Find companies:
Blockbuster
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,271 reviews

Blockbuster Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service, organization and productive requirements
Cashier (Former Employee), houston, txApril 20, 2014
customer service, organization and productive requirements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 18, 2014
Blockbuster Video was a fast paced store. I enjoyed all my co-workers. Customer Service was a high priority. Being manager my duties involved counting money, ensuring the store was flowing smoothly and checking messages from corporate for what the days reports are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy summer job
Assist customers (Former Employee), Westminster, COApril 16, 2014
Working at Blockbuster, was my first real job, it was a good job to have. I was able to take home ten movies a week, and the hours were not too late. I did not enjoy trying to push products onto the customers in order to meet a quota. However, I loved helping people pick out the perfect movie for themselves or their families to watch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Environment, slowing industry
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Rocky Hill, CtApril 16, 2014
Learned the basics of running a smooth operating office environment, handled financials, paperwork, other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employment
Entertainment Specialist (Former Employee), Sylvania, OHApril 16, 2014
Pros: free movies and you get to watch all the new ones before the go on the shelf
Blockbuster was definately a fun place to work. People are normally happy when they come looking for a movie to rent. Customers were enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to see all the old movies in stock.
Customer Representative (Former Employee), Folsom, CAApril 16, 2014
Pros: meeting exciting people.
Cons: finding lose movies.
Very entertaining environment. Everyone always had a smile and tried our best to make shoppers comfortable while shopping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there I had a great staff and customers
Store Manager (Former Employee), Yuba City, CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: free rentals of movies and games
Cons: no raises
Managed the daily operations of an entertainment retail and rental facility. Focus on strong customer service. Developed and implemented marketing activities to increase sales volume of this location and throughout the company. Maintained a high level of communication with staff, upper management and customers to generate a positive financial return – more... for the company. Ensures that daily merchandising guidelines were met and maintained. Managed inventory of a retail location with an annual revenue of 600,000 and greater. As well as managed multiple stores at the same time. Hiring and developing new and current staff for manger assistant, marketing manager, operations manager and customer service representative positions. Managed a staff of up to twelve employees. Evaluated and reported staff performance. Corresponded with vendors. Created reports and reported to human resource in a timely manner. Other activities included but not limited to, shipping and receiving, processing accounts receivable, preparing payroll, labor control, verifying store funds and cash tills, banking, securing store assets, managing customer accounts and issues per company guidelines, repairing computer hardware, maintaining store appearance, managed store product, and preformed store inventories. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Poteau, OkApril 14, 2014
The company has closed since I worked there. I learned quite a bit working here for the short time. Management wasn't very professional. The hardest part of the job was to stay professional when management was not. The enjoyable part was renting free movies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Customers, Bankrupt Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Carrollwood, FLApril 12, 2014
Pros: good customer relations
Cons: bankruptcy, no free rentals
I worked with Blockbuster until they shut down. They were fun to work with when they had customers, but they went bankrupt and shut down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work
Cashier/Manager (Former Employee), Henderson, NVApril 12, 2014
Pros: able and encrouaged to watch films all day, free candy, early access to top titles of films and games.
Cons: store closures made job security a little bit of an issue.
A typical day at Blockbuster Video Inc. involved a great deal of media knowledge. This media outlets included (but not limited to) DVDs, Video games, and Television. This job has taught me great customer service by being comfortable to approach new guests and to initiate new sales. The hardest part of the job would have been restocking titles of films – more... by locating them in other stores. The easiest part of the job was to select and watch films to boost knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I was looking for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Steamboat SpringsApril 11, 2014
Pros: cheap movie rentals
Cons: dealing with movies everyday
Not fast paced or complex enough. Not enough diversity to keep my interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best times of my life
Assistant Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), Yuma, AZApril 11, 2014
Pros: getting free movies and video games and viewing new releases before they come out.
Cons: i can't think of any
A typical day at Blockbuster felt like a Monday morning every day, very slow in the am, but picks up around lunch time. Something that I learned is how much customers appreciated me and wouldn't rent movies or games unless I was working that particular day. Management was great and did everything by the book, but laid back at times. Management made – more... working at Blockbuster Video fun. The hardest part of the job the inventory side of things. The most enjoyable part was getting along with staff and management and always wanting to work with one another building strong foundations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Shift Leader (Former Employee), san antonio, tx & pasadena, caApril 9, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: company closed
i loved working for blockbuster, it was my first customer service job and i couldnt have picked a better place to start off, it really challenged me to get out of my shell and talk to customers. within the time that i was working for blockbuster i learned so much, it really developed my customer sevice experience. the management was great and the workers – more... loved being their. the company did a great job with providing opertunities for there employees – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of business
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCApril 9, 2014
Pros: free games
Cons: store shut down
out of business, but before that it was a fun quick part time job. For people who love movies and games this was the job for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working for these guys
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee), Lake Worth, FLApril 9, 2014
Pros: great people, great customers, great enviorment, etc.
Cons: went out of buisness
Great job, great people, they treat their employees like they were gold. It is a shame that they went out of business but I loved my job and my customers. Great enviorment and they really cared about the training and movement of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 7, 2014
I was able to provide the customers with a wide variety of entertainment options. I learned how to make different suggestions by having conversations about their likes and dislikes. My co-workers were always joyous and helpful to each other. The hardest part of my day was not having a particular product to fulfill a customers request. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job was the job itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Murrieta, CAApril 7, 2014
Mainly stressful at times, this job was more of a headache than any job I currently worked. The co-workers and friendly environment helped relieve some stress, but it could get hectic at times due to the unorganized system set up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was my life! I enjoyed it very much!
Team Leader (Former Employee), Pennsville, NJApril 7, 2014
Pros: we got five free rentals a week, including new releases before they were available to the public.
Cons: the store is no longer in my hometown.
This was a job that I enjoyed going to because I got to work with the things I love, movies! I stayed busy and loved informing the customers about their options related to products and services within the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Visalia, CAApril 5, 2014
Blockbuster is a busy place of work, everyone is rushing in and out all day and it was my duty to make sure they found what it was they came for. To make their visit a wonderful experance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Video Rentals
Shift Leader/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, PAApril 5, 2014
Rented out videos and games, not much use anymore with other means to rent.

1 2 3 4 5