Blackbaud Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Consultant (Current Employee) –  RemoteOctober 6, 2017
Each office has a different culture. Highly motivated people. Would recommend to anyone interested in working in software engineering or sales. Good experience.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company - sketchy managers and games
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCSeptember 11, 2017
What I learned while at Blackbaud:
Very good benefits and vacation time from the get go.
Fair hours with good work life balance.
Pay is ok, not anything special.
Do NOT go against the grain at all, even in a professional manner with valid points. There's a good chance you'll be sent packing. Yes, depends on your manager and upward chain. In this day and age, you're supposed to be able to respectfully have differing points of view and/or suggestions but that is not what I experienced at all. And there was also some game playing and poorly disguised "reorganizing" to orchestrate a reduction of one. Very unprofessional management behavior. No warning of being on thin ice.
A case of a couple poor managers totally skewing the overall view of a decent company.
Pros
Benefits, time off, Company communication
Cons
Unprofessional behavior by managers, cut-throat vibe, meetings to discuss meetings, poor "coaching"
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a ping pong table
Sr. Cloud Data Developer (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEAugust 3, 2017
Good company to work for. The culture is great, good benefits, allows a good work/life balance. The company looks out for the employees to make sure that they're happy, being challenged, keep up on training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compnay
Sr. Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJuly 31, 2017
Prospecting and calling potential customers. Growth of current products which some are old. Introduction of advanced analytics which need reference customers.
Pros
good products
Cons
not alligned with the industry i serve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work but a bad manager
Education Consultant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2017
Blackbaud is a good place to work. I just happened to have a really bad manager. I was a trainer and you are pushed to score 4.75 on a scale of 1 to 5.
Pros
Gym, bonuses
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy life/work balance culture
Finance & Administation (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 6, 2017
Office culture promotes positive life/work balance. Environment is positive with a small business feel. Promotional opportunities may not be as available as with a larger company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Account Manager Enterprise Software (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, CODecember 31, 2016
Lots of potential to grow with the organization. Management does a good job of running the business and help promote from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varies by position
Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCDecember 28, 2016
Exciting environment at first but wears off fast. Management is very hit or miss and the culture is a little too one sided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to help people help people
Manager, i18n / g11n / l10n (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCNovember 27, 2016
People are wonderful to work with. Charleston is a great place to work. It is always nice to be involved with helping companies help people. Clients are world wide
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Develops CRM Software to help non-profits achieve their mission
Sr. Software QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 31, 2016
Blackbaud is a company that is dedicated to helping non-profits achieve their mission by providing solutions that will keep track of how funds are raised and the relationship the non-profits have with their constituents.

The company is based out of Charleston, SC, and has grown from a small company, to a large one which has become the leading provider of CRM Software for the non-profit sector.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of possibility and opportunity
Solutions Consultant/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCSeptember 12, 2016
Though it is a public company, it has done a good job of maintaining its (or restablishing in some cases) its culture of fun, customer-focus, and employee appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Customer Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCAugust 17, 2016
The culture and the people that work there are all very passionate, caring and fun people to be around. The people around you are invested in helping you become better at your role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Source of income
Senior Production DBA (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 13, 2016
The hours required to support multiple data-centers worldwide was a challenge that met but not rewarded. The opportunity for career growth and promotion was not possible.
Pros
remote work
Cons
under-staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun!
Senior Financial Software Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJuly 16, 2016
Everyday was different. Something fun happened everyday, as well. Great team oriented atmosphere. Corporate feel but also one big family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Services is a mess
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 12, 2016
As a Luminate Online project manager, I was dismayed that we sold customers services we could not actually provide. Management seemed to be ok with collecting for 140 hours a month, then only delivering 120. On the flipside, when demanding customers forced project teams to bring 160 for only 140 reserved, project managers who pushed back on customer, got zero support from upper level management

Blackbaud is an example of everything that is wrong in the tech industry, where "services" try to become a profit center and project managers are sacrificed by upper management, unwilling to stand behind them OR make decisions to change policies.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blackbaud is AMAZING
Customer Renewals Specialist (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJune 23, 2016
Blackbaud is such a great company for which to work. I've never felt so fulfilled by the work I was/am doing or so motivated to go to work. I look forward to connecting with both my co-workers and clients each day.
Pros
Work-life balance
Cons
Base Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people, but they love work-aholics
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 27, 2016
I generally like working at Blackbaud. The people in other departments seem to like it a lot more than I do though.

I'm in Operations, and we're definitely expected to never stop working. Things like work-life balance, and quality of life improvements are mentioned, but don't seem to be priorities. The only thing we seem to accomplish is to stamp out a fire long enough to get it down to coals; then its off to the next, larger fire.

That said, I really like the people I work with. It will be a shame when I leave to not work with them anymore.
Pros
Free snacks, games, company activities
Cons
Expects employees to never stop working
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Software Implementation Consultant (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 11, 2016
Great place to work, but management / project management is all over the place. If you find the right job path, you can move up in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 7, 2016
Fun place to work with a great culture team always focusing on the employees. Great location in the middle on the domain, lots of fun things to do just a few steps out the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great mission
Account Executive/Sales (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCFebruary 15, 2016
Blackbaud is a good company and I would recommend to others. Fasted paced and good energy. Focus is on growth and outside sales is the place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blackbaud. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6