Find companies:
BJ's Wholesale Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
620 reviews

BJ's Wholesale Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and management staff
Receiving Inventory Control Manager (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEDecember 22, 2014
Excellent place to work and build a career! Some of the benefits include free lunches, healthcare, 401k, tuition reimbursement and a friendly team member environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp
Cashier (Former Employee), flushingDecember 20, 2014
My job here was as a season employee for the holidays. It was a bit hectic but I did enjoy working here, not only because of the environment but the great employees I had helping me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BJs wholesale club
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), 610 Exterior streetDecember 18, 2014
I really didn't learn too much in bjs, but the register. I really had to leave this job at the fact that it was too hard to grow in bjs whole sale club I was a cashier for about a year I was always looking for opening positions they told me they never had. When I get a job I want them to move me around different positions, I know I'm a quick learner – more... and always willing to learn new things so I wont have questions in the future. co workers were cool but they felt that same way about that job that's why most use to quit because they didn't really see progress in BJS. The hardest part about the job was that it was hard to grow in the area I was working in. The most enjoyable part of this job was how they actually every had food during our breaks on Fridays, it showed how they actually appreciate there co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot Attendent
Lot Attendant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 18, 2014
I helped customers to their car with their heavy items. Also cleaned out the freezers and restocked merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Demo/Cashier/Food Court (Former Employee), Warrensville Heights, OHDecember 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches, holiday parties and schedule flexibility
Cons: low pay, no growth in position
A typical work day at Bjs Wholesale club was challenging in the beginning but it grew routine after awhile. As a cashier I would greet customers and ring up their items while offering them a rewards membership. Rewards membership were for members that shopped often but would receive 2% back on every dollar they spent. Personally, I felt like this helped – more... me with my salesman and communication skills. Also, I made members aware of their savings and the importance of using coupons. The days that I worked food court were the most enjoyable and I can honestly say thats where I gained most skill. My responsibilities were to properly cook and serve food, while constantly updating the cook and salvage log sheets. Temping foods and dating food items as well as food court items. Cleaning was a major part of the job as well. We had to know all the food illnesses that could occur if proper cooking and cleaning methods weren't in play. The managers really stayed on their A game when it came to food court but they always remained patient and very helpful if ever needed. Bjs is honestly a very enjoyable job, especially because of the fellow employees. They were all nice and fun to work with; we became a work family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent place to work
Credit Analyst (Current Employee), Westborough, MADecember 16, 2014
The work environment, management, coworkers, and typical day varies drastically depending which department you work in. The work was challenging at times, but is more than capable to do and repetitive at times. I have gained great corporate knowledge and experience with the initial part of my career, but am ready for the next challenge and advancement – more... in my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hours and management was sub-par
Tire bay technician Propane technician (Former Employee), Akron, OHDecember 16, 2014
Cons: insuficient hours and poor management through out the company
this job left a lot to be desired. this job was a one person shift inside the tire shop. tire and propane jobs fell behind on time due to the fact that there was no additional help to cover all bases. one man shifts left me to operate the phones, register, walk-in customers, appointments, tire installations and repair and propane fill-ups. management – more... was not willing to give assistance or have another helper in the shop to help with the volume of customers.

I did enjoy being able to get the opportunity to receive 2 T.I.A level 400 certifications. these certifications allowed me to certify new employees to be capable to perform job duties on their own without supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Cashier (Former Employee), Concord, NCDecember 16, 2014
co-workers were great. Upper level management not so great. Paid sucked, the customers can be a pain, and because the company value their customers so much there word is taken over the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Solid
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), N Dartmouth, MADecember 15, 2014
Fair vacation and sick time. The bosses are usually people who started where you are. You can work your way up. The worst part is the volume. It is always busy. The break rooms are nice and usually packed with food for you. The people are average and there are enough of them that you'll find ones with similar interests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work starting out
Service Technician (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VADecember 9, 2014
Pros: free used tires, balance and rotates, and flat repairs
Cons: limited pay rate and advancement
The work environment at BJ's was rather relaxed and the typical work day was usually a steady flow of tire changes, the random flat repair or balance and rotate, or the propane customer. Management was friendly and assertive when they were present, but our direct supervisor spent more time in the warehouse than the automotive section. My co-workers – more... were a nice bunch to work with. Everybody was pretty laid back and down to earth. The most difficult part of the job for me would have probably been dealing with customer service issues when a manager was not readily available. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Customer Serivce
Membership Acquisition and Retention Manager (Former Employee), pembroke pinesDecember 6, 2014
Management, Payroll, scheduling, Cashiering, Deposits, Sales, Phones, Hiring Needs, etc.... Word, Excel,Kronos,Peoplesoft, ACE. Team Members customer friendly and offer great Hospitality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BJs
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDDecember 2, 2014
Pros: good paced job.
Cons: some poor management
A promising, well- conducted company.
I've learned to have patience and speak with a calm manor. Helping a customer with what is needed and providing excellent customer service is the key.
Working with all different types of individuals made the experience versatile.
I enjoyed being around my co-workers. It made the day complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work
Bakery/Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 2, 2014
a typical day work is usually busy and a lil stressful also good compensation and healthcare and 401k it was a great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confusing and Frustrating
Deli Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Northborough, MADecember 1, 2014
I worked as a cashier for 4 months there. I didn't mind the work, or the co-workers. The Benefits were great between holiday pay, birthday compensation, sick time and vacation after 30 days of continuous employment. The down sides are the Management. While i worked there nobody communicated with each other. Managers did not communicate with front line – more... supervisors and i was always told to do different things by different people then get told to only obey one order at a time. When i started school i told them i couldn't work certain times and when i handed in the availability form i was told if it fits the needs of the store i will get what i needed, and i didn't get they time i needed to go to class so i had to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice steady pace job
Customer service (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 30, 2014
Good to see new faces everyday in a great nice environment, everybody is always happy and loving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy everyday I work at BJ'S Wholesale Club!
IBA Software EDI Consultant (Former Employee), Westborough, MANovember 27, 2014
Pros: the work, the managers, the team members that work for bj's
Cons: the commute on 495 was a challenge at times, especially during the winter months.
The people who work there, whether they are contractors or BJ'S Team Members, they all have a dedication to their job tasks. which makes BJ'S Wholesale Club #1 on my list of favorable places to work in New England.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), Auburn, MANovember 22, 2014
A typical day is running back and forth and trying to help members in a timely manner and making sure they are satisfied by the time they walk out the door.
Being able to be around people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and fun workplace!
Personnel Manager (Current Employee), Quincy, MANovember 21, 2014
Great company to work for, plenty of room for advancement and fun people to work with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sell club memberships to both buisnesses and personal use
Pre-Opening Sales Representative (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 21, 2014
Pros: free lunch, paid transportaion
check in, in the office , then go to the destination that is on my QUE cards ...sell memberships to businesses , help applicant fill in application , process application ...Provide knowledge of the company and products to customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job.
Cashier (Former Employee), New JerseyNovember 20, 2014
its and OK job. Wish management were more educated and hard working. Good benefits though, paid vacation, sick time, 401k.

1 2 3 4 5

About BJ's Wholesale Club

"Exclusive membership" has never been as common as it is at BJ's Wholesale Club. The firm is the nation's #3 membership warehouse – Read more

BJ's Wholesale Club Photos