Blue Buffalo Employee Reviews

Found 82 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy my work but there is not enough help leaving me to work 7 days a week.
Production Scheduling Manager (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOFebruary 3, 2015
I start my day by updating production reports for the previous 24 hours of production and send them out to management. I conduct an 8am production meeting to review the production status and go over any concerns with the schedule. I work closely with purchasing and the production clerk to make sure we have all the required components for upcoming production. I get along with and work very well with my co-workers. The hardest part of my job is that I end up working 7 days a week. The most enjoyable part of my job is learn more about SAP and using the MRP system to better plan and schedule production.
Pros
Good Pay and Benefits
Cons
No Work Life balance. Working 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the best leadership/management I have encountered.
Part Time Product Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wilton, CTJanuary 23, 2015
This company is passionate not only about their pet parents/customers, but truly take pride in their employees. I only work their part time, and the way they treat their employees is impressive.
A typical day at work is the manager will coach employee on ways to develop their communication skills if needed and is always available if needed. We work independently and most communication is via email and Internet, so we are trusted employees who work alone in a retail store. The hardest part of the job for me is not having an opening to come on board full time. The most enjoyable part of the job are the pet parents and their pets. I absolutely love animals and love the products we demo.
Pros
Employee treatment, benefits, and the people we serve
Cons
No full time opportunity for Product Specialists
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy being able to educate Pet Parents about my products.
Part time Pet Detective (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 31, 2014
I visit various stores in my area to promote Blue Buffalo products/ I discuss with the pet parent the benefits of feeding their fur babies Blue Buffalo Dog or Cat Food.
I also promote Blue Buffalo cat litter which is made from a natural product.
I face shelves and make sure that the product is in line with the proper SKU #. I also help the stores with keeping the products rotated to avoid out dated products.
Pros
Fun job!
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First time being a Sales Rep/ Vender for this company. I grew close with customers returning to each three store locations in Brandon, FL.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLDecember 5, 2014
A typical day at work: I show up 30 minutes early to greet customers; even though I didn't have to. Then once I logged into work after, I began to organize the shelves that has dog/cat food, treats and litter.

I've learned and study each product. I did not just bragged or lied about this product. I took the time to see if Blue Buffalo was the number one out of different other products. I grew close to customers and started having them return.

My hiring manager was horrible about communication and explaining about how we promote/sell our products. Eventually I contact someone higher than his title. I was very professional with the VP. My next manager was fantastic! He gave me examples and how to sell our merchandizes on a whole other level !

Hardest part of the job was to know and memorize why the product was number one in the dog/cat food area in the U.S.

Part of my job that enjoyably was adding to my resume for my Major ( Vet Technician ). However, I am changing my Major to Masters in computer science. I'm very intelligent at electronics and computers.
Pros
Best job yet! Close with regular cutomers
Cons
No cupons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management out of touch with the employees
Pet Detective (Former Employee) –  AtlantaNovember 19, 2014
I worked for Blue for and I truly enjoyed interacting with pet parents. However, my regional manager was horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity's
Pet Detective (Current Employee) –  Glen Cove, NYNovember 18, 2014
learn different things about animals, get to meet very nice people who care a value pets just as much as me. and this company treats their employees very above average
Pros
the pay, presentations, the pets!, great staff meetings
Cons
standing, no real contact, everything's online
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Great Product
Product Sales Specialist (Pet Detective) (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek MINovember 5, 2014
You are provided with a great amount of training resources both in person and online. The management has a friendly and communicative approach. The ability to set your own schedule is absolutely amazing. A great opportunity for pet lovers to share a great product with consumers.
Pros
Set your own schedule
Cons
Unclear about advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting chance to interact with people
Pet Detective (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAOctober 29, 2014
Its a great job! I only wish I could get paid more and get more hours!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoting dog and cat food while answering questions
Service Representative (Current Employee) –  variedOctober 6, 2014
The involves standing in different stores and trying to promote Blue Buffalo food, litter, and treats. I talk to the pet parents and recommend a product that I think will work best for them. I also answer questions about different merchandise in the store. I've learned different techniques for approaching different people and I've learned when to back away. The hardest part job is when the store is slow and there's no one to talk you. But the most enjoyable is when I'm able to help a pet parent find the perfect food to help their pet.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Detective
Manufacturer's Representative (Current Employee) –  Wantagh, NYSeptember 15, 2014
excellent part-time job for pet lovers. Flexible scheduling. Great products.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inpirational
PRODUCT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, GaSeptember 15, 2014
Very fun job. I get to talk to people about their pets, and offer products to help their pets. The hardest part of the job is remembering all the products. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to talk with people about their pets, and getting to hear their stories.
Pros
very flexable
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 18, 2014
Very fast paced and alot to leatrn but very fun to work with the variety of peopl and the skills i got to deal with people was awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deceptive smoke and mirrors
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZAugust 18, 2014
Working for the corporate office was like military boot camp. I was constantly harassed, and screamed at in this position by a senior level analyst. When brought up the issue to HR I was let go. They expect you to sit in your cube all day and not talk or contribute ideas. Because I was a younger girl I was constantly looked down upon and put in uncomfortable situations, management is never around to prevent things from happening. I would not recommend this company for anyone young who is trying to grow their career
Pros
Bring your dog to work when management is gone.
Cons
no management
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family company.
"Pet detective" Product representative (Current Employee) –  Whittier, CAAugust 11, 2014
Not only am I passionate about their pet food, the company is awesome as well. Great pet parent perks, and nice people.
Pros
meeting other pet parents
Cons
only a part time job
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great perks
Pet Nutrition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles CountyJuly 24, 2014
The job is great. Get to go to pet stores and interact with pets and pet parents. The hours are flexible as well. The only down fall is it is only part time.
Pros
Free pet food and other perks
Cons
Only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional from the first phone interview
pet detective (Former Employee) –  ashland kyJuly 9, 2014
This company workers are pathetic and unprofessional, i submitted a resume for a job open in my area on a SUNDAY, that SAME day received a call (THEY SEEM PRETTY DESPERATE) a lady tells me she is sending out and email that I must respond to to confirm a phone interview the following day, and if i did not respond and confirm the email she told me i would not receive a call. When i asked her what email address it was sent to she could not even tell me. SO after seeing how they call me back within 20 minutes of submitting a resume online on a sunday and how the lady could not even inform me of what email it was sent to, I decided not to confirm the phone interview for the next day. WELL when the next day comes, sure enough i received AN UNWANTED UN-COnfirmed call which i was told i would only receive once i responded to the conformation email. SO i decided not to answer the call hoping that this would be the end of the story, WRONG, the following day, DAY 3, i received yet ANOTHER CALL although i did not confirm ANYTHING. SO i decided to PRESS THE IGNORE BUTTON on this one, LITERALLY 3 mins later i received and email from the same person claim that and i quote

