BKD, LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Experience
Healthcare Consultant / Auditor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 21, 2015
I'd rather wear a paper hat and say "Would you like fries and a drink with that?" countless times a day than to work for BKD again.
Pros
The fruit basket in the breakroom...
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perhaps the greatest place I have ever been employed
AUDIT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 19, 2014
Outstanding culture, unparalleled support from management, great structure. You can't help but be both productive and educated. If it weren't so far from my home, I'd have spent my entire career with this firm.
Pros
absolutely everything
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a nice company to work for
AP Clerk (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 24, 2014
the work atmosphere is very relaxing. employee morral was great. the breakroom had cable to watch while on breaks and lunch. there were quarterly community service the employees could participate in as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed, competitive, high stress environment
Staff accountant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 10, 2014
You apply and take this job, if offered, for two reasons: you either know without a doubt you want to be a Partner for an accounting firm or you want to use the job to get experience for the job you want in the future. If you want either of those for your career then this job is worth it.
Pros
experience provides future opportunities
Cons
lack of support, bad communication, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging job with a great support team
Records administrator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ArAugust 13, 2014
BKD is a very fun structured environment with challenges to keep your brain stimulated and to show case your talents. Their is a lot of room for growth and advancement
Pros
great benefits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Audit Associate (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 24, 2014
The partners have an open door policy and are always willing to help. Everyone wants you to grow and advance in the company. The work load can get heavy, but if it becomes too much to handle, someone is always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective and Efficient
Staff Consultant (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MONovember 7, 2013
BKD is a great company. Co-workers are friendly yet focused. A lot of competitive employees. Great leaders. Fun Partners.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Partner profits
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 1, 2013
Revolving door employer- lots of turn over- extensive travel
Pros
location
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 23, 2013
Great place to gain experience. Pay is a little low for the hours and work required. Excellent CPAs, but overall management is lacking. Great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are wanting to be an accountant, it's a good company to start with.
Administrative Assistant/Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOApril 13, 2013
If you are fresh out of college and want to be an accountant it is a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Audit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 7, 2013
BKD was a fun place to work. Worked hard, but the company was flexible with the employees and allowed autonomy. Liked my co-workers and clients that I worked with. Always a chance of scenery as I was auditing several different types of businesses.
Pros
fun people to work with
Cons
some of the work was dull and sometimes boring
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to start your career if you are thinking about a career in the Accounting Field
Audit Staff (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 7, 2013
From the beginning, your experience as an auditor is really great. Expect the people to support you as you transition from the college life to the professional life. You will be put in many engagements in different industries ranging from Healthcare, M&D, Commercial Real Estate, Financial Institutions, and etc.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong regional accounting firm.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Enid, OKAugust 21, 2012
I enjoyed working for BKD, however found that the work/life balance did not work for me. As an auditor I had to travel quite often. This is an expectation in the industry so BKD is no different than it's competitors in this respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super company IF working for the right partner
Managing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kansas CityJuly 19, 2012
constant change in the company, not the right balance for a major company. Either get in technology or stay out but make a decision
Pros
work environment
Cons
advancement limited
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expanded Accounting knowledge past the basic Tax Returns
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INApril 24, 2012
I had the opportunity to work on various Tax Returns. This position pushed me to be a better Accountant.
Pros
benefits
Cons
co-workers were not pleasant to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selfish coworkers.
Marketing Assistant & Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 5, 2012
The people are so selfish and self-centered, that no amount of money would make me work for them again. I worked in another office and loved it before I moved to KS, but after the Wichita office, I never want to see another BKD again.
Pros
paid really well
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City MoMarch 8, 2012
BKD, LLP is a great company to work for. All management has an open door policy, and Partners are ready to help with anything
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0