Find companies:
Bluebird Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

Bluebird Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manipulative, Severe bullying tactics.
Care Worker (Former Employee), EdinburghDecember 22, 2014
Pros: meeting and working with various clients..
Cons: lack of travel time. long days. office attitude. being lied about and lied too
Day to day work was great. Clients were great. Unfortunately the majority of Carers are unhappy due to work load and the constant texts to request extra availability. I can honestly say I never visited a client who was actually happy with Bluebird Care. Any concerns raised with Supervisors or management go ignored and unanswered. The hours you will – more... be required to work will be long and hard. I was so tired on 2 separate occasion I nearly crashed my car. I informed the office of this and was ignored. This is disgusting behaviour from a so called Care Company. Yes they care but only about taking on new clients and money.If you are brave enough to take employment and you decided to leave, please be prepared for the fall out. You will be treated like some thing the management have trodden on. They will also claim to give ongoing training. After a year I was still waiting. I can only assume the comment with 5 stars was added by a member of the management as is very similar to their Job advertising. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with high standards
Carer (Current Employee), EdinburghDecember 16, 2014
Pros: customers, training, mileage
Cons: driving
This is one of e best company's I have worked for .i start in the morning. And assist people with the things they find difficult , getting up and washed , dressed , meal prep anything they need. The training I received was to the highest standard and is refreshed regularly. The directors are great and very approachable and sort problems quickly if. – more... They arise , the rest of the office staff are supportive and helpful. I work times that suit me and there is extra work if I want , most of the co-workers are very nice. It's a zero hour contract but the hours are there The hardest part of the job is finding the places. I love the customers and enjoy seeing them and like the balance of working alone and then doubling up with another carer. .Overall it's a great company to work for if your willing to work hard . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company Ever
Carer (Former Employee), Hatfield, ENGDecember 8, 2014
Cons: was only temp
I was employed signed contract that i didnt get a chance to read.
I had no experience but they expect 3 nights training as enough.
I had to leave after 2 weeks as i was ill due to depression and they failed to inform me a week before their pay date that I wouldnt get paid.
Then get rudley told that all training costs come out of your wages . Maybe this – more... should have been informed when I had a meeting to consider leaving.
So basicLY i worked for free because i left.Maybe the staff should say you will still get wages when you leave.
STAY WELL CLEAR IF THIS COMPANY EVEN IF YOUR DESPERATE FOR WORK – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favour, look elsewhere!
Coordinator (Former Employee), EdinburghDecember 3, 2014
Pros: home time!
Cons: no breaks, late nights, expected to take on call with no notice
Worst place I have ever worked, they say all of the right things but then don't follow through on it. I did not receive any training and was thrown in at the deep end. The Directors are lovely but the manager is manipulative.The care staff are treated very badly, expected to do whatever the manager wants even if it is unreasonable. If you don't do what – more... she wants then she finds a reason to get you out of the door.

I enjoyed working here at first but there was absolutely no support and because of how short staffed they were it was constant stress. We were put under pressure to take on new customers even though we didn't have the staff. The staff turnover is VERY high! Even in the office, no one stays in the same role for long and it's very confusing when you don't know who is responsible for what!

