Find companies:
BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
Claims/Customer Service Coordinator (Work Leader) (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: helping members, coworkers, and management for the greater good of the company and those who depend on us.
Cons: lack of assistance from management and salary
Everything is great at Blue Cross. I really do love my job and helping out my customer service advocates and helping managment as well. I do wish management could get more involved in helping but that's about the only thing that really "bothers" me about my job and that's the hardest part as well. I could definitely stand to be paid more money. With – more... the changing times of inflation, a raise is much needed and the money is scarce at Blue Cross. Other than that, I absolutley love my job. I'm learning everyday and continuously adding to my 9 years worth of knowledge in the healthcare and insurance industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee), Florence, SCJuly 12, 2014
Answer calls to assist providers and or clearinghouses. Process electronic funds transfer (eft) enrollments forms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Claims Customer Service Advocate II (Former Employee), Florence, SCJune 27, 2014
Pros: discounts at certain places
Cons: short breaks
Shift started at 12 noon, worked until 9pm....learned how to process medical claims and learned how health insurance worked. My manager was awesome and my coworkers were as well.The hardest part of the job and dealing with customers that you can satisfy no way possible no matter how hard you try. The most enjoyable part and helping someone and being – more... able to resolve there issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever-changing and adapting place to work with good place for advancement if you are internal.
Technical Trainer (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJune 24, 2014
Pros: ability to set own schedule, no micromanaging, great workout facility on sites
Cons: inability to prepare for training material due to last minute information, advancement procedures not well put together
A typical day at work included; doing quality reportson the technicians remotely, working on training material using the proper layout, meetings on upcoming projects, and implementation of new technologies.

I learned a lot about the different businesses that BCBSSC is a part of and what those businesses do. They do much more than Insurance. I also – more... learned how a technical call center truly operates and that is fascinating.

My particular manager is great along with the management in my area. On your first day you meet with your supervisor, manager, director, and the VP of the area. They share with you their open door policy and that makes you feel very comfortable.

I love my co-workers. Working within the company is very rewarding.

The hardest part of the job is the last minute notice on training material. We would have less than a week to be prepared to teach a 1-hour training class for the entire floor (over 65 people).

The most enjoyable part of the job has to be the consistant need for change within the technology based company. I wish I didn't have to leave it, but due to the fact that I am a contracter it isn't optional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't believe this company is still operating & viewed as a 'best company to work for.'
Communications Specialist II (Former Employee), Columbia, SCApril 25, 2014
Pros: nice facility; cafe and gym available.
Cons: poor management, no consistency (policy & work procedures), no comp-time for salaried employees & lots of overtime (for some), favoritism/nepotism, outdated equipment, impersonal work environment
The company's mission, goals and plan is well thought out, but not managed properly. Departments do not work together effectively nor show a desire to do so. They tout being concerned about their employees; it's all rhetoric. If you don't drink the 'cool aid', you most likely will not fit in and will be made apparent to you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, huge company, great employees
System Testing Analyst (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the work
Cons: horrible unpaid overtime, extreme stress and burn out
Adhoc testing of system readiness, testing health care changes in membership, providers and coverages. HIPAA testing. Creation of test plans, test cases and test steps. Great co-workers.
Learned how to test HIPAA transactions as well as understanding the data breakdown.
Hardest part of the job was handling the amount of work assignments.
Working with – more... the terrific employees was the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The business model is built around government contracts, and that drives RIFs when contracts are lost - difficult for a positive work environment.
ISO Management Representative (Current Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 20, 2013
Pros: the company seems to be stable for those not tied to contracts.
Cons: employee loyalty is strained and, again, that's due to the business model.
BlueCross has a lot of positive qualities. Most of their income relies on government contracts, and those contracts are part of aggressive bidding campaigns by many competitors. When a contract is lost, a reduction in force follows, often involving hundreds of people. In that environment, it is difficult for anyone to feel any sense of job security. – more... The ER culture appears cold, but the business model drives that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced work environment.
Accounting Clerk II (Current Employee), Columbia, SCNovember 11, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of a variety of things, such as submitting email, performing research, answering some phone calls, contacting provider, and more. Some assignments were submitted from other areas that were up against a deadline, and our team would help them with their workload. Management is serious about the completion of work assignments – more... in a timely manner, but they do not stand over your shoulder. You are trusted to complete your assignments accurately, and free to ask questions if you have any. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Stability if You are a Full-time Employee
Analyst (Former Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 27, 2013
Pros: job stability for ftes
Cons: outdated technology, management-heavy, strong-arm united way tactics
BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina can be a good place to work if you are a full-time employee. While the company is management-heavy, there are opportunities for lateral moves in case you are less than successful in a particular area. BlueCross would rather move people about rather than dismiss them, so once you're in, you're in.

About BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina

The BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina Foundation was established in 2001. To promote the good health of South Carolinians – Read more