Bloomingdale's Employee Reviews

Found 652 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAFebruary 3, 2016
Fun place to work and great employee discount. Palo Alto location has a brand new building built just a few years ago. People in cosmetics department and all other departments are great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much management change
Fulfillment Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2016
Didn't like how I didn't receive my schedule until the Friday before the work week.
Didn't like how company did not deal with management change very well.
Did have fun with my support department.
Not enough pay increases for any of support department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment is fantastic, and upbeat! I also enjoy working with my coworkers, and the clientele are first rate. It's a happy workplace!
Shoe Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2016
I love my manager! I wish I would see her more often, as I would like advice on how I may be able to progress on a career path as rapidly and efficiently as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
LAYETTE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYJanuary 25, 2016
The head manager would walk around and greet everyone for the day and go over the plan for the day with the sales management. Then I open the registers and and go to a morning rally. Then my day began with dealing with my customers and calling clients for the day and upcoming sales.
Pros
grew a lot of relationships with co-workers and manager
Cons
Some managers aren't well at there jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team oriented and pleasant place to work.
Rug Selling Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chestnut Hill, MAJanuary 25, 2016
I have enjoyed my experience at my job. If you work hard your
effort is greatly appreciated. The management is available if needed
and keeps us informed on current events. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting new people as I perform my duties for the company.
Pros
Family oriented environment
Cons
Sometimes expectations are high for what is expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I mean, it's sales.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 24, 2016
A typical day at work included selling people jewelry and encouraging them to buy it.

I learned customer service skills.

Management was great.

Coworkers were great.

Hardest part of my job was having patience with customers.

The most enjoyable part of my job was learning about jewelry.
Pros
Standard work schedule
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Experience
Sales Professional (Former Employee) –  Willow Grove, PAJanuary 24, 2016
Working at Bloomingdales taught me a lot in the retail industry. The managment was not always available to teach me everything that i needed to know so that i can be a better sales professional for my customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent organizational structure
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 23, 2016
Inconsistent organizational structure due to experimental procedures that primarily end up hurting sales. Managers were treated poorly, working long hours with no over-time pay. Also, some associates were being over scheduled compared to other associates that were being under scheduled and wanted more hours.
Pros
Benefits, compensation pay, discount
Cons
Inconsistent organizational structure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clientele and product to work with.
MEN'S DESIGNER SALES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 11, 2016
I enjoyed working for men's designer at Bloomingdales because the clientele were so amazing. I was able to efficiently create a solid client book in less than 2 months due to the fact that building relationships felt organic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
sales management (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 11, 2016
Warm and engaging company, room for growth and advancement. Over the years has taken to many cost cutting measures that have impacted the customer service, environment and quality of the sellers. The company y must decide who they want to be, create a vision and move swiftly.
Pros
Family oriented
Cons
To focused on productivity and profits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Want to know more about Bloomingdale's?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Ralph Lauren Polo Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 8, 2016
Co-workers I find are very supportive and helpful toward new employees along with the support of friendly management.
Pros
positive workplace environment
Cons
Start as short term hourly pay leading to commission only with a high product return rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very low commitment of the company towards their employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 5, 2016
i was there as part of the seasonal work, and my experience was very bad in terms of managers being committed to seasonal employees, the schedules are very bad and the payment structure very low. would i work there again? probably not.
Pros
employees are very warm and welcoming
Cons
low pay, scheduling is horrible, zero commitment from managers, advancement negative.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bloomingdale's Review
Recovery and Back Up (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WVJanuary 4, 2016
Friendly Staff, Professional Management, and Fast paced work environment. Job was rather simple and straight forward rarely had any challenges. Most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers and the simple tasks.
Pros
30 minutes Breaks and Staff
Cons
Distance and No food courts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice enviroment to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hackensack, NJDecember 29, 2015
Bloomingdale's a mid range high end retail store is a great place to work. Customer relationships are the number one priority for all associates. With the changing times, Bloomingdale's main gold is not to compete with the internet business. They have accepted that foot traffic now has shift to the net and that said they have updated their stores to reflect the changing times. With tablets and other held hand devices customers can now check the net for inventory they don't see in the full line stores. Bloomingdale's have given the internet to it's sales associated as another tool to build their image throughout the industry.
Pros
Tablets and held hand devises for all sales associates
Cons
Limited high end designers fashions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
RALPH LAUREN SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 26, 2015
Working at bloomingdales was the best ,great the most enjoyable part was the discount managment was great and lots of free breakfast
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Promotions.
Marc by Marc Jacobs & Paul Smith Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 20, 2015
Constant clienteling through the many sales and promotions Bloomingdales has to offer. Really busy on the weekend and slow during the weekdays. You work on a Draw V. Commission rate.
Pros
Designer Clinics
Cons
Commission
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Women's Shoe Expert (Current Employee) –  Short Hills, NJDecember 18, 2015
a typical day at bloomingdales is usually 8 hours
*Full time
*hard work
*number one department in store
*my co workers are great
*holiday pay is nice
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Fulfillment team member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 16, 2015
Handling intakes and outtakes of packages with team members, dealing with professional Management team at a business who cares for workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 15, 2015
I learned how to sell shoes at a very competitive level. I also learned how speak with customers in a professional manner thus
improving my sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
SLG Specialist/ Handbag Stock Team Leader (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2015
Really gives you a home feel. I enjoy working with them and the benefits they give are amazing as well.They make sure they accommodate to your every needs
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 660 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture