Find companies:
BLACK OAK CASINO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

BLACK OAK CASINO Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Cook (Current Employee), Tuolumne, CAJune 14, 2015
good place to work a great place to learn many aspects of guest service and make new relationships. i would recommend the Casino to anyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Beverage/Cocktail Server (Current Employee), Tuolumne, CAMarch 28, 2015
Black Oak Casino is overall a good place to work because it offers plenty of opportunities for advancement. They schedule adequate amount of hours and give Paid Time Off. Everybody is friendly and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work.
Server / Bartender (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAMarch 21, 2015
Pros: cafeteria up strairs and the lounge were the bomb. love it.
Cons: it's a bit up tight about everything, but you adapt.
I worked for the casino for 13 months. I had a blast. There are a lot of rules and some training that is sometimes inconvenient and yet you get over that. I found every one fun and friendly.

Management wasn't a problem either. Some were friendlier than other's but I didn't feel there was a problem with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and never falter
Beverage Server (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CADecember 4, 2014
This employer was wonderful for a very long time but I had some medical issues happen where I missed a day more of work than was allowed before disciplinary action was enforced and was let go without being able to explain my medical issue. Lunch is always provided though and if you are full time, you always get your 40 hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Cashier (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: the best lunch room!
The atmosphere and people that I worked for/with made Black Oak a fun place to work. Great opportunities for advancement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, varied and enjoyable work environment.
Employee Dinning Attendant (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: no matter how stressful the day we always managed to enjoy ourselves and have fun while working.
Cons: as in any business we sometimes did not have the products needed for the day and had to "wing it".
A typical day on the job could include anything from food preparation, food service, customer service, cash handling, and sometimes helping in other departments as necessary. I learned many different aspects of the gaming industry and what really goes on behind the scenes in such a business. The effectiveness, enthusiasm and willingness to help varied among management, but as a whole was very good. The hardest part of the job was assisting in other departments that I was unfamiliar with until instructed on how the task at hand was expected to be performed. The most enjoyable part of the job was never knowing exactly how each day was going to go or what you may be required to do until arriving at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porter Job
Porter/Housekeeping (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAApril 26, 2014
It is a fast paced housekeeping job. Everyone including patrons for the most part a very nice and appreciative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAApril 16, 2014
Fun place to work. Lots of different advancement options and avenues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun environment ever chagning
Hard Count Supervisor (Former Employee), Tuolumne City, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Collecting all monies off of the gaming floor and transporting to the count room. A lot of guest/employee interactions. Very fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work, very frusterating, worked with very lazy people
Hostess (Former Employee), TuolumneCAOctober 17, 2013
Pros: lunches were free
Cons: did not get tips from servers even though did all of their duties for them. servers were very lazy
I did not enjoy my time working at the mill. It was very irritating and not worth the money that i was making due to not making tips because the servers were not required to tip out the hosts even though we did just about everything in the restraunt except for take the food orders and take the food to the tables. I would not recomend anyone to go and work there,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAAugust 3, 2013
This company has its good and bad. But overall its an enjoyable place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertainment
IT Technician (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAApril 9, 2013
This place was a fun place to work. But pay was very much lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BOC is great
Vault cashier (Current Employee), Tuolumne, CAJanuary 14, 2013
Great company to work for. Takes care of their employees and a fun atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company with room for advancement and great benifits
Porter (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CANovember 7, 2012
Pros: 40 hours, alot of room for advancment, set schedule
Cons: hard to get time off.
Black oak casino is a great company that strives to treat its employess well. Being a porter means that you clean he casino and make sure everything is in tip top shape. The managers are great and so is the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because of the amazing co-workers you will have.
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAAugust 8, 2012
Pros: free lunches, free laundry service
Cons: no bonuses
In the Cage, the primary focus is bank accuracy and guest service. Bank accuracy refers to the balance of all cash and cash equivalents throughout the entire company that are on hand. Additionally, sensitive information is handled at all times; therefore, surveillance as well as employee certification under the BSA is required at all times. The main skill that is honed at this job is accuracy. Fines are derived from the inaccuracy related to the reporting of large sums of cash and cash equivalents as well as the composition of tax forms. The management style in the Cage was fairly relaxed and less hands on, but available if needed. Co-workers performed similar tasks and were typically willing to assist. Dependant on your work preference the hours assigned, days off, or smoke may be an issue. Aside from minor inconveniences, being able to interact with more co-workers than any other job was most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work. Work ethic not great
Retail Lead (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAJuly 24, 2012
Working in the gift basket at the casino was great. Meeting new guests everyday was a great experience. Learning managerial skills from my immediate supervisor was very rewarding, but upper management made the job very stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Unfortunate Turn of Events
No Longer Associated (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAJuly 6, 2012
Back in the day Black Oak Casino was "The Employer of Choice" for Tuolumne County. With a culture of family, loyalty and equality, Black Oak Casino went above and beyond for team members and in turn created a culture of a deep sense of loyalty for its owners and management.

However, since the construction, development and growth over the last five years there has been a steady decline in not only the behavior of management but the culture, values and loyalty of the team members themselves. The result is an atmosphere of fear and loathing.

You may experience the excitement of being hired and even buy into the promise of working for a great company but soon you will realize that its just another job, that is dictated by forged relationships with the right people, empty promises and a constant realization that you are not the valued team member you were stroked to believe but just another employee hanging on for life to a job that is easily replaced by the next person standing in line for employment in this sinking economy.

Should you go to work for Black Oak Casino, make sure you stroke the right people or you will most certainly always have to be watching your back that someone doesnt take a disliking to you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low paying position with out advancements.
Seasonal Cook 3 (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAMay 30, 2012
Pros: free meal with shift, management willing to work with schedals.
Cons: poor communication, lack of caring among all staff, horrible hours.
Bad hours with bad pay and managers who don't care about employees and play favorites among staff. Most employees are trained well, but don't follow it. Many are over quailifed for the postions they hold and others drastically under qualified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work only looking for other employment to be closer to family
PORTER (Current Employee), Tuolumne, CAMay 7, 2012
Pros: free lunches, lots of benefits great team players
Cons: can't think of any cons!
wanting to work closer to family. love my job there. my yearly review was all above average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Dealer blackjack (Former Employee), Tuolumne, CAMay 2, 2012
Pros: close nit like family
when i worked there it was wonderful but it was a small casino 6 tables my co-workers for the most part were great except for some of the pit bosses who had no idea what they were doing they had never worked as dealers

April 21, 2013

In May of 2012(when this comment was written) there were 24 tables in operation in the Table Games Dept. All Supervisors and "Dual Rates"(those who are dealers one day and supervisor the next) are REQUIRED to be dealers before they are allowed to advance. While the four star rating is close to accurate the Opinions expressed lead me to belive this person has never worked at Black Oak Casino.

BLACK OAK CASINO Salaries

Beverage Server
$9.00 per hour
Chef
$56,000 per year