"Dear JON,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to consider you for employment. We have reviewed your background and qualifications and find that we do not have an appropriate position for you at this time. We appreciate your interest in Blue Buffalo Co. Sales & Demo and wish you success in your job search.

Sincerely,

The Blue Buffalo Recruiting Team"

I received it due to ignoring ones call in which
  more... i never confirmed.

THIS COMPANY AND ITS EMPLOYEES ARE PATHETIC AND UNPROFESSIONAL
  less
Pros
none
Cons
ALL
Was this review helpful?Yes7No26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FABULOUS place to work/GREAT people
Senior Regulatory/Compliance Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Wilton, CTJuly 8, 2014
Best place to work and you can bring your dog to work!!!
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loud with lots of things going on
ANIMAL NUTRITION SPECALIST (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 5, 2014
worked 10 hour shifts of constant lifting pulling and pushing. learned about shipping and receiving, managers were awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Dectective
Product Specialist/Pet Detective (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 22, 2014
The Job is an OK job if you have nothing to do, however DO NOT look into advancing with this position. They have strict guidelines on how they want you to sell the food by calling it, "Honor the Bond". I only do this when the Manager comes around to give you an evaluation, as it JUST does not work... I made the Blue Elite Award without the Honor the Bond technique. That is, talking to your customers like a NORMAL person and not like some Robot.

This position with Blue is a "Dead End" job. It will not go anywhere. How do I know this... Last year, they had a Territorial Demo Managers' position open, and I applied. ONLY to find out from my NEW Demo Manager telling me how he was hired without applying. Of course, he didn't know I had applied for the position... The position was listed on Monster.

The hours are undependable, and DO NOT get use to the same amount of hours each week. They will take them away from you without notice. The Max hours you can achieve with this Company is 20 hours.

The Positive side of Blue is, they do give you $40 each month towards any of their products. They now have a 401K and they help pay for Pet Insurance. I stay with them, even as I write this ONLY for the benefits, as I do not see any Future with this Company, and the turnover is high. It is great for those who wants some extra funds. Also, you must work at least one shift on a weekend....
Pros
Pay for your dog/cat food each month
Cons
The hours are undependable. They can add or take away hours on a moments notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Pet detective
Pet detective (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMay 15, 2014
The job was ok. Management was down right awful. I started with the company in 2007. My issue was with my lying manager. Here is the deal. I started out with Blue when Blue was the new kid on the block in dog and cat food. I had a number of ideas on how to improve blues website to be user friendly. I gave my suggestion and ideas to my manger. She in turned took my ideas for her own. The website layout was my idea and the training videos was my idea also. So when I saw the website and training Video I blew a gasket. I asked the manager did she receive credit for my ideas. That fool told me yes she did receive recognition for my ideas. Then this fool asked me did I have any more ideas and for sure I would receive credit for anything I submitted from this point onward. She told me this during one of those boring training session when I saw make ideas in full bloom. After the training session I walked out and never looked back. I mailed my blue stuff to my manger's house and wrote on the Box I quite. Contacting Blue to voice my concern was pointless there was no number to call and I guess this is the reason so many people come to this site to voice their concerns about working for Blue.

Anyhoo the food is not that great and Purina is suing Blue and Blue Buffalo filed a countersuit against Purina today 5/2014. Purina claims Blue is a lying dog about the ingredients in the cat and dog food, particular the life source bits. Purina's claim is that Blue life source bits has awful by-products.

As for being a Pet detective the job is a dead end job. So if you have nothing
  more... better to do on the weekends as if you didn't have a life then you should work for Blue until the job gets old and the management at Blue Buffalo gets on your last bloody nerve and you end up quitting your job. So, if you decide to work for Blue you will be back posting on this website how much you loath working for Blue Buffalo.  less
Pros
Money incentives
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Buffalo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 88 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5