Find companies:
Bisk Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Bisk Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JU RN/BSN online program
PROGRAM REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 14, 2014
Pros: bonuses etc
Responsible for recruiting and enrolling prospective students in the online RN to BSN program. Position requires extensive knowledge of all aspects of the program, from admissions to graduation. Utilize outbound dialer system and contact management software. Excelled in an aggressive goal structured environment. Managed database of prospective students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at Bisk Education part-time for less than a year
Education Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 17, 2014
ompensation, hours, managements was good, training was easy, rewards for meeting monthly goals, reconigtion, team environment
Made around $10 an hour. Decent pay for those right out of high school or those in college just wanting a part time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like working here as people, including myself, were not treated well.
Program Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 8, 2014
Did not like working here as people, including myself, were not treated well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management can be terrifying but it's a great place to work.
Online Educational Consultant (Former Employee), Tampa Fl.March 21, 2014
Pros: good culture
Cons: scary management
Loved working there. At the end of the month things can get a bit hairy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Teamwork/Communication. Lacks Good Management
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 15, 2014
Cons: no teamwork, communication, professionalism. management hold personal grudges, lack of good management and team leadership, don't go by protocol.
I've worked as a Technical Support Rep for almost 2 years before I was wrongfully terminated due to an isolated incident. I wrote to HR about my manager writing me up TWICE in front of people. Basically humiliating me and making it seem like I wasn't doing my job. So I told HR and I guess the issue was fixed. It wasn't She held a personal vendetta on – more... me until I made a mistake. On March 5th my internet was acting very crazy and I was getting frustrated because I needed to help my students. I told her what my issue was and she stated that she understood but she took it to HR and I was suspended and 3 days later I was terminated. I was the best Rep on my team. I went above and beyond for my team. I covered shifts and stayed when requested. I did my best and because of one mistake and a personal grudge, my income is gone. This is the second time i've been laid off or terminated because of a Personal decision and not a professional one.

I have received plenty of voicemails and e-mail showing my great work ethic and customer service skills. I was rarely embraced by management that I did such a great job but as soon as I mess up, I get all types of calls and e-mails. That's not good management. That's not how management works. I remember I sent an e-mail to my manager Feb 20th that my laptop needed to be upgraded and she never replied. I'm not even upset at being terminated....it was how I was terminated. It wasn't a professional choice.

Thank you Bisk Education for the opportunity but the Technical Support Management and Team Leadership needs a lot of work. It was not the type of environment for me. No professionalism, No teamwork and no communication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to slavery-zone!
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: none! run if they want to hire you!
Cons: pay, time off, corporate culture, management -pretty much everything!!
First of all, HR and recruiters lie all the time. Please ignore when they tell you that " We are only hiring for the night shift". They do it because otherwise no one would work 1pm -10 pm Mon.-Friday. If you are desparatly looking for a job, take it until you find something better. There is a new hire classes almost every week, because Bisk does not – more... invest in current employees, would rather hire new people every week. Huge turnover,dirty cubicles, micromanaged every minute of your day. Employees are seen like numbers, you have to stay on task all day long, while your managers are listening to the music and checking their Facebook pages. No career potential, if you are making money for them, you will stay on the phone forever. I am happy I don't have to work there anymore! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Experience
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 1, 2014
From someone who spend the better part of a year working there, think about it before you accept an offer at Bisk. My experience from training on to my very last day was an environment of: Do this or you are fired. It was a frequent atmosphere of fear and threatening to "Take us to HR" if we did not comply.

Even talking to your co-workers is frowned – more... upon and a social environment is discouraged. Everything is monitored right down to time spent in the bathroom. Some people might like that level of micro management... I don't. It's as close to a prison camp as I've ever seen in a job.

