BKD, LLP Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Environment with a fast paced business driven atmosphere
Technology Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INFebruary 22, 2018
A typical day at work is a fast paced high volume work environment, but its fair and you are equally rewarded for good work as you are disciplined for slacking off. Very good and friendly culture, an overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be careful
Worker (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 17, 2018
Management seems like they care about the people but at the end of the day all they care about is the almighty dollar. Workers are expendable. Benefits are nice, but there are A LOT of office politics. In upper management it's still a good old boys club.
Pros
Pay and vacation
Cons
Upper management is a joke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay - Typical Hours for CPA Firm
Managing Consultant (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 7, 2018
Good place to work. Typical hours are 47-50 for a non-CPA position. In my experience, management relied on turn-over at mid-level positions ensure continued profitability on work provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast-paced environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 18, 2017
I like the environment is extremely professional, everyone is here to get a job done. It is an ever-changing environment and organization and the ability to multi-task are keys to success in this industry.
Pros
Depth of resources
Cons
Busy Seasons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace Culture
Accounting and Auditing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MO 65806December 6, 2017
I have been challenged to learn new things daily. Enjoy the people whom I work with. Management clearly believes in the mission of principles above economics. Very ethical company.
Pros
Birthday & Anniversary celebrations each month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but not for the easily stressed
Accounting Associate (Former Employee) –  OKDecember 1, 2017
Great place to work, but not for people who are easily stressed. Great management, coworkers, and work culture. Compensation and employee benefits are great.
Pros
Good Management
Cons
Stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and motivated company
Healthcare Consultant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 20, 2017
The workplace culture is very well defined. I have worked here for over a year and everyone has been great. The only downside is a lack of training for new employees.
Pros
great company benefits
Cons
lacking in training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 2, 2017
I enjoyed coming into work & got along with everyone at the office. Everyone was a team player & had an open door policy; they would always lend a helping hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mandatory Field
Spring Tax Intern (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 24, 2017
This is a mandatory field. I do not wish to answer this question regarding an employer. Writing a review should be a voluntary action. This is ridiculous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long bussy schedule with no benefits and very little time for personal life
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Current Employee) –  ellinwood ksSeptember 9, 2017
Have to start early in the morning and work really late staying out in truck sleeper often do not get paid overtime or for loading time. Not a fun place to work
Pros
stezdy job
Cons
long hours no benefits. no orrtimove time pzy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Audit Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 8, 2017
I worked at the firm for a few years and the Company is well established. I made a few great friends and will keep those for a lifetime. Overall it was a pleasant experience, but I was well WELL underpaid. They also didn't have any bonus, which is an awful thing - especially in this day and age as compared to the other firms. So, underpaid via salary and no bonus really hurts. Other than that the firm is well run and established.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place to work
Senior Tax Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILAugust 8, 2017
It is a nice place to work. The employees are helpful. The leadership conference is good. The employees get lot of training. They schedule the work on a weekly basis.
Pros
The leadership conference is really good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Senior Healthcare Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 7, 2017
I learned a lot while working at BKD. I worked in their consulting division and they are an accounting firm. Found consulting was not necessarily for me. Really, that was so long ago things are probably different now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cpa
Audit Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 11, 2017
I did not care to be a CPA and the life that that entailed. CPA firms work you so long. I felt as though I was selling my life for a little bit of cash. It made me realize that money is not happiness and what is everyone trying to buy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great accounting firm
Audit Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 9, 2017
Great audit, tax and AOS services. Good place to work with other talented accountants. Work/life balance in a firm this size is much better than at a big four firm. Additionally, employees have the opportunity to work on a variety of industries and clients unlike big four firms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Audit Associate Level 3 (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2017
I loved working for BKD. The management was incredibly intelligent and always willing to take time out to ensure comprehensive understanding of the audit process.
Pros
Amazing parties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppertunities to get involved with the community.
Receptionist and Accounts Receivable (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 13, 2017
Great Company to work for! The staff work well together as a team during the busy season time of year. Willing to help you pursue other job options within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity for growth if you are willing to stick it out
Auditor (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 8, 2017
Ok place to work. Long hours. Opportunity for growth if you can stick it out. I did not travel extensively, but others did.

There are many lunches and happy hours as well.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
MARKETING ASSISTANT & RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 8, 2017
They encouraged growth at one location but not at another. Accounting is a very hard field so the ones who don't absolutely love their jobs are weeded out very quickly, which meant that everybody who came to work freaking LOVED it, which was amazing.
Pros
High pay, well rewarded, rewarding, great people to work with
Cons
can be some very long hours, mandatory weekends as needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 22, 2017
Has good opportunity for advancement like a typical CPA firm. Has locations through out mid-west and serves several different niches. They are willing to relocate you for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BKD, LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 71 reviews
515
431
316
25
14

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture