Find companies:
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,319 reviews

Blue Cross Blue Shield Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work here again
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 3, 2014
Didn't believe in taking care of their employee's. They have unorganized management. Cashiers are only offered part time jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Claims Processor (Current Employee), Surfside Beach, SCNovember 1, 2014
Pros: casual dress
Fun workplace to work. Great coworkers. Understanding management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and team associated
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 31, 2014
My days of work were very nice I love coming to work and working with my co-workers because it was something that I enjoyed doing everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Health Care Data Analyst (Current Employee), jacksonville, FLOctober 31, 2014
Pros: the best company ever
Cons: too many lay offs
I love this company the best and wished they don't have so many lay offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work environment, Excellant working hours, and Good Benefits
UTILIZATION REVIEW INTAKE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Durham, NCOctober 31, 2014
Pros: get recognize for the great customer service that i provided
Cons: not getting my review in a timely matter
Working at BCSNC the call volume was busy each day, I learn to take each call as though it was your first call of the day, Management and my co-workers were always available when needed or assistance, the hardest part of the job was to explain why a procedure or claim was not approved. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I was able to assist – more... the members with their problems and concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
ORACLE BI/SSIS/SSRS DEVELOPER (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 29, 2014
Typical day was a routine. It was relaxed culture and not so super exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accountant/Debt Management Analyst (Current Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
A typical day at work involves consistently exceeding the processing of appeal decisions review quotas, responding to inquiry emails & concerns, accomplishing 98% or higher financial reporting, and assisting with various group discussions and strategy meetings to help develop new business processes and efficiencies for the team. Constantly learning – more... GAAP, internal and external financial processes have been most rewarding. My co-workers and I work as a team to research and analyze intricate reports and documents to perform various routine to complex accounting functions. The hardest part of my job would be trying to hide the joy and fulfillment received daily. The most enjoyable part of my job is using GAAP and mathematical reason to analyze provider appeals for Medicare Appeal claims. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very comfortable place to work.
Customer Service (Former Employee), St. Louis MOOctober 28, 2014
Blue Cross Blue Shield was an enjoyable place to work. Everyone got alone with one another. We all worked together for a common goal. The hardest part of the job was the late hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you were are able to work on your own with little supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work BCBS
Customer Service Represenative (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 23, 2014
Accommodated any special needs of customers.
Managed calls about Medicare and helped the Customer as much as possible.
Maintained a clean and organized work area and completed cleaning as assigned
Worked on all Microsoft programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place of employment, with superb working environment.
Administrator, Senior System Support (Current Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours and excellent healthcare benefits.
Cons: compensation is not in line with job title and duties. very little room for growth.
A typical day begins with reviewing and following up on emails. The same can be said with checking the work queues for any overnight system issues. Once completed, a few members of the team head down for breakfast. Afterwards I then begin work to remediate any new or ongoing issues. This includes assisting team members, attending walkthroughs, and other – more... meetings. I usually eat a quick, light lunch and the cycle continues.
My time at the company has afforded me a vast array of knowledge. I’ve developed applications on the Mainframe side, to then turn around to support them. I’ve developed applications on the HOST side and currently support them. In both development areas, I have successfully contributed to the System Development Life Cycle of the applications. I’ve completed System Analysis, provided time estimates, and design. I have created Concept Diagrams, White Papers, and Knowledge Base articles for new applications. I have further enhanced my knowledge by successfully taking additional courses.
Both my management and co-workers make the day go by smoothly. Both are always available to assist with any issues. Quite frankly, I am fortunate to work with such a wonderful group of people. This is the most enjoyable part of my job. They help simplify my job.
On the other hand, dealing with other departments is probably the hardest thing to work with. The communication in other areas isn’t as strong as the communication in my area. It seems as if other areas have problems relaying their policy changes to other areas. This causes misunderstandings between departments and a lot of unnecessary re-work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, stressful, well-paying job
Customer Advocate II (Former Employee), Springfield, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, good pay, many opportunities for advancement
Cons: mandatory overtime
I started as a call center rep, and would answer as many as 160 calls in a day. Health care providers (doctor's offices, hospitals, medical supply companies, etc.) call to verify benefits, eligibility, and claim status. I documented each call in our corporate database. Dealing with that many individuals on the phone each day was stressful.
I was promoted – more... to work in the written inquiries department, reviewing pre-determinations. Medical providers would submit medical records to verify whether patients met the requirements for coverage. Once determinations were made, the appropriate correspondence was sent to the patient and the medical provider. I enjoyed the research and independence of this position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer service department
Customer Service Advocate II (Former Employee), Springfield, ILOctober 21, 2014
the importance of adhering to schedule and working in team environments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 20, 2014
Pros: on site gym
Hardly ever have a day when you are looking for something to keep you busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Customer Advocate II (Current Employee), aurora, ilOctober 20, 2014
typical day would be taking calls helping to assist member learned a great deal of information pertaining to health insurance and benefits as well as great atmoshpere of co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: layoffs
great place to work, this job aways kept you on you toes and you were always learning something new and I like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting
Individual Account Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 16, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: na
Productive and Exciting environment that allowed continuous opportunity for growth and development
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Insurance Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 15, 2014
Everyday was very busy but made the time go by quickly.

I learned a lot about medical insurance.

The disappointing part of this job is that it was temporary but great while I was in college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call center
CUSTOMER SERVICE ADVOCATE (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ILOctober 14, 2014
Answered calls in fast-paced call center. Processed and adjusted customer claims. Worked closely with upper management on problematic claims
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Training But Expect Big Results or You're Gone
Coder Specialist (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIOctober 14, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: management unorganized.
Was given two days there and told there was going to be a test. No training or heads up for this. Myself and three nurses failed it, nurses with a total of 50 years experience! Told later to hit the door after being recruited for this position from my other secure job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Conscious Company
Quality Audit Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 13, 2014
Pros: mutual respect, work from home options
One of the things I like best about the company is the many changes and how they keep the employees well informed of all the political and social changes in the medical field. They promote healthy life styles and the importance of reaching out to the community and keeping everyone informed on healthcare.

About Blue Cross Blue Shield

Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC) is a licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. The mutually owned company – Read more