If I had one good thing to say, the pay is okay even though there are no commissions. P.S. If you must take a job here because you have no other choice, stay away from the night shift. Trust me on that. – – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to change lives for the better!
Program Representative (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: fantastic tuition assistance
Cons: not much opportunity for a career growth
At Bisk Education I feel important and cherished because one of my daily duties is to help individuals to change their life for the better. Advising people to take an important step toward their educational growth that may change their carer and life for the better is definitely the best advantage of working at my current position. My team is created – more... with hard working individuals who are excellent team players and are always ready to help you, even outside of work. My manager is a wonderful leader who recognizes the value and potential of every employee and is embracing innovation in our work to reach our company’s goals. It has been a wonderful year so far, I have learned a lot and have been able to progress in my career life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Media Intern (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 9, 2013
The team here at Bisk has been doing a great job of making sure my time here allows me to interact and learn about every facet of the marketing and media operations. I work closely with the Director of Media, Jeannine Scopp and have daily tasks ranging from data entry and media buying projections to paid search and lead flow generation. I greatly enjoy – more... and respect all the people I work with here as they are all supportive and extremely helpful when working with me or teaching me new things. I do find it difficult to keep up sometimes, as I came into a highly vendor-buyer relationship heavy environment with people who have been working here much longer. I enjoy the amount of freedom I have to complete my projects and educate myself on industry practices and information. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has no business being in operation. Run for your lives!!!
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Brandon, FLNovember 23, 2013
Cons: i don't have enough room
In my 15 years in the sales/marketing field I have never worked for a company that micro-managed to this degree. You even have to clock out on break when you use the restroom! Come on! We are adults, and those basic human needs cannot be placed on a timer. There is no positive reinforcement from management, only what you are doing wrong. And this is – more... reinforced EVERY day through verbal abuse. There is a referral goal of 6 a month: you must obtain the name, phone number and email address of each referral from a past or current student (or prospective student); and ask on every phone call at least three times. This is part of what you are judged on to keep your job. This is out of your control, as you cannot FORCE someone to provide you with this information, especially when the quality of the product is far below the par of what you promote when selling to these students. And, yes, we are told we are selling education. Even though the Department of Education has mandated that you are not allowed to "sell" education or use hard core sales tactics, per Title IV. The Department of Education needs to know that sales attainment goals have been set, since it is illegal. When the DOE visits on the site, the flat screens that normally display all of the teams' reps and where they are to their goals every day are turned off so that the DOE will not know what is really going on. Emails from Bisk employees go into SPAM folders for Chrissakes, if that tells you anything. Enough said! As of a few months ago, the first month you do not reach goal you are given a verbal warning. The second month you receive a written warning. The third month you are suspended for a day. (And might I point out that you drive to work that morning and are told that you are suspended for that day and must drive all the way back home. BIG help with the gas prices in this economy!) The fourth time has a question mark on the written protocol, but anyone that does not reach his or her goal on that fourth month is terminated. In training, one of the questions on the exam asks the one thing that does not affect a review and that answer is the number of enrollments attained. They are hypocritical, telling you one thing and selling one dream, and deflating any hopes of advancing within the company once you get on the floor after training and the management shows its true colors. They do not provide you with copies of your annual review or any verbal/written write ups. (Verbal warnings are written and you have to sign them if you want to keep your job.) The turnover is the highest that I have ever seen, in fact it is much higher than even a fast food restaurant. Go figure. And, don't even think about calling in if your are sick and using the CPP time that you have available because that will be used against you as well. They require a 48 hour notice. There is no human that walks this earth that knows 48 hours ahead of time when he or she will be ill. And when you come to work sick, you will get in trouble if you pass out from being sick, or have to visit the restroom all day long to be sick. In fact, I think that working at this company has made many people sick from the stress and verbal abuse. And, the abuse has gone beyond verbal. The VP of Sales physically assaulted a manager a few years ago, and a manager recently assaulted one of his/her reps in the parking lot. Maybe they should go into a different business and become a correctional institution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please read this before you work at Bisk...
Enrollment Specialist - Villanova University (Former Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 22, 2013
Pros: okay pay for a call center job.
Cons: just about everything is a con at bisk.
From someone who spend the better part of a year working there, think about it before you accept an offer at Bisk. My experience from training on to my very last day was an environment of: Do this or you are fired. It was a frequent atmosphere of fear and threatening to "Take us to HR" if we did not comply.

Even talking to your co-workers is frowned – more... upon and a social environment is discouraged. Everything is monitored right down to time spent in the bathroom (true story) Some people might like that level of micro management... I don't. It's as close to a prison camp as I've ever seen in a job.

If I had one good thing to say, the pay is okay even though there are no commissions. P.S. If you must take a job here because you have no other choice, stay away from the night shift. Trust me on that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great if you like call centers
Lead Generation Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 19, 2013
The compensation was excellent, great benefits package. many people that I worked with actually ended up advancing and getting better positions. you must start at the bottom and work your way up. One thing I did not like was I saw people get promoted just for being friends with management. Micromanagement is also a big issue here. overall OK place to – more... work, but your day drags on for ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company, job stability
Word Processor (Current Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 1, 2013
Pros: job stability.
Cons: little room for growth.
Work consists of creating online course work such as test questions and study guides. This includes editing for preciseness. We use LME in house products to enter such information into a bank which allows students to view and take such tests. Hard copies are created from the study guides which are included in students agenda.
I have learned to use various – more... printing systems. It has allowed me job stability during an economic crunch. Management has always been hard at work to better the department. Hardest part of the job is learning and maintaining different style info for different colleges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Job
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 30, 2013
Pros: good breaks
Cons: management is overbearing
Typically call center job with quality enforced policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay but some poor management.
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 29, 2013
I would recommend the company to friends, but I would warn that not all managers are mature and are hard to look up to. However the pay is alright and has fill benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stressful workplace
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 26, 2013
Friendly but also Fast Paced work environment
Typical day at work making phone calls dialing all day.
Co workers friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company!
Enrollment Adviser (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 26, 2013
Awful company to work for! The pay is miniscule and they treat their employees like garbage!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are fun, everything else is not.
Enrollment Coordinator (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 18, 2013
Pros: meet good people
Cons: work you like a slave
A huge place, lots of fun co-workers. They put way to stress on hitting the numbers though. 100 calls a day, 2 hours of talk time (like you can control that) and watch your every move pretty much. Most managers are cool except the Dennison Morgan, 100% pure A-HOLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, call center job, good evnironment
Customer Service (Former Employee), tampa, flJune 2, 2013
Pros: easy, decent pay
Cons: angry people, repetitive
making calls every day to generate customer leads. dealing with angry folks all day on the phone. i enjoyed the work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best upper management, "boiler room" atmosphere
Sales Representative / Territory Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 20, 2013
ales Representative / Territory Manager
Responsible for cold calling CPA’s to promote and sell continuing education
Held accountable for calls per day, referrals, and monthly sales quotas
Must build long term relationship with CPA’s for residual business
Customer service skills required for assistance with customers