BLUE BIRD Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribly unfair place to work. Didnt care to take care of workplace problems would rather just ignore the problem and finish the work day
Stamper (Former Employee) –  Wenatchee, WAMay 4, 2017
I was constantly harassed at the work place and when I went to report it the problem was swept under the rug in hopes it wouldn't occur again. The HR department holds grudges and does not treat people fairly. Nepotism is alive and well in the business. Department heads are comprised of an entire family off setting balance in the work place.
Cons
Everything, worst place ive ever worked
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue bird
Ruby on Rails Developer (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GANovember 21, 2016
blue bird is a very good job and they have great benefits I have been at blue birds almost six months and I have had severals bonuses and a raise in these past six months
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you're salaried
Intern (Current Employee) –  Ft. Valley, GAOctober 12, 2016
Great place but I just had a hard time transitioning from intern to salaried employee. I gained a lot of experience and appreciate every co worker for their role in my self development
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
product worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GASeptember 17, 2016
Check sorted items against customer packing list to insure order accuracy.
Attach correct shipping labels to cartons and seal with tape as necessary.
Move product with manual pallet jack.Assist warehouse personnel i
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lucrative and demanding
Chassis Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAAugust 31, 2016
I loved working for this company. I really miss the team and family type environment.
The roughest part of the job was the heat. I learned from this company the importance of getting an education to move forward in life.
Pros
Team, pay
Cons
hot during summer
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 5, 2016
This job requires you to be and good physical shape. It gets pretty hot but overall a good place to work at. I have not really been there long enough to speak on anything else.
Pros
Fellow employees
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady work enviorment
Strapper/ Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Peshastin, WAApril 4, 2016
I learned how to drive a forklift and operate machinery. Meat some really good people and established a history of work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue Bird
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 2, 2016
My main objective was using heavy machinery to place the front axle on the front end of school buses. furthermore, as I placed the front axle on i used power tools to place the the axle in position.
Pros
The pay was excellent
Cons
work condition and very little benefits starting off
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high production and great worker
Chassis Assembler (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GASeptember 11, 2015
Its a fast paste job with great co workers. Amazing cell leaders and a very understanding H.R.. Its a great learning and skill job inside the company and a lifestyle.
Pros
helping kids and military brands travel safe;investments and a great retirement plan
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun day
Painter (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAAugust 27, 2015
wonderful job great experience good coworkers great hours good benefits good pay only think i hate was the heat but other than that its a great job
Pros
pay rate
Cons
heat
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benifits
Painter (Current Employee) –  Fort ValleyJuly 14, 2015
I learned more about my trade from bluebird the managers are nice and fun to work around. Only thing that I hate is the heat but u get use to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
ASSEMBLY LINE (Current Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 29, 2015
Blue bird is a great learning experience you have to be a hard worker in order to survive at blue bird. I would not want to retire from blue bird, but is has been a great job when it comes to providing for my family.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
To hot in summertime
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work experience
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 20, 2015
Operated equipment for assembling axles for school buses.
- Followed production instructions of supervisor to ensure quality.
- Cleaned and maintained equipment and work area.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work around good co-worker
Asembler Line Tech (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAJune 16, 2015
The most enjoyable part of this job is we work as a team everyone help each other to complete our section of the buses before they our area an made production as neede
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  GAMay 21, 2015
The job was very easy I enjoyed working there the only thing is that you must definitely stay hydrated. I think the job could have been a lot better if it was cooler. Overall the job is a great place to work though.
Pros
co workers
Cons
the facility gets extremely hot
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus Manfacturing
School Bus Manufacturer (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAApril 15, 2015
The absolute fastest work pace I've ever encountered. A production line the manufactures 40 buses per day. Eight minutes per job responsibility. Hardest part of this job was to stay ahead of the assembly line. Overcoming some of the mechanical dysfunctions that may occur on a work day. Most enjoyable part of this job were the management and co-workers.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Often Temporary Layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Production Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 9, 2015
A typical day at work start out with a daily pray and production schelude everone must maintain great production with min. defaults.
Pros
holidays
Cons
temp
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Assembler 1 (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 6, 2015
Got to be ready to work non stop.
How to use different tools using airline
Learn how to bolt
Some co-workers are hard to work wit
Too hot in summer
Too cold in winter
Pros
Pay rate
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work and very knowledgable supervision. lots of lay offs though
Fabrication (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GASeptember 29, 2014
I greatly enjoyed my time with this company. I was succesfully able to learn many new skills. as well as perfect current skills i already had.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Warehouse-puller (Former Employee) –  Fort ValleySeptember 21, 2014
Worked hand on. Loved it. Got alone with all co-worker. Came in on off days, stay on call, always on time.
Pros
overtime
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BLUE BIRD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.6