Blockbuster Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,832 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first retail job was a great experience that I will always cherish.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAFebruary 19, 2016
I learned great customer service skills. I also learned great independent skills in the workplace. I was in high school and had a lot of trust and responsibility for my age.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 24, 2016
Great place to work

They are now out of business.

Nothing else to say-they have gone out of business...but this website says I have to add more so I am.

Moving to Pensacola to be with family.
Pros
Free videos
Cons
They are out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment with a great staff.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INDecember 9, 2015
I worked here for a year and it was fun. The best part is the co-workers and being able to check out movies before they came out on the shelves, plus having benefits to check out movies and catch all the latest movies. The hours were great and management was awesome and friendly as well.
Pros
movies
Cons
health coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place and it shows
Customer Service Clerk and Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCNovember 24, 2015
As of this writing (2015), Blockbuster is out of business. Management was clueless when it came to a changing marketplace and customer demands. Unfortunately, my location closed by 2006 so we were ahead of the curve. The customers and our movies could be interesting, but otherwise it was worth avoiding.
Pros
free rentals, customers
Cons
management, customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in busines
District Manager (Former Employee) –  OregonMay 18, 2016
na went out of business. made bad decisions.
was a great company at one point, but took on a debt that could not be repaid and was bought out by Dish network.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post Supervisor
Post Production Director (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 26, 2016
Great company to work for. Too bad management in Dallas was so lame. I would advise to work for BB, but they are closed and sold to DISH network.
Pros
Great work, never dull
Cons
Barbara Javitz
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJuly 25, 2016
good customers, employees, minor issues within the company but overall not a bad place to work. too bad company closed. would have worked here again
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great friendly job.
Cashier/Closer (Former Employee) –  Sylacauga, ALMarch 16, 2016
Great job. Due to competitive competition in the movie area, this company was unfortunately closed. I loved working this job, from my duties down to the staff and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Movies
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, MIJanuary 6, 2016
I would run a cash drawer all day. I would make room on the new release wall for all of the new movies every Monday night. I would get all the movies ready for pricing. I would put together end-caps. I would do the schedule for the whole store.
Pros
Lots of free Movie Rentals
Cons
No breaks, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company out of business
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Inverness, ALFebruary 16, 2016
I enjoyed working here, but it is no longer in business. The every day person is not running to blockbuster and renting movies when the TV and red box offers a much more easier method and sometimes much cheaper.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blockbuster
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMarch 10, 2016
Blockbuster was a lot of fun. We were able to rent soon to be released movies early. The regular customers had fun with us and felt like they were family.
Pros
customers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Lake Placid, FLMarch 1, 2016
Again I worked for a company that went out of business. They could not keep up with modern day technology and were forced to close their doors. The pay was poor and the job was demanding.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of business
shift lead (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAFebruary 18, 2016
when the place was still open it was a great place for a beginners job. this job opened up a lot of doors as a manger and to practice my customer service
Pros
free movie rentals, free candy and popcorn
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJuly 2, 2016
great job and great people i really enjoyed my time there. Fun enviroment and fun job great job in general. Not a single hard part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly First Job Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  West New York, NJJune 7, 2016
- Very friendly management; very welcoming for my first real job

- Taught me the beginning responsibilities of having any job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place but no room for advancement
Manager (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 6, 2016
Had fun working here and made great friends, but this isn't a job where you can advance very far. The upper management was very good at micromanaging.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 19, 2016
this was a good place to start working when you are young and just starting out. the hours were very flexible as well. I have nothing but good things to say about working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The online business was making money but not the stores.
Distribution Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 2, 2015
I enjoyed my time at Blockbusters. The pay was not so great, but the people with whom I worked everyday with, was great. I stay in touch still with a couple of them today.

The online part was making money but it needed the stores to stay in business to continue that. The stores were not making money. Streaming and Redbox, Netflix ran them out of business.
Pros
Selection of movies to rent and most of the time, I got to take one home overnight only.
Cons
Pay was not great and starting time was way too early when you needed to check quality of products.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Manager on Duty (Former Employee) –  Walker, MIDecember 21, 2015
This job mostly consisted of being knowledgeable on current media and maintaining friendly relationships with customers. It was very enjoyable and laid back. Shortly after being employed with the company, it became obvious that it was going under. It was a sad happening.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to be short term
Shift Lead Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 21, 2015
Blockbuster is a fun place to work if you have the right management and team members. I myself was in a management role so most who worked with me had a pleasant time.
Pros
meeting new and different people
Cons
some people tend to mix too much personal with the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blockbuster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,383 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6