Blackboard Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 235 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very employees focus
Application Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 16, 2017
Blackboard does care about the employees, really easy to speak to managers from same department and other departments as well, very friendly work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment with amenities
Senior Contracts Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 15, 2017
Blackboard Inc. was a friendly and accommodating environment to work in, but due to many changes in management and overly and unduly stressful times which increased in frequency, it became unfriendly and cut-throat.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always changing environment
SENIOR IT PROJECT MANAGER/ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 15, 2017
Always changing and fast paced deliverables. Process changes highly effective. Hardworking effective teams, all working towards the same goals. Always learning.
Pros
Leaning, growing environment
Cons
Diffcult balancing lifestyle
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked over summer
Software Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  State College, PAMay 12, 2017
scrum meetings, i liked all coding that we did because i am a coder. i do not know what to type, so i am just trying to make this 150 characters minimum.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people made the job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXMay 9, 2017
I liked working at Blackboard because the pay was pretty decent and the people I worked with were awesome. I will be honest and say that they were pretty unorganized and upper management were pretty unfair towards those that were opposed to their "friends."
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
DevOps Engineer-contract (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAMay 4, 2017
I have learned to solve complicated issues and collaborated with different technical teams, it was great workplace , Working with Team members was fun , learned a lot of new things from other teams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and cons alike, but good pay for the area.
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Somerset, KYApril 10, 2017
Reduced hours and overtime are offered inconsistently, and sometimes within the same day. Great coworkers, constructive management, and charity involvement are huge perks.
Pros
Good pay, good call center experience
Cons
Fluctuating staff, inconsistent scheduling, overtime, reduced hours, limitied raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Black board services
Associate (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXApril 6, 2017
I was glad to have to opportunity to work for blackboard services. For the short time I worked there I had a lot of training and a lot of fun there at work.
Pros
close to home
Cons
benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and a nice breakroom
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXApril 4, 2017
There were always new and interesting people. The hardest part of the job was learning multiple systems at first but after a while it was easy to become proficient in them.
Pros
Always learned something new
Cons
Could have better benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees here are great, but underpaid.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXApril 3, 2017
For the amount of work that a majority of the reps do here they are extremely underpaid. The employees on the teams really do a great job looking out for each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place; Good people
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 30, 2017
Altruistic purpose, but making the transition to more contemporary technologies while trying to keep business processes aligned represents some challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement
K12 Customer Care and Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Somerset, KY 42503March 28, 2017
The job is ok if you can handle people well. The only problem with it is the higher ups. There is no way to advance in this company unless you become best friends with the supervisors. Your quality of work HAS NO effect on whether you advance or not. They will simply advance a bad employee that is their friend then an amazing employee who is just an acquaintance.
Pros
No mandatory OT
Cons
No advancement; no pay raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So Far So Good
College Enrollment Advisor (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCMarch 26, 2017
Management seems excellent - Compensation is average - Hours can be long and atypical - Training is intense but needed to perform the job; you are not thrown to the wolves - The benefits are average and start on the initial day of employment which is really good. It may change tomorrow but as of today I have no complaints.
Pros
Benefits, Pay, Management
Cons
None so far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 21, 2017
Great atmosphere and great people. And as a global company, this headquarters office always had employees from other locations in town that you get to meet. Also, they also have a small budget to maintain office morale by having parties during holidays and special occasions.
Pros
Lots of free food (left overs from catered meetings. Also free soft drinks are stocked and provided
Cons
Too many management levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAMarch 17, 2017
I enjoyed working for Blackboard, but was laid off due to decrease in the work I was hired to do. I supported their largest customer and if I had not gotten laid off I would still be working there today.
Pros
Free Coffee, Soda & Juice
Cons
Was laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAMarch 17, 2017
Blackboard is a simple place to work. Most people keep to themselves and are busy working. They try to make sure that you feel comfortable if you are a new employee.
Pros
Free Drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In search of an indentity
Field Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCMarch 15, 2017
A great place to work. Full of driven and innovative thinkers. Recent re-orgs and changes in executive roles have left Bb a little lost in terms of direction.
Pros
Free food, gorgeous office
Cons
Lots of new staff without older members to guide them
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to enjoy good friends and lots of learning!
Supervisor, Client Services (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 15, 2017
Blackboard has a lot of good people in the Transact department. Hard work, helping our customers get the most of their software. I enjoyed excellent management in the Customer Support division.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the same company
Solution Consultant (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 10, 2017
Blackboard bought out my previous company. They changed what was so great about working for where we were. The only thing they have going for them is the people that are still with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXFebruary 28, 2017
Just a great vibe and place to work. Felt good to help the students. The management was helpful and so were the coworkers. Advancement was evident
Pros
Enthusiastic
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blackboard Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 244 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

76%
60 ratings
Add your rating