Once they have something against you, you don't stand a chance, even if you are loyal. They don't care about their staff or customers, only what they can get out of them . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid working for this company at all cost!
Former carer (Former Employee), EdinburghNovember 30, 2014
Cons: short breaks, long hours, unorganised!
One of the worst company's I have ever worked for. No organisation what so ever. Your calls will be all over the place and all over the city (a lot of money on fuel!). I rarely got my 2 hour break all together although you are supposed to when doing a 7-10 shift. Bullied by staff and management and also threatened on many occasions. Extremely short – more... staffed and harassed on your days off to work more. Pay slips never add up which they do nothing about. Even the customers only ever have bad words to say. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more bad days than good days
Care Worker (Current Employee), EssexNovember 16, 2014
Pros: the ilusion of earning £8 after probation
Cons: long hours on duty and lots of travel, inconsistency
double standards, day starting at 7am and ending at 10pm or just after with a small break away from home. lots of milleage done and garage bills as a consequence. lots of pressure by the office and trying to make you feel guilty for not covering calls due to lack of staff. lots of gossip going around. instability within the role as the hours changed – more... constantly so I never could budget my wages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shocking unorganised poor management
care assistant (Former Employee), ware/hertfordSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: some of the other care staff.
Cons: poor management, lack communication, rude office staff
Don't care about there clients or there staff. It is poorly managed office staff rude manger does nothing about any complaint on call is shocking, wages are never right, rosters are a mess. No staff meetings no thank you for our hard work. 0 hour contracts they lie about having the work just go out for 1 or 2 calls at a time. Completely unorganised – more... no one knows what they are doing. Staff always leaving and gossip is constant Completely shocking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for
Carer (Former Employee), West London.June 7, 2014
Pros: clients
Cons: where do i start
I started work with Bluebird full of enthusiasm as you do. It soon became apparent that they were very badly organized and used bullying tactics to try and make you cover extra shifts for them with no consideration for your own family or personal commitments. The rotas were badly organized with little or no time to get from one place to another, also – more... on "double- ups" sometimes three people would turn up , sometimes only one. In the time i worked with them I only had a couple of sick days off through injuring my back at work although I was hassled every day about when I was coming back.
I resigned because I phoned in sick one day due to being up through the night for hours vomiting and was told I had to come in anyway even though I was attending very elderly/vulnerable clients that day. I was then told basically that I was a liar and wasnt ill at all. I attended a doctor and informed I needed an operation, still no apology.
I then applied for another job within a different industry and was offered the job. After seeking a reference with Bluebird my offer of employment was withdrawn and I was informed by my old care co-ordinator that my reference was made by a phone call and my manager refused to give me a reference but seeing as though it was made by phone who knows what was actually said, my references were fine to be employed by Bluebird but now theyre not? mmmm strange that. Im seeking legal advice now for discrimination because I bent over backwards for this company to the detriment of my own family. The only way you get anywhere with this company is if your face fits and you dont complain, if you do you get really bad hours/rotas. If you value your family and self worth dont touch them with a barge pole, by the time you calculate the actual hours worked, your petrol money because the allowance doesnt come near to covering what you actually spend you probably earn about £3 an hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Review of Bluebird...
Support Worker (Current Employee), Taunton DeaneApril 16, 2014
Pros: management, good mileage rate, quality service, good career development & great training!
Cons: lack of customers, lack of hours, 0 hour contract
Although i currently work here and have done since November 2013, there are disadvantages within the company which are making me want to leave.
The main reason being the lack of customers. I was led to believe they had a big customer base and because of this were taking on many new staff, I was one of them. We were all told how we would have flexible – more... working, both part time and full time hours on offer, what ever you prefer, however nobody in this region (that i know of) is working full time, its a couple of hours a week MAXIMUM!

Dont get me wrong, they have great benefits and this region is managed well, putting the customers (that they do have) first, and that alone is why i joined the company in the first place.

I would just reccomend that if your looking for full time consistent hours, this isnt the place to work, if you dont mind a bit of 'here and there' work then its great! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here, worst employment to date!
Domiciliary carer (Former Employee), DorsetFebruary 17, 2014
When I started working at Bluebird care, I was not expecting this level of poor management, including from the company director herself! I think communication is by far the greatest issue in this company:
Failure to recognise when other staff are on holiday abroad and phoning them to cover shifts.
Failure to devise rotas properly and resulting in endless – more... phonecalls to get people to cover shifts and make you feel evil when you don't agree to cover shifts.
Failure to notify care staff when customers are in restbite, so turn up to an empty house.
Failure to PAY correct sums, including for holidays.
Failure to keep their customers due to poor care and resulting in 1 customer left in my area by the time I left this company, so 1 hour per carer per week.

