Find companies:
Bloomingdale's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
383 reviews

Bloomingdale's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good store
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 27, 2014
good positive work environment

good pay

good workers union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great events for the staff
Cons: more pay
very busy when it came to sales
different merchandise
good to work with
great people to work with
when we dont have the merchandise
helping the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a terrible place to work
Selling Specialist (Former Employee), atlanta, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pay is low. Promotions with tons of experience. Management is totally numbers driven. Numbers good...they are are ok. Great people to work with overall
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Vendor Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 22, 2014
Great product
Technology is good
loyal customers
lots of training
great discount
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional luxury brand retailer
Application & Report Developer (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: 20% discount at bloomingdale's and macy's
Cons: compensation / career advancement
Pros: My co-workers are amazing fun people. That make the environment fun amidst all of the changes.

Cons: Management seems disconnected with the realities of what the employees are looking for in terms of engagement. There doesn't seem to be an equal opportunity for advancement. Management is inconsistent and sometimes i don't understand how some – more... people have been qualified for the job they are placed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay if you're a student worker its perfect!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: got a chance to meet great people, surrounded by the most beautiful clothing
Cons: breaks seemed short, paid was bad, catty employees, management needed work
A typical day at work was me coming into a mess to clean, customers who were misguided about certain information and employees who worked the bare minimum. This may have been due to the management style at this particular store but it seemed to be something lacking to make employees more driven about work. Management needed a face lift, power struggles – more... was definitely in full effect. The turnover rate was insane!The hardest part for me was meeting the event goals. The economy is not what it use to be so people are spending less.
At times it was fun providing customers with the items they needed,but when we didn't have the items it was hard to direct them else where. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJJuly 16, 2014
its a very friendly environment to work in. I had a wonderful experience with the people, tasks, and everything involved. Its truly one of the best companies i have worked for and hope to return soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment.
BCBG/Theory Specialist (Current Employee), bloomingdales white plainsJuly 11, 2014
good environment, well compensated, good benefits but room for upward mobility was not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Theory specialist (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAJuly 11, 2014
A typical day starts with merchendising and making sure the floor is ready with all new items being pulled out.
Greeting customers and help them with their purchases.
Client book is the essential key to be in touch with the clients.
I have learned a great deal of superior customer service and how to incorporate their needs.
The hardest part of the job – more... is the un-necessary returns!!
The most enjoyable part of the job is to see satisfaction on client's face at the time of closing deal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun workplace environment.
Sales Professional (Former Employee), Santa Monica, CAJuly 10, 2014
Learned new customer service skills everyday, amazing management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced very detail orientated with many procedural duties
Loss Prevention Detective (Current Employee), Newton, MAJuly 10, 2014
Very smart and talented co-workers and management, everyone has previous experience and there was a very positive learning and sharing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate, Juicy Couture, Free People (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJJuly 9, 2014
Pros: product knowledge
Cons: worked weekends and holidays
Each day received a sale goal that I was accountable for by the end of the day. Assisted customers in product knowledge. Assisted customers in ordering or finding product if my location didn't have a particular item.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist customers, organized the stockroom and floor.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 6, 2014
Pros: diverse company
Cons: no flexible hours
In charge of phone orders and online purchases. Handled the complaint department hot line
Implemented training course and processed the new employees
Moved shipments from floor to floor and handled all markdowns and inventory
Assisted customers with purchases while promoting brand recognition
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Logistics Associate/Fulfillment Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 29, 2014
Pros: great compensation & security
Cons: hours
Great daily pep rallies
Awesome co-workers and managers
Great guidance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay work environment
Sales professional, November 2011-June 2012 (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: discount, working for a brand within bloomingdales
Cons: uniform, point of sale system, telephone system
• Had to wear ALL black all day everyday
• Stand in a hurdle everyday and go over numbers
• There was a sale almost every weekend
• Try to navigate their ancient system

The problem was I worked at Nordstrom first and got recruited to Bloomingdales. I took the job because it was closer to my apt and thought maybe it was time for change. I was there – more... for 8 months and went running back to Nordstrom. They have way too many sales that are very stressful and they have the oldest system I've ever seen. They were always understaffed and the phone system is almost worse then the point of sale system.

The best part of the job was having the opportunity to work for brands. I was a brand specialist and loved it. I loved that I was in charge of that entire brand and area of the floor. It was so fun merchandizing the floor and showing new stuff to the rest of the team. Depending on the brand you could earn bonus pay and free clothing. The other good part about working at bloomingdales is you get a ton of discount if you shop at the right time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Merch Admin Team Associate (Former Employee), Garden City, NYJune 26, 2014
I had to quit school, work took over my life. management was not the best. not looking to be in retail anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
sales (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 24, 2014
I enjoy working here. Would recommend to others. Good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Culture.
Fashion Watches Sales Professional (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 22, 2014
Guess taught me great responsibility, skills, and to believe in your goals. Amazing management team and co-workers. The environment and culture was fun and I truly enjoyed my time at Guess. I learned so much here and it has shaped my future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for
Vince Co-Op Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 20, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: work weekends
The staff becomes your family. They look to make their customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan
Sales Associate (Former Employee), chicagoJune 19, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: management
To many events, rude management, learned never to trust anyone
hardest part of the job incompetent counter manager. Most enjoyable is when it a day off.

1 2 3 4 5

About Bloomingdale's

Popular culture goes on sale every day at Bloomingdale's. A subsidiary of retail giant Macy's, Bloomingdale's boasts more than – Read more