Bloomington Public Schools Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easygoing place to work
HVAC/R Technician (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNApril 7, 2017
Everything was good about this job except the pay. But if you take the amount of work expected the pay was ok. Supervisors were all good. Time off was good. Benefits were real good.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNNovember 12, 2016
Great place to work. Great and hardworking staff. Typical day at work is teach and aid students in understanding subject matter as well as provide skills required for programmed lessons and purposeful training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging, and rewarding career,
Music Teacher (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNMay 25, 2016
I have been teaching music for 23 years and have enjoyed great success. In 2011 I was voted Bloomington Teacher of the Year by parents, peers and administration. I enjoy my job as Music Teacher very much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviornment that allows opportunity to impact childrens lives.
Para (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNJune 23, 2014
Working for the Bloomington public schools gave me the ability to improve my understanding of adolescent behavior as well as adult behavior. A typical day would allow me to help student to understand and or work through a particular issue with school work, their home life or many other different personal issues that may be encountering that day. If I didn't have the answer of the resources to help the individual then I could always refer the student to and adult in the appropriate department in the building for their issue. One of the most difficult things in working with children is taking on lots of children with issues and trying to fix them all on your own. While on the other hand when you help a young individual get past an issue that is very traumatic in ther life it is one of the best feelings one could have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with great people!
Front Desk Attendant/Weight Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNMay 4, 2014
Jefferson High School is probably one of my favorite places that I've ever been employed at! I've learned how to make a relationship with customers. A typical day at work involves checking-in members, cleaning duties, watching sports and monitor weight room.
Pros
Dollar Raises Yearly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging environment geared towards helping children.
Kindergarten and 1st Grade Teacher (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNOctober 30, 2013
Working in an Elementary setting provides a unique daily schedule. No two days are the same. I enjoy working with children and having an impact on their future. They are excited to learn and so curious about the world around them. It is rewarding to provide a positive role-model for them to look up to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job with amazing students and staff
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNAugust 14, 2013
I worked a temporary position at Oak Grove Middle School in Bloomington, MN. I worked in a classroom with Developmental and Cognitive delays. It was an incredibly fun atmosphere and a great learning environment for the middle school students in the classroom.
The co-workers I was privileged to work with were incredible and very welcoming when I joined their class. I made quick friendships with the students and was able to relate very well. I also learned about their different situations and ways that I could best help them learn and succeed at school. It was a wonderful learning experience and I made some relationships that will not be forgotten quickly.
Pros
Fun environment, Great students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tech
Internship-Help Desk Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNFebruary 16, 2013
• Performed diagnostics and troubleshooting of system issues utilizing the ticketing process.
• Maintained equipment inventory, including ordering/sending parts.
• Perform hardware repair and maintenance.
• Reimage computers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District is experiencing more diversity lately and needs to provide more programs
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNNovember 11, 2012
A good district to work at with a big difference between East and West. East Bloomington schools' test scores are significantly lower than West Bloomington schools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNJuly 6, 2012
Working here was charming because I was working at a fast pace which is something i like to do.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good district
School Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILMarch 26, 2012
I enjoyed my tenure at Bloomington District 87. I had opportunity to work on a variety of teams within th district as well as assisted in developing some programs.
Pros
good diverse district
Cons
not a lot of room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more Bloomington Public Schools reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bloomington Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Bloomington Public Schools Reviews by Location