Blue Buffalo Employee Reviews in United States

Found 73 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preious employee
Pet Detective (Former Employee) –  monroeSeptember 3, 2013
I have worked as an in store rep for 7 months. I loved the job until my hours were cut. Until today when i received an email stating my employment was terminated. No reason was given and had to come on a work site to see my job was posted to be filled yesterday.
Pros
work with pets
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes20No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take the job only if you are desperate
Flunky (Former Employee) –  Palm Coast, FLMarch 4, 2013
Pompous area supervisor played the waiting game and took his royal time to make a decision. Met for interview and then for in-store training. Was handed a pile of papers and then started the next day. It wasn't until I had completed one day and was getting ready to go to work the next day that I saw the unrealistic sales goals that he didn't even have the guts to discuss!
In a small store, 4 sales an hour is ridiculous!
I like pets and like speaking with people, but in a small store with the store manager intercepting the majority of the clientele and selling his "favorites" or people knowing exactly what they want and not wanting to have their time wasted, it is impossible to do what this co. requests.
Also, they deny any claims of contaminated food, although there have been news reports of said contamination!
In order to have a clear conscience, decided couldn't do what they asked.
Pros
none except perhaps receiving free dog food and coupons
Cons
everything else!
Was this review helpful?Yes23No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making pets helthier
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 30, 2013
You have to be able to work independently and without supervision. Work inside Petsmart or Petco. Enjoy the different pets that come in; get to talk about pets and nutrition.
Pros
pets, nice atmospher in the stores, weekend job
Cons
when the store is not busy
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, just not what I was led to expect.
Pet Nutritional Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MIJuly 19, 2013
Part time work that was made available Friday-Sunday. Did retail sales in pet supply stores (Petsmart, Pet Supplies Plus, etc.) and informed customers of Blue Buffalo products and benefits.
I learned that nutrition varies widely in the different pet food brands and how brands can manipulate ingredients by renaming them.
I personally, got along with my district manager while most had a hard time dealing with her. She comes off very blunt and pushy to store managers and customers. This is a reason why I decided to leave the company.
The hardest part of the job was the fact that not all stores have the same amount of foot traffic, so it's hard to stay busy over a period of time.
However, the most enjoyable part of the job was helping people to realize what they were feeding to their pets. As well as informing them to do their own research on the web and through other resources that can be easily obtained.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
no benefits and management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great perks
Pet Nutrition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles CountyJuly 24, 2014
The job is great. Get to go to pet stores and interact with pets and pet parents. The hours are flexible as well. The only down fall is it is only part time.
Pros
free pet food and other perks
Cons
only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult contacting managment
Pet food representative (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMarch 9, 2012
decent hourly pay, and very difficult contacting management in a different state, not enough hours
Pros
independance, interacting with the general public
Cons
difficulty contacting management, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue buffalo
Pet detective (Former Employee) –  GlenmontJuly 30, 2013
You try to do the best at the store but i guess its not enough the store manager is nice its the blue buffalo manager sucks the job is easy talking to people is nice i love it i hate the blues manager
Pros
dislike job
Cons
jobs sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes16No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family company.
"Pet detective" Product representative (Current Employee) –  Whittier, CAAugust 11, 2014
Not only am I passionate about their pet food, the company is awesome as well. Great pet parent perks, and nice people.
Pros
meeting other pet parents
Cons
only a part time job
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Pet Detective (Former Employee) –  Springfield,July 7, 2013
This was a awesome job if you like pets, I talked to all sorts of people and seen all types of pets. The hardest part about this job is that you need needed to sell your brand of food to pet parents
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice pt job
PT Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJuly 25, 2012
Nice pay and benefits for PT job, Get to meet pet parents and large variety of cats and dogs through job. Stand for 4 hour shifts but keep busy through conversations with pet parents.
Pros
flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and relaxed atmosphere
Customer Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZNovember 4, 2012
Growing company with excellent benefits. Dealing with Pet Parents provides for an entertaining and interesting environment.
Pros
flexiblity and benefits
Cons
angry customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 28, 2013
You make your own schedule, some travel. Compensation was okay, did not like the fact you had to fax a log to show your hours and have someone sign off on it at the location you were working at.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management out of touch with the employees
Pet Detective (Former Employee) –  AtlantaNovember 19, 2014
I worked for Blue for and I truly enjoyed interacting with pet parents. However, my regional manager was horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 18, 2014
Very fast paced and alot to leatrn but very fun to work with the variety of peopl and the skills i got to deal with people was awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loud with lots of things going on
ANIMAL NUTRITION SPECALIST (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 5, 2014
worked 10 hour shifts of constant lifting pulling and pushing. learned about shipping and receiving, managers were awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal Company, Great Job, Wonderful Boss
Product Specialist/Pet Detective (Current Employee) –  Muncie, INNovember 14, 2013
I love my job and have been doing it since Feb. 2013 and hopefully for a while longer. I currently work usually 16 (sometimes 20) hours a week at several locations. The pet parents couldn't be friendlier, the store employees and managers couldn't be more helpful and my boss/Regional Demonstrations Manager is always available for any questions, concerns or training I have or may need.
I can help choose my hours or any time off when it is needed, the pay is great versus other part-time jobs and it is really fun getting to work alongside pets. I also learned everything really quickly from my training sessions, quarterly meetings and manual. I do not come from a sales background, but I am a sociable person. If you get along with people, and especially pets, this is a great job.
I am really proud to work for a company that is making a difference in the lives of so many pets and pet parents. When I am a stepping stone in in that process, it always puts a smile on my face at the end of the day.
Pros
working with pets, meeting amazing people, the hours, the pay, my boss
Cons
working by yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes32No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting chance to interact with people
Pet Detective (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAOctober 29, 2014
Its a great job! I only wish I could get paid more and get more hours!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pet Detective
Manufacturer's Representative (Current Employee) –  Wantagh, NYSeptember 15, 2014
excellent part-time job for pet lovers. Flexible scheduling. Great products.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First time being a Sales Rep/ Vender for this company. I grew close with customers returning to each three store locations in Brandon, FL.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLDecember 5, 2014
A typical day at work: I show up 30 minutes early to greet customers; even though I didn't have to. Then once I logged into work after, I began to organize the shelves that has dog/cat food, treats and litter.

I've learned and study each product. I did not just bragged or lied about this product. I took the time to see if Blue Buffalo was the number one out of different other products. I grew close to customers and started having them return.

My hiring manager was horrible about communication and explaining about how we promote/sell our products. Eventually I contact someone higher than his title. I was very professional with the VP. My next manager was fantastic! He gave me examples and how to sell our merchandizes on a whole other level !

Hardest part of the job was to know and memorize why the product was number one in the dog/cat food area in the U.S.

Part of my job that enjoyably was adding to my resume for my Major ( Vet Technician ). However, I am changing my Major to Masters in computer science. I'm very intelligent at electronics and computers.
Pros
best job yet! close with regular cutomers
Cons
no cupons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FABULOUS place to work/GREAT people
Senior Regulatory/Compliance Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Wilton, CTJuly 8, 2014
Best place to work and you can bring your dog to work!!!
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 79 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5