Blockbuster Employee Reviews

Found 1,514 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to be short term
Shift Lead Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 21, 2015
Blockbuster is a fun place to work if you have the right management and team members. I myself was in a management role so most who worked with me had a pleasant time.
Pros
meeting new and different people
Cons
some people tend to mix too much personal with the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Manager on Duty (Former Employee) –  Walker, MIDecember 21, 2015
This job mostly consisted of being knowledgeable on current media and maintaining friendly relationships with customers. It was very enjoyable and laid back. Shortly after being employed with the company, it became obvious that it was going under. It was a sad happening.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Hoover, ALDecember 19, 2015
Being a movie buff this was a lot of fun. Daily I checked movies in and out, restocked, cleaned, enrolled customers into various programs that would best benefit their watching ratios. This job made an impact on me because the manager believed in me and I was fully trained.
Pros
Got to see all the new movies before they were released.
Cons
Moved and then the company went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went out of Business
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 15, 2015
Management was a fun time while working at Blockbuster Video. All the movies you would want to watch for free. Loved the atmosphere. To bad it went out of business.
Pros
Free Movie Rentals
Cons
Went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Swartz Creek, MIDecember 13, 2015
I enjoyed my time there, I obtained all of my management skills. I had ability to move around and had awesome coworkers. The only bad thing I can say was the micro-management that was done by upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - sorry to see that they are gone.
Director, HR Distribution and Corporate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 10, 2015
This was a highly collegial and collaborative environment. The employees were truly committed to the brand and each other. Everyone reached out and would offer assistance when needed. Very entrepreneurial and the CEO was willing to take business risks.
Pros
The employees and environment
Cons
Long hours worked but really worth the effort
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment with a great staff.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INDecember 9, 2015
I worked here for a year and it was fun. The best part is the co-workers and being able to check out movies before they came out on the shelves, plus having benefits to check out movies and catch all the latest movies. The hours were great and management was awesome and friendly as well.
Pros
movies
Cons
health coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Fun and entertaining.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  IndianaDecember 5, 2015
Trended in the wrong direction within the industry carrying heavy debt from due to over aggressive contracts with studios.
Pros
Entertaining environment and exiting place to work.
Cons
Products became undesirable due to technology
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining job with good people.
Customer Service - Proficient in customer service (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 2, 2015
Check out customers and help them with their entertainment needs.
Maintain a clean, organized, stocked store and provided inventory when needed.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Went bankrupt
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor for movie rental store
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 2, 2015
Training
Interpersonal communication
project supervision
time management
performance management
opening/closing duties.
cost control
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Experience
Customer Service, Shift (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GANovember 27, 2015
It was a fun place to work and allows schedules for associates who were in school to attend classes. If you enjoyed movies it was a great place to be employed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place and it shows
Customer Service Clerk and Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCNovember 24, 2015
As of this writing (2015), Blockbuster is out of business. Management was clueless when it came to a changing marketplace and customer demands. Unfortunately, my location closed by 2006 so we were ahead of the curve. The customers and our movies could be interesting, but otherwise it was worth avoiding.
Pros
free rentals, customers
Cons
management, customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good solid company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXNovember 22, 2015
Flexible schedule with decent benefits.
must be willing to work longer shifts that you are scheduled for
very demanding workplace due to constant customer interactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2015
Fun work environment that allowed me to interact with customers and work well with my colleagues.Sold numerous products to customers and assisted in managing customer accounts.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
not afforded ample work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
went out of business
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 19, 2015
fun while it lasted. loved talking about movies with customers and employees. This review is pointless now that the company went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be the place to be
store manager (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PANovember 13, 2015
I loved working for this company 15 years ago, however the last few years were just a nightmare. Policies changed daily, along with management. They were scrambling so hard to stay in business they lost total focus on their customers and employees.
Pros
pay, benefits, fun environment
Cons
business is gone
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Until the very end
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 10, 2015
now that blockbuster is gone and out of business there inst much left to be said that has not already been said ...
It was a decent company , that did not take or make the best moves for long term success in a changing media landscape
Pros
Compensation
Cons
management ran company into the ground
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work until the industry changed.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 10, 2015
Obviously Blockbuster Video doesn't have any stores anymore so that should say a lot. Once online movie watching and services took hold, Blockbuster became outdated quickly and was a gloomy place to work. Before that though it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 8, 2015
Great job if you enjoy movies. It was pretty straight forward business, nothing challenging about it at all. We keep the shelves stocked with merchandise for rentals. Management depending on who it is was good or could be horrible..
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Surprise, AZNovember 8, 2015
Very enjoyable work environment especially for a movie fan like myself. I liked the banter between coworkers about movies being good or bad .
Pros
plenty of free movies to preview
Cons
not many benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,833 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture