Find companies:
Bloomingdale's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
514 reviews

Bloomingdale's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement, low wages and bad management
Visual merchandiser (Former Employee), Los AngelesMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Discount, flexible hours most of the time
Cons: Low pay, bad management, no creativity and no opportunity for growth
more of a recovery and logistical job than merchandising.
Low wages, no advancement and bad management that does not take responsibility and makes no effort to create a happy working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers were amazing
Y.E.S WOMEN'S SALES (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 24, 2015
I always exceeded my numbers and goals. But I was the only male in my department, management didn't care that my co-workers would steal sales from me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the most part it was very educational in field. I learned a lot.
Sales Professional (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMarch 24, 2015
Pros: Ability to control your own schedule, Worked very well with most asscociates. Great relations with HR .
Cons: Associates were not held accountable, immediate manager was never available
I learned a lot of product knowledge while at Bloomingdales. Managers were not available for extreme issues. Associates were not held accountable. Very different from previous work environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Burberry Merchandiser/ Stock Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 23, 2015
Pros: events with free food for employees
I loved working here. Great management team. They value their employees. When i walked in the building it felt like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Build Relationships, Fashion Forward
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJMarch 16, 2015
Pros: building relationships with your regular clients
Cons: daily calls to all your clients for every weekly event
Build relationships with clients, co-workers, vendors and meeting fashion Designers.

Fashion Shows and special events every season

Expectations: Open C/C, Build Clientel Book and reach daily goals for every sale events

Accountability: High

1. Remerchandising every department daily, with new/old and clearance product.
2. Maintaining organized Backroom (backstock) by designer and size
3. Monthly meetings with sales associates: product knowledge, customer neccessities, individual sales goals, company directives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Beauty Advisor Specialist (Current Employee), Santa Monica, CAMarch 16, 2015
Great career starter in Sales and esthetics. It really depends on the management to have a strong team. The store manager is the real glue to a successful retail store. When there's no support associates look else where for better opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Internship (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 16, 2015
I work and go to school, so I am grateful they can work with my schedule. I feel like my co workers are great and so is management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you like to work with people.
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee), White Plains, NYMarch 16, 2015
Exciting and invigorating to deal with new issues and projects each day.

Great to work in conjunction with other associates on a daily basis.

Being in Human Resources and being able to help other associates was always very rewarding and satisfying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent platform
BUSINESS MANAGER (Former Employee), Aventura,FlMarch 10, 2015
Pros: management
Cons: no cons
Perfect environment to start up your career,learn all about retail,customers, market,management.
If you give 110% you are sure to grow and succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work and great managment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 9, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: great company to work for
the coits temp position , like i said it was great to work with and looking forward to work with them againmpany is great would love to go back and work with them also
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Competitive Place to work in
Sales Commission Expert (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 9, 2015
Pros: customer satisfaction
Cons: n/a
A typical Day at work starts with coming in ready to sale. Knowing all the merchandise on the floor and any promotions going on. Contacting customers, making appointments is a big part of the job because its strictly Commission base. You only make what you sale. My management and co-workers are great team players and support each other completely. The most enjoyable part of the day is making the customers have the best experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Sales Professional (Former Employee), Aventura Mall, MiamiMarch 9, 2015
Nice work atmosphere
Excellent and friendly co-workers
The most enjoyable part of the job was during fashion events
The hardest part of the job was the schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bloomingdales
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New York NYMarch 7, 2015
Pros: stable job
Cons: short breaks
Hard work, they only care about making money never about employees. The job requires you to be standing all day especially during holidays. We have to stand in a line along the passages whenever the CEO walks into the store which is dumb. CEO is treated as if he is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my peers and coworkers. Senior Management needs to spend more time on the floor supporting Sales Managers and associates
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Chestnut Hill, MAMarch 5, 2015
Pros: good vacation time
Cons: not much support
I enjoyed my job and my co workers
I learned all aspects of the business and had some great partnerships with my peers.
was able to train mangy associates which I enjoyed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviroment
Sales Professional Salon Shoes (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMarch 4, 2015
it's a good company to work for, good working environment and nice coworkers. The only complaint is hard to find manager when you need to talk to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
after our bar at work
Sales Associate, Shop Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 4, 2015
My typical work day could be buzy at times and or slow at another ,I learn how to mutitask on those buzy days and how to clientele on the really slow days .I love the management style it keep everyone on there pees and q and allow us to have a productive day,the hardest part of the job is unable to sell to someone even when you go above and beyond. The most important of my day is able to interact with different people and getting to know them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enhanced Product Knowledge
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Aventura, FLMarch 2, 2015
Pros: great employee discounts and good work culture
Cons: too much emphasis on opening client accounts
Great employment opportunity for growth and advancement.
Positive working environment and good balance of career and personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic workplace to be in.
Stock/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 2, 2015
Working in a stable environment with lots of people. Co-workers treat me very respectfully.Hardest thing to do about bloomingdales is to keep up with cleaning up and organizing sales floor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work on commission here at this time...
Commission Sales (Current Employee), Chestnut HillMarch 2, 2015
Pros: lots of vacation time.
Cons: managers have their favorites.
The company is down and going through a major transition. Salaried jobs are being cut as the company is working with a skeleton crew and flooding the floor with commission sales associates in the departments that are not making there numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ted Baker
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Newport Beach, CAFebruary 28, 2015
Manager was incompetent and was the only downside to the job. The communication between leased departments and Bloomingdales employees is non existent. Had to do the managers job for him.

1 2 3 4 5

About Bloomingdale's

Popular culture goes on sale every day at Bloomingdale's. A subsidiary of retail giant Macy's, Bloomingdale's boasts more than – Read more

Bloomingdale's Salaries

Sales Associate
$12.00 per hour
$30,000 per year
Sales Manager
$70,000 per year
Sales Professional
$12.00 per hour
Merchandiser
$12.00 per hour