Find companies:
Blue Cross Blue Shield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,119 reviews

Blue Cross Blue Shield Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a CSR for Claims and Customer Service
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), MinnesotaMay 19, 2014
Pros: working hours
Cons: poor management, backstabbing coworkers, hiring preferences
Poor place to work, lots of clichés with employees and managers. You have to be the right gender and ethnic group to have a chance to move up. Managers will sabotage advancement chances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed Disease Management Program.
Local Market Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMay 19, 2014
Pros: great opportunity and work environment. more like a family.
One of my favorite employment opportunities. Management empowered the employees and motivate and support employees to return to school for advanced degrees and upward mobile career opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work life balance
Business/Product Consultant (Current Employee), ChicagoMay 19, 2014
Can work on diverse projects. Has pros and cons of large organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced insurance company focused on excellent customer service
Customer Service Representative/Ajudicator (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 19, 2014
Pros: learning environment
Cons: overtime/ weekend hours
I found this job to be challenging, stimulating and rewarding. I was responsible for correctly processing medical claims for 8-10 business in SC.on a daily basis.I invesigated/researched pre-existing conditions and the financial responsibility of any accident claim. Each day brought new situations and or problems, which kept me focused and driven to – more... provide the best customer service possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Claims Customer Service Advocate II (Current Employee), Florence, SCMay 19, 2014
It is a great company to work for because they provide an environment in which you can excel. They provide great benefits for employees. There is always activities going on that get the employees involved in giving to charities. Offer different shifts, but no weekend work unless mandatory overtime is schedule which rarely happens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of employment
Service Representative /Claims Associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 18, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: unorganized management in some areas
My experience with the company was great would recommend for employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have had experience in both manual and automated testing of web
Test Engineer (Former Employee), Columbia, SCMay 14, 2014
I have had over six years of experience in Automation Test script Development. I have had experience in both manual and automated testing of web based applications as well as client server applications. In my QA carrier I have worked on different Operating Systems such as windows XP, Windows, Unix and few others. I have done test developed in C++, Java – more... and Visual Basic. A Few testing tools I believe I have extensive experience that would be QC/ALM(11.00) and QTP(9.52,10.00,11.00)/UFT(11.50). And I have done a lot of different tests using these Testing Tools, some of them are Smoke Testing, Functional Testing, Black Box Testing, Integration Testing, Regression Testing ,UAT (User Acceptance Testing) Testing and so many others. And other than that I have also done a lot of back-end testing using SQL Query. So few of the databases that I have worked on are Oracle, Sql Server and Microsoft Access. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constantly trying to get better, led by the profit motive
Sr. Systems Designer (Former Employee), Detroit, MichiganMay 14, 2014
Pros: lots of opportunity
Cons: the ideals of a public service company, the financial mgmt. of a bank
typical large not-for-profit. too much talk and too little doing
very top-down. but nice workers and the right intent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Payroll Technician (Current Employee), Columbia, SCMay 12, 2014
Gained a lot of experience in payroll. Work in a friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment at workplace.
Sr Software Engineer (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FloridaMay 9, 2014
I like the flexibility and people around the company. I got the chance to learn and explore more and more in my field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Data Entry (Former Employee), Concord, NHMay 9, 2014
I started there after high school, A lot of different people,all different age groups. I got along with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day at blue cross
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Middletown, NYMay 9, 2014
come in at 8:30 log in to the system take calls from providers as well as customers regarding insurance rates, copays, number of visit. lunch at 12, than finishing day till 5pm
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Research and team player
APPEAL ANALYST (Former Employee), Winston Salem, NC 27105May 8, 2014
Liaison for our members and their medical coverage benefits. Conduct quality audits of appeals and grievances handled by Appeal Analysts and inquiries handled by Resolution Coordinators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue Card Home
Blue Card Home (Former Employee), Chattanooga TNMay 8, 2014
In a days work a clerk would have to process claims from out of state visits for in state patients. The claims would be processed based on the coverage held by the patient. This job was very team based and co-workers made everyone feel like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job with computers taught me alot.
Quality Control Clerk/ Claims Processor (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 8, 2014
Pros: close to home.great learning environment.
Cons: left to have the second child and daycare for 2 was too expensive.
Started as temporary help and was hired to full time in 3 months. My job required learning a whole new skill set, but the supervisors were very patient an I caught on quickly. The hardest part of this jobs was in the early 1980's you could smoke at your desk. Not being a smoker, this was difficult to get used to.The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... all the new knowledge I acquired in the health insurance business. My coworkers were very pleasant and I am still friends with several to this day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain insight on healthcare and the healthcare reform
Sr. Clerical Support (Former Employee), Richardson, TXMay 7, 2014
Pros: tution being paid
Cons: increased health insurance
Working12 hours shifts on monday evening and sometimes on weekends. I was over the aspect of training and reapplying it to the new system and software the enterprise would be using. Co workers and manager support staff in all area personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
csr (Former Employee), columbus gaMay 6, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
managers were not open minded and were not understanding. never received the proper help, no responses to any questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
held many different position
Product Specialist (Former Employee), Eagan, MNMay 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: job eliminated
Grew within the company obtaining many different positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Claims Associate I (Former Employee), Florence, SCMay 5, 2014
The workplace was pleasant and calm.. I learned how to process claims and enter information into the system through notations.. I learned how to interact with other co-worked in other departments.I enjoyed working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Team Leader - Customer Care -Providers (Current Employee), Durham NCMay 4, 2014
new to the company and to North Carolina - not a bad company - new to healthcare - preference is Telecommunications/Cable - Collections/Billing

About Blue Cross Blue Shield

Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC) is a licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. The mutually owned company – Read more

Blue Cross Blue Shield Photos