Blockbuster Employee Reviews

Found 2,052 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of business and missed
Customer Service Repersentative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 26, 2017
Blockbuster is gone and missed. It was an awesome job. Loved getting to watch movies and talk to customers and co works about them. Loved choosing our favorites and customers could choose from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIApril 26, 2017
Even though the company is closed many former customers loved the service provided. The company was willing to transfer my job from Houston to Michigan because I wanted to be close to family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This doesn't pertain to anything
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  New Baltimore, MIApril 26, 2017
Blockbusters is no longer a chain of movie rental stores but indeed.com requires that I still fill out a review for this chain. I have not met the minimum requirement of characters, now I have.
Pros
Free movie/game rentals, discount on snacks
Cons
No longer exists
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer there.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAApril 23, 2017
Great company while there. Wish that the business model had remained more sustainable. Had fun and enjoyed what I did. Worked with good employees and built great rapport with students and distributors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Howard Beach, NYApril 23, 2017
Assist with customers orders, refunds, or exchanges. Keep working environment clean at all times. Restock store merchandise on a daily basis. Provide friendly environment to customers at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAApril 22, 2017
One of my favorite jobs. Loved the manager and all of the benefits. Got to take home movies before they were released as well as being able to rent 3 movies a week for free. Too bad it closed.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of business
Night Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLApril 22, 2017
Blockbuster went out of business due to Netflix and an ever growing technical and online society, of which the company could not keep pace with unfortunately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment while still in business
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Hanover Park, ILApril 21, 2017
Was a fun job that interacted with all kinds of people.
Depending on the manager on duty determined a good or bad day as management styles ranged from really good all the way to not caring.
Pros
Previewing movies two weeks prior to release on DVD
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive pay for the work involved
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Glencoe, ILApril 21, 2017
Perfect for starting a career as a manager ,competitive compensation for the employees and environment whisper quiet full of America's favorite pass time
Pros
Its a movie rental store full of amazing films
Cons
Unfortunately outsourced by the rise of the Internet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work anymore
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYApril 21, 2017
Blockbuster Video is all but extinct now. with only a handful of locations left of their once over 10,000 stores, the company is nearing the end of its final death spiral with the closing of its last remaining store coming very soon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSApril 20, 2017
Overall wonderful CS experience. Floor manager was friendly, and so were the staff. Hours worked well with my schedule. Overall great experience working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Park Ridge, ILApril 19, 2017
Horrible company to work for. Doesn't pay well. I think most stores are closed now, don't know why I need to do this review. Still have fifteen more characters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in business
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Richland, WAApril 19, 2017
As they are no longer in business there is not much to say about working at this place. Lots of free rentals in a month. Benefits weren't too bad at all
Pros
Free Rentals
Cons
Out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Enviroment
All positions (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAApril 17, 2017
It was a great place to work in. Had many responsibilities from cleaning, cashier, and janitorial duites. It was always fun interacting with the customers and giving them my opinion of which movies were good to watch.
Pros
great enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bear, DEApril 17, 2017
I loved working for Blockbuster. It was a very fun place to work. The scheduled fit a collage student. It was nice to be able to always know what new movies where coming out and be able to talk about them with customers. I was able to build a relationship with many customers as we have several repeat customers on a weekly basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of buisness
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Quakertown, PAApril 16, 2017
even though blockbuster is now out of buisness they were exemplory to their employees. i was an assistant manager which included stocking the shelves, taking inventory making bank deposits, and taking down the drawers at the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Run business that treated customers and employees like family.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, GAApril 13, 2017
This is one of those jobs that I really valued. Summer job and the manager took his time with me showing the do/ don'ts, in/outs of retail furniture.
Pros
friendly staff, great benefits
Cons
none what so ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet many new people on a daily basis
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Totowa, NJApril 12, 2017
It was a fun place to work at. Coworkers were pleasant bunch and it was a real team playing atmosphere. You were in an atmosphere where socializing with the customers were encouraged.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Experience
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COApril 9, 2017
Never received full time hours. Management was never willing to talk about performance reviews or raises. Wish i hadnt wasted a year with them. Was such a great place when i was younger shame it fell so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work except for corporate interference
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAApril 8, 2017
this was a great job for most of the years I was there. the last few years the company changed ownership and everything changed. corporate began to drive customers away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blockbuster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,697 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6