BLUE BIRD Employee Reviews in United States

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue Bird
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 2, 2016
My main objective was using heavy machinery to place the front axle on the front end of school buses. furthermore, as I placed the front axle on i used power tools to place the the axle in position.
Pros
The pay was excellent
Cons
work condition and very little benefits starting off
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady work enviorment
Strapper/ Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Peshastin, WAApril 4, 2016
I learned how to drive a forklift and operate machinery. Meat some really good people and established a history of work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high production and great worker
Chassis Assembler (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GASeptember 11, 2015
Its a fast paste job with great co workers. Amazing cell leaders and a very understanding H.R.. Its a great learning and skill job inside the company and a lifestyle.
Pros
helping kids and military brands travel safe;investments and a great retirement plan
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
ASSEMBLY LINE (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 29, 2015
Blue bird is a great learning experience you have to be a hard worker in order to survive at blue bird. I would not want to retire from blue bird, but is has been a great job when it comes to providing for my family.
Pros
WEEKENDS OFF
Cons
TO HOT IN SUMMERTIME
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus Manfacturing
School Bus Manufacturer (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAApril 15, 2015
The absolute fastest work pace I've ever encountered. A production line the manufactures 40 buses per day. Eight minutes per job responsibility. Hardest part of this job was to stay ahead of the assembly line. Overcoming some of the mechanical dysfunctions that may occur on a work day. Most enjoyable part of this job were the management and co-workers.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Often Temporary Layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun day
Painter (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAAugust 27, 2015
wonderful job great experience good coworkers great hours good benefits good pay only think i hate was the heat but other than that its a great job
Pros
pay rate
Cons
heat
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  GAMay 21, 2015
The job was very easy I enjoyed working there the only thing is that you must definitely stay hydrated. I think the job could have been a lot better if it was cooler. Overall the job is a great place to work though.
Pros
co workers
Cons
the facility gets extremely hot
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work experience
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 20, 2015
Operated equipment for assembling axles for school buses.
- Followed production instructions of supervisor to ensure quality.
- Cleaned and maintained equipment and work area.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work around good co-worker
Asembler Line Tech (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 16, 2015
The most enjoyable part of this job is we work as a team everyone help each other to complete our section of the buses before they our area an made production as neede
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benifits
Painter (Current Employee) –  Fort ValleyJuly 14, 2015
I learned more about my trade from bluebird the managers are nice and fun to work around. Only thing that I hate is the heat but u get use to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAMay 22, 2013
This was a true experience because I installed A/C condensening units on top of the buses and made sure that they worked properly. Then came inside of the bus and made sure that the heater was working properly. This was new to me but the same concept when trouble shooting for problems. It was truly a joy and great experience.
Pros
lots of o/t and great positive motivating people to work with.
Cons
it was seasonal. after two seasons i decided to get a full time position.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We made a difference and the team was great
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  LaFayette, GAJuly 17, 2013
We worked hard getting ready for the day, the summers were hot and the winters were cold in there but we all were close helping each other.
Learned how to prep, paint and many things in maintance and the office area
managment team was you taught them and they taught you
hardest part was getting to the end of day
hanging with your friends
Pros
good pay
Cons
short breaks and the heat
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/Long Hours
BLUEBIRD (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 28, 2013
*You better know somebody that know somebody
*Policy could be better
*When its hot its hot, when its cold its cold
*Consider better management training
*Offer better benefits to everyone
*Add retirement to the policy
*Great pay if hired permanent - no long term benefits
Pros
pay every week
Cons
poor floor management in certain areas, policy, treat employees better
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Assembler 1 (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 6, 2015
Got to be ready to work non stop.
How to use different tools using airline
Learn how to bolt
Some co-workers are hard to work wit
Too hot in summer
Too cold in winter
Pros
pay rate
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Production Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 9, 2015
A typical day at work start out with a daily pray and production schelude everone must maintain great production with min. defaults.
Pros
holidays
Cons
temp
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was good but they dont stick to the rules they set
Production (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAMay 13, 2014
the job is easy but things are not what they seem out there. it is hot and the bosses tell you one thing and turns out they are not all what they say they are
Pros
getting paid every week. breaks came fast
Cons
turn over rate is high
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work and very knowledgable supervision. lots of lay offs though
Fabrication (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GASeptember 29, 2014
I greatly enjoyed my time with this company. I was succesfully able to learn many new skills. as well as perfect current skills i already had.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Electrical Assembler / Chassis Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAAugust 23, 2014
Bluebird is a very good company to work for in regards to compensation and employee relations.
Pros
compensation
Cons
work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very pro active nice people very very nice bosses `
line worker/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  LaFayette, GAMarch 9, 2013
good work place great pay great benefits great hours and fun people very good location
Pros
great pay great place to work
Cons
closed plant
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice group of people to work with. Very hard & strenuous job.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAMay 22, 2012
Management cares about the workers
Hardest part of the job is getting used to doing the same thing every day
Pros
makes good money
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture