Find companies:
Blockbuster
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,352 reviews

Blockbuster Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated this company!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wood River, ILJuly 9, 2014
Pros: ?
Cons: read review
Get paid $10 as an assistant manager and you are responsible for a lot of cash, reconciling cash drawers, bank deposits and a LOT of tedious jobs that you don't have time to do all of them but you are still EXPECTED to get everything done or you will lose your job. There is NO job security with this company. It totally takes advantage of people with – more... all the work it squeezes out of you and then they think they are doing you a favor allowing the employees to watch 5 free movies every week so it gives them an excuse to pay the employees peanuts in lieu of. It's a very cut-throat environment between the employees which is totally ridiculous considering how much you get paid and the amount of work you have to do. It's a race to become the Store Manager -- give me a break!! Most of the staff that worked there were very childish and had no other goals in life, I guess. A lot of companies take advantage of it's employees -- this is one! Hated this company!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), alexandria vaJuly 8, 2014
Great love working there. The management and staff are friendly and hard working. You can't complain about people with a excellent work ethic like them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 8, 2014
its was a cool job. i love the fact we could watch and play all new movies and games before we put them on the shelf.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 8, 2014
Pros: free movie rentals weekly
Cons: had work weekends
A typical day working at Blockbuster was fun, fast pass, and repetitive. What I learned from working at Blockbuster was to increase my movie knowledge to help customer with their entertainment needs. Management was respectful and relaxed, co-workers were fun to be around and supportive. The hardest part of my job was to sell items outside of the movie – more... rentals. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to talk with customers daily on movie interest, likes and point of views from classic movies, to modern day movies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great store and a great company to work for
Store Manager (Former Employee), Studio City, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free rentals
Cons: company went out of bussiness
If you've ever been to a video rental store you know what we did at Blockbuster
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Shift Lead (Former Employee), Pantego, TXJuly 6, 2014
Pros: free video rentals
Cons: no more blockbuster
I must say I enjoyed working for Blockbuster because of the interaction with new people. Helping them find movies that might interest them and finding new movies to interest myself. The hardest part of my job was honestly letting it go when they closed their doors. Management was friendly and always willing to work with you. The Co workers were friendly – more... and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Mustang, OKJuly 1, 2014
My team was ranked in the top 5% of all stores as far as sales, programs, and overall profitability goes. We had high sales expectations that we met, consistently, and our patrons enjoyed coming into the store and visiting with our staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company restructured
Store Manager (1996-2006) (Former Employee), Englewood, COJune 30, 2014
I was good while I was there. The company as restructured itself and is no longer something I can speak to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job learning management skills
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 30, 2014
Pros: management responsibilities
Cons: no insurance
I learned how to count down drawers, reorder product, pricing, proper product placement, and learned inventory skills. The hardest part of the job was working weekends when they tended to be busiest and the most enjoyable part of the job was working with a variety of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great dealing with high volume customer clientelle
Assisting customers (Former Employee), Peabody, MAJune 30, 2014
Pros: helping customers and make them feel glad to have chosen that site
Cons: people returning wrong product to the store and having to fix it after 2 weeks
Duties include point of sale, Customer service representative. Attained “Key Club Status”, an accolade for people that go above and beyond what is expected of employee, which included product location, knowledge of films and reccomendations as well as stocking. Opening and closing daily of site. (Hourly)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed bussiness
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), McKinney, TXJune 29, 2014
Unloading, categorization, pallet building, shrink wrapping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Canton, OHJune 26, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Worked there all shifts. Enjoyed the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work. I give it 5 tars but for some reason I could not get the stars to stay populated.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Chicago.#, IlJune 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits package
Cons: longer work hours i someone calls off.
I loved working for Block Buster Video. I left the company to seek a new career goal. It was a starter job for me, I grew in the company. I moved from customer services representative to store manager. I would with a very a great upper management team who cared about their employess growth and success, as well as growth of the company. There really – more... was not difficult part to this job at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Cashier/Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), West Grove, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: fun times, friendly co-workers and management
Cons: low pay, seasonal
It was my first job and my co-workers were very supportive, the management was stern but kind. Customers were friendly for the most part and it was a concept I was interested in selling. The most enjoyable part of this job was being around an interesting item such as movies and games.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Assistant Team Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 25, 2014
Working at Blockbuster Video was fun and exciting. I learned how to have excellent customer service and managerial skills. There were many high expectations and goals to meet on a daily basis. We had a very small staff but all were great to work with. I truly enjoyed the fact that we were able to preview new releases prior to the release dates. We treated – more... all customers equally but there were some that were more familiar and preferred. I enjoyed discussing and recommending movies.
Its unfortunate that they shut down all locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instability and no sense of focus on what the company wanted to do.
Shift Lead Supervisor/Store Operations Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FlJune 23, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility and co-workers
Cons: benefits and job advancement
I had many good memories of Blockbuster as a kid and being employed with company. I enjoyed serving and connecting with the customers and staff members. To see the company at its peak and then to see the decline, l think what be attributed to; communications; issues with stability, direction and focus; missed opportunities to advance point of sale systems – more... and digital services did not help as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good experience while in school.
Custom Service Representative (Former Employee), MIJune 22, 2014
A shame they went out of business.because the everyday job functions were fun to perform and made the shift fly by. The people were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deepest impact on my professional career.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Collegeville, PAJune 22, 2014
Pros: fun environment.
Cons: poor company decisions.
I owe a tremendous amount of gratitude to this company. I had the opportunities to develop, sharpen and refine my management skills. I attended numerous workshops provided by them which taught me human resource skills, loss prevention and many others. This company made the deepest impact on my professional career as a retail manager. I was valued as – more... a trouble shooter and went into troubled stores to overhaul them and prepare a well functioning environment for a newly placed manager, often managing two stores at once. I was able to do so by developing several strong assistant managers that were trusted to run my home store while I tended to the troubled stores. It was unfortunate for the company to never have the foresight to evolve in the current industry, thus its demise. It was always behind the eight ball and was spending large amounts of money to play catch up. I saw the poor decisions as a sign to leave, in which I did, several months prior to a massive store closing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Movie Reviews
Shift Store Leader (Former Employee), South Boston, VAJune 18, 2014
This job was entertaining, in the aspect that whenever a new release hit our store, the employees were allowed to watch it first. My co-workers were great. There was nothing hard about this job. Unfortunately, corporate closed down All Locations!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blockbuster
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 17, 2014
company closed.
high turn over
low pay
schedule never done on time
enjoyable customers

1 2 3 4 5