Blue Mountain Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super college
Student Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORJuly 7, 2017
I loved my experience at Blue Mountain Community College. I would encourage anyone to go to college at blue mountain community college. Wonderful school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a positive work environment
Business Office Cashier/Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORJune 13, 2017
BMCC provided a secure work environment. Changes in procedures and management were not as positive as they could have been. There were more responsibilities added to each job without additional help provided.
Pros
working with a diverse group of people
Cons
added responsibilites without any compensation for it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun workplace to gain front desk clerk experience
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Hermiston, OR 97838June 2, 2017
Great part time job to work at if you are attending school especially. They will work with your schedule. Can get a busy with long lines of students to help with financial aid, students paying tuition, or signing them up for GED/spanish classes
Pros
Great managers and co workers
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work study
Weight Room monitor (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORMay 21, 2017
good place for students to work especially for athletes. it is really fun to be able to work in the weight room and to be able to work out while doing your job
Pros
works around athletes
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people were great, and there was always work to be done
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORAugust 22, 2016
i would gladly work there more if i could get more hours, but sadly you need a degree to get more hours at both the art gallery and the library. sso i would prefer to work somewhere else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow Work Place with little customers
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORFebruary 18, 2016
My Job as a lifeguard was pretty boring, a good day was 5-7 people in the pool. Other days there was 1 person, and somedays no one would come, however, I had to stay the full time in case somebody came in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Review
Professional Tutor (Current Employee) –  Pendleton, ORAugust 23, 2015
I enjoy working with the students at Blue Mountain Community College, but there just isn't any room for advancement, or growth. And the professional tutoring hours are shrinking, due to budget cutbacks.
Pros
The kids who appreciate what we do for them
Cons
I don't work with enough students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a fun place to work
Professional Tutor (Current Employee) –  Pendleton, ORAugust 19, 2015
I was always told that if you like what you do, you'll never work a day in your life. That's how it felt when I was hired, I had a lot of students being sent to for math, and because of that, I decided to work many more hours than what I was paid for. This year, we got a new president, several departments changed hands, including mine, and I no longer have that stream of students. It is not fun anymore
Pros
Using my knowledge and my humor to help people
Cons
I don't work with enough students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Interim Grants and Operations Accountant (Current Employee) –  Pendleton, ORAugust 17, 2015
The people in the business office are nice to work with. Supportive team that all work well together. Good balance of oversight but not micro managed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive education
Associate Transfer Degree (Current Employee) –  Hermiston, ORMarch 7, 2014
Constant change
learning
challenging work
must be organized
good work ethic to maintain grades
Pros
advancement opportunities
Cons
expensive;however an investment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this place.
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hermiston, ORNovember 16, 2013
I was eliminated due to budget cuts, otherwise I would still be there. I loved this place, and even considered going back to college to get a masters in teaching so I could teach there, but I don't have the money or time for that now. They worked really well with my family. I was part time and had no benefits, but did not need them as my husband has the benefits.
Pros
Everything.
Cons
Not valueing there employees enough after cuts and changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy Management
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, ORSeptember 23, 2013
Most of the time my manager was undependable and hypocritical. I learned a great deal about cleaning products and the huge amount of work that goes into maintaining a college campus. My co-workers were pretty nice for the most part although a lot of favoritism was shown. The hardest part of the job was cleaning bathrooms. The most enjoyable part of the job was when your job was done and you could enjoy some down time each night.
Pros
Great vacation time, and paid breaks.
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good engaging work experience
Adjunct Instructor of Art (Former Employee) –  Baker City, ORAugust 27, 2013
The job provided a fun interaction with the students while teaching the art studio classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Mountain Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

Blue Mountain Community College Reviews by Location