Find companies:
Bloomingdale's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
449 reviews

Bloomingdale's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Bloomingdale's
Shop Manager - Soho, NY (Former Employee), Soho, New York NYDecember 15, 2014
It was very productive, between building a client book and maximizing on each and every sale. I learned how to multitask, and increase the businesses numbers. The hardest part of the job was having to let associates go if they didn't meet their goals. One of the best parts was building a team of amazing coworkers and watching each of them grow!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Positive Work Environment
Fashion Accessories Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 14, 2014
From my short time working here at Bloomingdales, I have to say that I really enjoy the environment and the company. I've only been here as a seasonal associate, but I feel very much at home here. I love majority of the people I work with especially in my department. I would say about 90% of the employees here seem to be very positive and friendly and – more... I believe its because the management team at Bloomies actually take the time to review peoples personalities during the interviewing process. Employees seem to always be smiling and in a positive mood. I love that factor the most. Another great thing about the company is that managers all seem to be on the same page with new promotions, events and sales even if its not their department. Its very good that I can call almost any manager if I need help with a situation and they'll usually know the correct procedures and how to resolve the issue. As far as the company itself, I don't have any complaints or doubts. I genuinely feel as though they're doing everything right. Scheduling is very flexible as well. Its extremely convenient how as employees we can go online and pick up extra shifts or "advertise or switch" a shift with another associate if you're not available that specific day, without the hassle of getting management approval and waiting for a response. Needless to say, Bloomingdales is a great company to work for and I'd definitely suggest it for anyone interested in working high end retail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CADecember 14, 2014
i enjoyed working at Bloomingdales. The employees were very nice and very helpful during my first days at bloomies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace work environment
Fashion Accessory Specialist (Current Employee), century city,CADecember 10, 2014
Bloomingdale's is a great place to work, with a positive vibe and atmosphere. I love the high-end merchandise, in addition to the exceptional floor plan.I also enjoy the perks and employee incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place but no $$$
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 6, 2014
Pros: boss and team plus hour lunches
Cons: raises and pay
Great place to work for well when I was there it was my boss was amazing over all team was great fast and easy to make friends but the only thing that people wouldn't stay for was the $ poor raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Sales Representative/MJBM Specialist (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CADecember 5, 2014
Amazing job, team and management. I was a sales representative when I started and was later promoted to a sales specialist for Marc by Marc Jacobs. Great sales job... Feet may hurt after your eight hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Enjoyable
Loss Prevention Detective (Current Employee), Beverly Hills, CADecember 4, 2014
Great staffing on both the support and store side of the business. Amazing Company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 1, 2014
Pros: discounts on high end clothing, location
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at Bloomingdales is very productive. I learned several things about organizing mens clothing and perfumes. Although my section was Mens, I did much more than work in the mens section. The hardest part of the job was taking request from several costumers at once , everybody at Bloomingdales is always busy and costumers are always coming – more... in and out, but by being patient and organize you can take care of all costumers and get the job done. The most enjoyable part of the job was the location , it was right in SoHo (Manhattan) where all nationalities come and shop and there are many other stores close by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good management
Sales Representative/Personal Shopper (Former Employee), newton maNovember 27, 2014
managers are rude and unprofessional
nkeyfc cb7 hyry67wefasd jfiu a
bcbetgdkhcvdu jl k
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced luxury retail enviornment
Contemporary Private Label Selling Specialist (Current Employee), Chestnut Hill, MANovember 24, 2014
Pros: beautiful wardrobe.
Cons: location and hours of the store.
Strong focus is placed on building and maintaining client relationships. I learned quickly how to maintain these relationships and over time developed a client book of over 100 contacts which is still growing. Management is concerned with employees reaching their personal sales goals as well as keeping loyal clients happy. Many co-workers work for leased – more... vendors within Bloomingdale's and this creates a separation between leased partners and Bloomingdale's associates. The best part of this job would be the opportunities for meeting different people and creating new professional relationships. The fast-paced environment and attention to detail is something I enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Public Relations Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLNovember 23, 2014
Working for Bloomingdale's has been a wonderful experience and I'm proud to be a part of such a wonderful organization with a great history. I was constantly urged to move up in the company, and when the right position for me became available, I was supported in my promotion every step of the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced place to be. A business with a party scene.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 16, 2014
Patience is the most important aspect of this type of job. When dealing with hundreds of different personalities, it is important to remember that all customers are dealing with something outside of your service. Some will take it out on you, some will not. I've learned that it's never personal, and always keep a level head, no matter what. That can – more... be the hardest part of the job if you're not patient, and the easiest, if you are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Tech-Niche Counter Manager (Former Employee), CANovember 16, 2014
Bloomingdale's was the place that I learned and experienced the retail environment, the benefits of team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work style.
Stylist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 15, 2014
This company is very busy so you are always on your toes. I like the fast paced energy inside these stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keep sales floor clean
Recovery Position (Former Employee), White Plains, NYNovember 13, 2014
Take inventory or examine merchandise to identify items to be reordered or replenished. Clean display cases, shelves, and aisles,
Design and set up advertising signs and displays of merchandise on shelves, counters, or tables to attract customers and promote sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was always an ongoing task to complete everyday at work.
Women's Shoes - Operations Manager (Former Employee), Chevy Chase, MDNovember 11, 2014
Pros: networking with many other business professional and social societies.
My normal day would be coming in to check the conditions of the sales floor, and then straighten. The next would be to be to audit the stock sales room and refresh the area.Then I would write out the current schedule and task every sales person and give them all individual goals. I would usually be processing new shipment and getting product out onto – more... the sales floor. Throughout that day I would also follow up on every sale professional to make sure task were being completed and goals were being met through coaching delegating and developing them. Some days were a bit more intense than others when it came to the many personalities that I came in contact with. But we surely had a sense of family within my specific department. The hardest part was getting some tasks complete due to lack of support from upper management. I enjoyed the constant interactions with the various clients and community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of sales
Designer Shoe Sales Professional (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 4, 2014
don't expect to sale full price when the racks go up
most managers are pretty good at what they do but are often under compensated
its a glorified maces
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enivornment
Recovery position (Former Employee), White Plains, NYNovember 4, 2014
Typical day clean display cases, shelves answer customers questions about merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bloomingdale's
Assistant Buyer (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 2, 2014
Corporate atmosphere that encourages and allows for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced competitive clientele
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: commission, benefits, discounts, product knowledge(kept me hip)
Cons: catty co-workers, management goals sometimes extreme
Day consists of checking client book, calling any clients that may need to replenish on product. I learned a lot about getting the most of the busy times and try my best to close the sales on slow days. Management was helpful at times, to help you see where you stand as far as the numbers you make for the day/week/month. Co-workers can get very territorial, – more... but the commission rate was very cut-throat. The hardest part was probably meeting the monthly requirements of accounts opened. Sometimes on peak months, the goal was pretty outrageous. Most enjoyable part was the product and working with my very personable clients . – less

1 2 3 4 5