part of the job is building relationships with the donors.
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
It is 30 miles from my home.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace was very unprofessional and inefficient.
Chaperoned physician (Former Employee) –  Athens, GAAugust 17, 2015
A typical day at Biotest Pharmaceuticals could be somewhat okay. I learned to make the best out of an unpredictable situation and move forward. Management did not lead by example and cost great workers to leave the facility or to be unfairly terminated. Most of my co-workers were very immature and disrespectful to others. Majority of the employees are very young and didn't exercise the notion to have a filter. The hardest part about the job was being subjected to the constant contradiction by management and the team leaders. The most enjoyable part about the job was the opportunity to work day shift sometimes and getting the donors in and out with respect and professionalism.
Pros
Sometimes working day shift.
Cons
The wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fifty-Fifty
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Athens, GASeptember 20, 2013
There is a difference between Stress and unnecessary stress. This is one of those jobs. Personally, I have a big disagreement with the managerment when I worked there. There was plenty of signs of favoritism, inconsistency, and gossip among my co-workers, while managerment has done nothing to go against it, instead they encourage it, believing in the rumors instead of the truth. It can get real busy over there. People needing money as soon as possible, and I understand that. But that unnecessary stress was not worth it. Don't leave a paper trail, because that is how they got me. Avoidable mistakes that should not have happened. I have seen others done plenty of mistakes, but they just know how to hide it well... Good luck
Pros
benefits, plenty of hours, great career job in athens
Cons
favoritism, inconsistency, and gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes18No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it.
Phlebotomist/Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 10, 2015
The company and the people in it play favorites and only look out for the people they "like". They do not care about your efforts to work hard and efficient.
Pros
none
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Upper Management
Biomedical Technician (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEFebruary 22, 2014
Upper management changed in 2012 and everything went downhill fast! I left that year as did all but a few of my co-workers. Overworked, underpaid and you better not even think about getting sick and calling in. Went from being a fun work environment to a place you dreaded going to everyday!
Pros
good benefits, nice donors
Cons
management, long, late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes40No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of very few Biologic Companies of its size and kind in South Florida
Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 1, 2013
Decent place to work. Typical issues experienced in every company, i.e., some management is great, some management are not so great. etc.
Pros
only pharmaceutical biologics company of its kind and size in south florida
Cons
lower than normal compensation for the same position elsewhere
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Biomedical Tech/Phlebotomist/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 18, 2015
I would administer vitals here and provide customer service to the plasma donors. I also performed phlebotomy and worked with the machines on the donor floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not go there!
Biomedical Technician (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAAugust 23, 2015
Its like where to begin with this company. I will say that looks can be deceiving! fair warning. Great mission and cause, but poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and always a challenge!
Biomedical Technician/ Trainer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJuly 27, 2015
Great place to work. A good feeling knowing I work at a place that helps such a great cause. and the management staff is great and really care about their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for people in the healthcare field to get experience.
Biomedical Technician (Current Employee) –  Iowa City, IAMarch 30, 2015
A typical day at work consists of packaging frozen plasma for shipment, shipping samples, screening donors before their donation, performing physicals, performing venipunctures, and everything in between. It's a fast paced work environment where teamwork is key. The management is great, in my experience they have been fair in their decisions and treat everyone with respect. The hardest part of the job is the sheer amount of work sometimes- on busy days even with full staff you will be running around frantically trying to handle multiple things at once. On the other hand, being able to interact with so many donors and with the people who work there is a blessing. Sometimes it's busy and sometimes it's not, every day is a new adventure. Jobs here are VERY detail-oriented. It's very easy to make a mistake as a new hire as there are so many details you have to pay attention to on a daily basis. After a while, you will have the processes burnt into your brain and you will fly through your work with ease.
Pros
Great practice for phlebotemy, staff is fun to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biotest has many opportunities available
Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLDecember 29, 2014
As a growing company Biotest has many career opportunities available. Like many growing companies Biotest has to balance growth with the success of their business ventures. Overall my experience at Biotest was good. They value the time and work of their employees. They foster an organized and exciting work environment.
Pros
organized enviornment. managenent gives plenty of direction and positive feedback on your work.
Cons
the only con that i would have is that as a larger company they can come off as impersonal.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
technician
Phlebotomist Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAFebruary 22, 2015
As a Technician not a great p[lace to work. Unpredictable schedule and treated as replaceable. Not much room for advancement. Luckily, coworkers were pleasant to be around for the more part, but you take the good with the bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good environment to work in very negative
LPN Physician Substitute (Former Employee) –  Dickson City, PAFebruary 18, 2014
If you have kids this is not the place for you. Also not very many incentives to want to stay with this company long term. Pay is good that's about it. Management says you can bring any problem to them which isnt true, you tell the a problem it gets avoided until you forget it ever existed or the problem is made worse than it really is by management. But you can yell scream and curse at people and still have a job but if you're a hard worker you will not be recognised. Very unprofessional place.
Pros
pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Validation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLFebruary 16, 2015
friendly work environment with staff that are helpful and passionate about their work. a small company where your job function can expand into many areas.
Pros
competitive pay
Cons
not enough employee activities
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience.
Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCApril 16, 2015
This team of people taught me a lot about working in the human services area. Even working behind the scenes as a lab tech, you are still doing your part to help those in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture