Birch Family Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Employee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 18, 2017
Birch has been through a tremendous amount of change over the past year. Change is good but not so frequent. They lost a lot of valuable employees. It seems like every six months there's a change in upper management. There is no job security. Management is awful. No one knows what they are doing. Everyone is always on edge at the administrative office wondering when will they get pulled in the office to be told their services are no longer needed. It's unfortunate because I'm actually fond on their mission and supports they provide to individuals with intellectually disabilities, but they have a lot of work to do. Management plays favoritism and you are evaluated on how others view you. They do not have policies in place to run their programs. Awful place to work!
Pros
Flexiblility
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very disorganized
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 11, 2017
worked as a with their school as a therapist. very disorganized. no therapy coordinator on site. i dont know how the organization hasnt been closed yet.
Cons
no breaks as a therapist and students arent placed in correct setting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm Environment with neat Work Space
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 29, 2017
A typical day at work would be taking care of the consumers and making sure they are well taken care of , make sure the get just the right amount of proteins , nutrition , and vitamins. The most enjoyable part about this workplace was just enjoying time with the consumers and employees and just being there. It also taught me how to adapt to new environments and changes in a workplace. Management would often check-in with the workers and counselors to make sure they're doing there job just right.
Pros
Long Breaks
Cons
Fellow Co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great clients but bad staff
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2017
unprofessional work environment, staff are not focus on client needs, not enough recreational outing for the clients, everyone is management, hours are divided by who is the favorite. or who want together
Pros
love clients
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for attaining experience in the education work place.
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Springfield Gardens, NYMarch 21, 2017
It's a really good place to gain the necessary skills to perform the duties of a teacher. One can also balance a flexible life style from working and parenting to continued education.
Pros
Several breaks throughout the school year with pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would have had a better experience with a different supervisor
Classroom Teacher (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYFebruary 1, 2017
I had a supervisor who negletected to tell me about and train me for parts of the job making things difficult. Most of my cowerkers were very pleasant.
Pros
lots of days off
Cons
very little direction and support provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with the disabled
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 20, 2017
I liked the job but i was only part time and they didn't have no offers for full time while i was there. i worked different shifts. i also enjoyed going out with the clients for out door activies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Direct Care Counselor/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 12, 2017
the company was great working for everyone worked togather as a team it gave me alot of experience it was close to home the residence was very clean and organized a great place to work
Pros
room for advancement
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Medical Coordinator/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYSeptember 28, 2016
Very busy days. Job was good. Enjoyed working there. My manager was someone that I could talk to .The Operations Coordinator was also very supportive, and assisted the Manager a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Direct Support Professional Overnight (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 20, 2016
Workers don't count only passing audit does. If there is a issue with the house anything broke or even a infestation it will get over looked for a year or when audit time is in affect.
Pros
No pros at all but one you will meet some unique people
Cons
The main office only cares about their pockets and not the agency as a whole
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about Birch Family Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2016
Management peers were very unprofessional. No matter how much you try to do things accordingly it felt like one was out of the loop. Companies very unorganized and you never know when you'll be suspended or out of a job. Not worth working for this company
Pros
Working with the individuals and watching them achieve their goals
Cons
Company and management very unprofessional. Not worth your time.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good stepping stone for younger people
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Springfield Gardens, NYMay 27, 2016
Birch Family Services has helped me gain confidence in speaking to parents, staff and children alike The two greatest things about this job are definitely the majority of the staff, and of course the children. The hustle and bustle doesn't stop until the last bus has left to drive the children home, but it's a good type of busy. The therapists, for the most part, work hand in hand with the teachers and teachers assistants; they truly have the children's best interests at heart. Unfortunately, the hardest part of the job is the management, or lack there of. When dealing with delicate situations such as the parents of intellectually disabled, emotionally disturbed and/or autistic children, the most important thing to have are supervisors that support you. However, most often then not, these supervisors usually are afraid to speak up for their staff or simply do not care enough to vouch for them. What kept me here for so long, was watching many a child who might not have been able to talk in September, be able to greet me hello when they graduated come June.
Pros
Flexible schedule, Supportive coworkers
Cons
Lack of management, Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place but unorganised
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 18, 2015
I enjoyed working there but management was very unorganised. I had so much fun working with people with disabilities and mentally challenged. It was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with your schedule
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 13, 2015
It is a ok company to start from it you need the experiences in the field for the first time. They provide you with all the training you need to start off in the companies they send you to,
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 27, 2015
I love working here...this organization is all about caring for others and hiring those that are willing and passionate about advocating for those who are unable to do so for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company needs improvement
Staff (Former Employee) –  NYJuly 9, 2015
Management should give more training verse just throwing staff under the bus. Did not like working there. Hopefully they will one day get it together.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Birch
AO Staff (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2015
Management is awful here as well as job security. Working with individuals is rewarding but there is nothing else about the position that is so. Upper management care only about business and do not value the employees. They do not go out of their way to learn the ins and outs of programs and only involve themselves when numbers aren't being met. They are also so uninvolved that expectations are high and incredibly unreasonable. High case load, limited time. Very obvious, heavy favoritism within direct management which is discouraging to other staff working just as hard. Direct management is not involved enough to be able to hold staff accountable for anything. Many people have retired or quit over the last year. Stay away.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
management, job security, high case load, no bonus, no raise, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
direct support rfessiona (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 8, 2015
don't really care for this job that much. its very unprofessional. job is not secure and you can be suspended a any given time
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2015
To ensure the safety of all individuals that are in my care. To make sure all are in a safe clean and hospitable environment, to help with showering and feedings
Pros
Challenging
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administration Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 18, 2015
I work among job coaches that find employment for autistic adults on the spectrum. We also work with day habilitation individuals also.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Birch Family Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8