Find companies:
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of perks with a wellness focus
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 14, 2013
Pros: benefits, nice building, wellness program
Cons: mid-level managers are substandard
I worked there for over 5 years. I learned my job and did it well and was happy for years feeling appreciated and valued. But something has changed.. It seems like management started to micro manage in order to decide who can stay and who should go. I think BC is preparing for the major HCR changes coming. I'm glad I got out when I did. Some of their – more... managers do not deserve to be in leadership roles. Also very frustrating trying to advance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative work environment
ACTIVITY BASED MANAGEMENT ANALYST (Current Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 5, 2013
Pros: great lunchroom, gym and a beautiful campus
Overall this is a supportive decent place to work. Many opportunities are presented to employees for development, voluteerism, health and wellness. The structure is Agile and condusive to constructive work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, questionable executive leadership
Manager Business Portfolio (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 22, 2013
Benefits are good. Leadership is questionable, with many executives there for several years, without new blood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is similar to Alcatraz.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 24, 2013
Pros: benefits and pay
They provide great benefits and pay. They have a good culture and are well known throughout the community and Nebraska.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend applying for a Customer Service Position
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 16, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lack of opportunities for advancement/micromanaged
Blue Cross Blue Shield NE as an organization is fairly good and provides excellent benefits. However, their Customer Service Department is lacking in professionalism, specifically it's management team. They inappropriately gossip about their staff and text on their cellphone. They do not praise employees for a job well done and only focus on negatives. – more... The majority of the managers in charge have not updated their technical or customer services skills in years. It's very difficult to get promoted out of customer service due to the good ole boy system they use in customer service which is "It's not WHAT you know it's WHO you know." The management team keeps employees in the dark about where they stand, so at any give time you can be fired or disciplined without having a full and complete understanding of the ever changing policies. Overall, it's a very depressing department to work in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learning experience
ETL Developer (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 3, 2013
This was my first job in Healthcare. Got to learn how the healthcare industry works. Good team always yields good results, had a very good team and it was both learning and enjoyable experience working with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work. Great Benefits.
Appeals/Reconsideration Specialist (Former Employee), Blue ross Blue Shield of NebraskaMarch 20, 2013
Pros: working with good people.
Cons: bad management.
I responded to written inquiries, made phone calls, answered my team member questions concerning the job. I learned most aspect concerning health insurance and customer service. My co-workers became my family.The hardest part of my job was inadequate training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Subrogation/Legal Clerk (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 24, 2012
I started off a temp and was hired on permanent. This job offered a lot and the experience was great! You got paid salary and was paid the 15th and last day of the month so you always knew how much your check will be and when you would get it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Quality Coordinator (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 10, 2012
Pros: great gym
Cons: job security
For the job we had three quality coordinators for 24 people. Each reviewed a set amount. This also included handling questions pertaining to quality via email or telephone calls.

My co-workers all worked together to create an effective team.
Helping someone to understand why we had the guidelines in place to ensure that all correspondence and emails – more... were answered in the proper format. – less