Blockbuster Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,847 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining and fun work environment
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIAugust 24, 2016
This was the ideal college job. Shifts on the nights and weekends around my schedule with flexible hours. Management was very understanding to the employee's needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 15, 2016
Blockbuster I enjoyed working there because every employee was very helpful with customers and associates. I had the chance enhanced my management skill in different in different areas of the business. At one time I had the chance to manage 2 stores at one time it was hard but my time management skills were helpful.
Pros
Free Rentals per week
Cons
Blind Recieving product/ Stores Closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be awesome If I manage it myself.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lincoln Park, MIAugust 15, 2016
Block Buster was amazing, it provided entertainment produced by the stars of the world. It provided online, in-store and digital cable products. Starting from movies to video-games, and even cartoons. It also carried snacks to accompany your over all experience of entertainment.
Pros
A fun way to work interacting with people who share common interest.
Cons
If managed poorly the overall experience is ruined!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic envornment
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZAugust 13, 2016
assisted customers with there movie and sweet treat needs, opened and closed the store, made bank deposits, hired, trained and fired employees, organized and cleaned the store
Pros
free movie rentals
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and fun place to work!
Assistant Store Manager/Operation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Moore, OKAugust 12, 2016
Best job I ever had. Pay could have been better. Learned a lot, Loved going to work everyday. Made life long friends! I would have stayed and progressed even further had the company not gone under!
Pros
Great enviroment
Cons
Out of Business!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience, free rentals every week
Manager (Former Employee) –  Kendall, FLAugust 12, 2016
Greeting customers, helping them find and make their movie selections.
Learned social skills with many different people
Best part of the job was all the movie access
Worst part was dealing with late fees
Pros
Free movies, work environment.
Cons
Incentives, disgruntled customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BlockBuster
CSR & Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCAugust 9, 2016
I enjoyed working there. I was promoted from a CSR to Assistant Manager in just under a year. I had a very supportive General Manager but, unfortunately the company went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment with a fun culture
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYAugust 9, 2016
I rant the day to day operations of a store, when I joined Blockbuster video they already had a district manager in place. I was able to hire and train my own team, there was no micro managing going on here.
Pros
No micro managing
Cons
having to let employees go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INAugust 8, 2016
It was a great place to work. I started as a cashier and had a great time with the customers, then I was promoted to CSM within two months. My responsibilities included: Opening and Closing the store, great customer service, Counting down the drawers, and the safe. Stock movies, assist customers with questions.
Pros
Great boss
Cons
The company went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blockbuster
Cashier, Stock, Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  Danville, KYAugust 8, 2016
Miss this job was fun environment always met some good people, management was laid back. When I was promoted to floor manager our busiest nights were every night it was during the summer when I got promoted but gave me a lot of expierence and how to deal with a lot of people.
Pros
Watch KY Derby, Basketball and all events.
Cons
choose when to take break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, sad they're not around
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXAugust 7, 2016
Incredibly fun atmosphere, with free movie and game rentals every week, free slushies and sodas, and an upbeat customer base. Unfortunately there was no room for growth in the company, nor was there any possibility of a raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
movies
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHAugust 4, 2016
helping customers
free movies
pop culture
people who love movies as much as me
setting up store creatively
getting to now regulars
great hours
fun
great people to work with
fantastic boss
easy to ask for time off
Pros
free movies and lots of fun
Cons
businees went bankrupt and closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, especially if you love movies and games
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJAugust 1, 2016
Blockbuster was a very fun job, glad it was my first job, it helped me get comfortable with working in a fast-paced environment. My managers could have been better, but no complaints since the entire business went bankrupt.
Pros
Easy workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blockbuster movies
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodlawn, MDJuly 27, 2016
A typical day would include many tasks, such as labeling and pricing, customer service, checking in items and stock replenishment as required. Putting up new Posters for the new movies.

Working at Blockbuster has taught me about the movie industry and how to critic movies in order to sell them.

The management staff was awesome as well as co/workers

The hardest part of my day was well there were none.

The most enjoyable part was previewing the new movies for the customers
Pros
watching the new releases before they hit the sales floor
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJuly 25, 2016
good customers, employees, minor issues within the company but overall not a bad place to work. too bad company closed. would have worked here again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees, horrible management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 22, 2016
Great people to work with, made good friends, horrible management and lack of empathy towards employees, most enjoyable was the people i worked with and really cool customers that came in that were my favorite people to work with, typical days were sort of busy in the evening and slow at night the most annoying part of the job is rude customers and parents/adults who don't pick up after their kids mess and people who just leave movies everywhere and dont put them back and also leaving isles a complete mess.
Pros
early access to movies.
Cons
rarely any breaks, bad management from store and company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was catered toward entertainment in retail
Part-time worker (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAJuly 21, 2016
It was a great place to work at, for it was always full of entertaining experiences each day that I worked there. In essence it gave its employees new as well as different perspectives to see within the industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
CLIENT SERVICE/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Kaneohe, HIJuly 20, 2016
Meeting and greeting clients. Suggesting movies, games, selling popcorn, candies, chips, etc.
I've learned cash handling, interacting with all different types of people.
I had great managers.
Fun co-workers.
The hardest part was standing and walking the floor for 6 to 8 hours a day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was coming to work and seeing familiar faces and talking about movies and games they enjoyed.
Pros
Free movie rentals
Cons
Standing during your shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Videos
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAJuly 20, 2016
My job was to put away dvds and vhs. I loved my job it was fun and I met a lot of new people on a daily. The customers where amazing. I always loved helping my daily customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Palmetto, FLJuly 19, 2016
You get to rent free movies. Free game rentals. Meeting new people,talking about what good movies to watch..a perfect place for someone who is a movie fanatic.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
No health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,403 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6