Got a question you need answered? Be prepared to chase a minimum of 5 times with a 2 week wait.
I could go on, but honestly do not work for this company.
I was passionate about the role itself and the wonderful people I worked with, but I could not bare to keep hearing stories of how no one ever turns up when I wasn't around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went from happy to depressed person working for bluebird! PLEASE don't do this to yourself!
care worker (Former Employee), reigateJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: pay for mileage
Cons: everything else!
This space is not quite enough room to list all the disgusting things about this company! Just put it this way greedy! The office earn a monthly bonus for every time they reach their target of gaining new customers! These customers are just a bonus to them nothing else! All they give two craps about is there bonus at the end of the month! Therfore you – more... are crammed with calls all day every day even when u are not available and if you dare say you can't do it they make you out to be some sort of bad person! (They would have us all out working 7am-10pm 7 days a week as all they want is their bonus for extra customers not care about our welfare) I was actually so overworked I was taken into hospital with a bad infection one day as it was left untreated for so long due to the fact I was working such long hours I could not possibly go to the drs! If you care about your health or the respect for yourself in anyway do not do this! Also no break time is not given on some days I worked, I had heard of many care workers complaining of working a 15 hour day without any break given! Not only is this illegal it is also disgusting for a company to do this! No travel time is payed so therefore you are working nearly 4/5 hours in a full day (I have worked out)which is not paid as it is travel to and from customers! Over the month this is A LOT of money lost! Management is so poor I have been in tears on the phone to my manager several times, she told me that she understands how I feel about working long hours and told me she has done it many times and knows the customers well! ( I later found out she had only in fact ever been and cared for 1 out of our 100's of customers, ONLY 1) I was not the only one with these views I did training with 9 others, within the week I started I had found out only myself and another were still left standing as everyone else left! I have carers always complaining everyday about this company no wonder why people come and go SO often! Its a joke, I went from being a happy person to being in tears nearly every day and dreading work so much I actually handed in my notice with no job to go to as my health, social life and well being is more important then a company that treat employees like this! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management and treated horribley
office (Former Employee), no commentNovember 5, 2013
Pros: working hours, was a fulltime job
Cons: management, treatment to staff, stress, money, no praise, constant emails and phone calls
No training, no support, left to own devices. management and care of staff was horrible, numerous staff left within time there. Worst most stressful job I have ever been in, completely knocked my confidence. Do not buy into the way they try sell jobs to you. It is completely nothing like what they claim your job will be like. Even when I was home trying – more... to relax I was recieving work calls and texts and emails out of work hours- harrasing and stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company most of time
hca (Former Employee), Truro, ENGDecember 11, 2014
Pros: nearness of case, one on one situation
Cons: long weeks at times
was a decent company to work for but did not take ones private life too seriously. also were not very good with confidentiality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Care Assistant (Current Employee), edinburghNovember 25, 2014
day starts early and end late.. there is more to learn about the city since there is lots of traveling involved in the job...they don't allow their worker to develop ...its good working in the community and for the community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appalled by the terrible management and bad serive
Live-In Care Worker (Former Employee), EdinburghNovember 18, 2014
I loved the job with my client however the support from management was terrible. I felt as if they really did not care for me or for client. There was a situation in which I was not listened to and and treated with contempt. It makes me sad that companies with such low moral ethics are allowed to operate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Bluebird care (Former Employee), Bristol, ENGOctober 15, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: long hours, zero hour contract, shifts changes regularly with little or no notice, poor management, backstabbing collegues encouraged, low millage and asked to do task with insufficent training.
My days usually consisted of getting clients out of bed using a hoist if necessary, assisting them with getting washed and dressed and having breakfast.
I would also serve lunch or tea, take people grocery shopping. clean and tidy empty commodes etc.
in thee evening I would assist people with preparing supper having a quick wash and then getting into – more... bed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job... Hated the management team!
care worker (Former Employee), Bognor RegisOctober 14, 2014
Pros: mileage paid. lovely customers
Cons: long days. horrible staff. no one listens to you. not paid enough
this company was awful. The job itself was actually very good and I loves it but I'd work 12 days in a row without a break and I told them so many times it wasn't right so eventually I had to leave. There lots of other reasons why I left but I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone!!! Stay away!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Home Carer (Current Employee), Navan, MHOctober 10, 2014
Staff and management cvery approachable.
Very rewarding job.
really enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good workplace
care worker (Current Employee), CheltenhamSeptember 21, 2014
every day also weekend
professional care of people including handling of medicines
good team
hours
provide relief to people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Carer (Current Employee), Maidstone, ENGSeptember 9, 2014
My typical day at work would be getting up around 7am to give my client help getting ready for the day ahead and to be given the right medication. I'd the wait for another carer to come in to help with personal care. I would then carry on with the rest of the day by, cleaning, cooking, feeding and administering for my customer.
I have learned how to – more... administrate medication in the right form and how to log what I give and how much.
The hardest part of the job is feeling helpless but the most rewarding part is being able to give the individual there freedom back by doing stuff for them and helping them. – less

1 2 3 4