Bluegrass Community and Technical College Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Policy
Communications Representative (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 23, 2016
Policy and politics get in the way of a lot of things, but there are good (and fun) benefits to working for BCTC. Some free classes and access to the cosmetology, auto, and esthitician classes which is nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work if you value student equity.
Assistant Professor of Biology and Biotechnology (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 12, 2016
working with students as they reach their goals comes with a sense of duty. BCTC tries to foster a school climate that encourage students success but fails. faulty and staff are at one another throats. The leadership does not have the faculty support nor do faculty feel any sense of autonomy.
Pros
ok benefits
Cons
terrible working climate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great blend with family obligations
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 9, 2016
I do love my job. However, I can not speak on everything because I am a temporary employee without benefits. Based on what I have seen, they offer great benefits.
Pros
Much support
Cons
Clicky with Departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss and people to work with!
Security and Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 7, 2016
Basically I am in charge of my campus at BCTC! Providing security for students and employees. I make my rounds mostly on foot over the entire campus which includes 4 buildings. I document incident reports and act as Incident command in case of a emergency. I also conduct fire drills twice annually as required by state.
Pros
Great Boss, Good hours, Medical benefits.
Cons
Low salary, not much room to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Presidential Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 16, 2016
This is a great first job for any college student. I work part time to help pay for my college. I would recommend this job to most people who can handle the public well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and friendly workplace
Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 16, 2014
A typical day at my job includes me answering the phone and greeting visitors. My manager is amazing and easy going. My co-workers are friendly. The hardest part of my job is parents that call in wanting information on a student, which we can't give them and in return makes them very upset. The most enjoyable part of my job is everyone has a good attitude and my boss praises our good work and sometimes rewards us with pizza
Pros
Great boss, great environment
Cons
Temporary job, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
Site coordinator /GED Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 18, 2016
Learned how to teach diverse adult learners
great starting place for education
Enjoyed helping students obtain their GED
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent supervisors, helpful staff, diverse students.
College Instructor Developmental Reading (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 29, 2013
Excellent supervisors, helpful staff, diverse students.
I enjoy teaching diverse students.
Pros
Students, staff, located in Louisville
Cons
No benefits part time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYFebruary 10, 2016
The people here are amazing i really found the hours to be at my liking and i enjoyed tutoring people. the job was rich in happiness.
Pros
good people
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was incompentent
Director, Career Development and Counseling (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 2, 2014
Mgt often was clueless and did not know what to do from week to week.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
working with incompetent people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and great for feeling like you've truly helped others.
Adjunct Faculty Member (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 25, 2013
Every day I would plan out my lessons for my courses, either days or weeks in advance. There were a lot of days spent grading assignments. And I truly enjoyed the lectures I gave during class when I could tell the students were absorbing and holding onto the information. My coworkers were always there for help and any advice needed. My supervisor was always available via email to assist with any classroom issues I may have had. The hardest part of the job is watching students fail the class because they are not willing to put forth any work for their coursework. But I truly enjoy knowing that many of my students have enjoyed my class and have learned a lot about the subject and themselves.
Pros
many opportunities to volunteer and get involved. free meals during events.
Cons
people do not know what they shuld do and when they should do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bluegrass Community and Technical College is a rewarding place of employment
Tutor Bluegrass Community and Technical College (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 2, 2012
I typically tutor four students a week when I'm not engaged in my own coursework. BCTC is an excellent community college and has many dedicated teachers. The only part of the tutoring job I don't like is when the students don't show up for our session. I don't work full-time here but have applied for an adjunct teaching position in the education depaaaaartment.
Pros
teaching students
Cons
students don't always show up
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYFebruary 24, 2014
Learned a lot at this job and my supervisor was a great boss and friend.
Pros
Great Learning environment.
Cons
Minimal opportunity for advancement or full time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BCTC was a fun , diverse place with outstanding teachers.
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 7, 2013
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in school at BCTC, but now it is time to move forward with my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to do work study while attending school
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 19, 2014
I have a wonderful boss, she talks to me when I need someone to talk to and very understanding. The part about my job is that I am not in a busy department so when school is in session, I can focus on my class work. My co-workers are awsome, they always make sure its not boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Computer lab assistant (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 20, 2014
I enjoyed my time working here. I was able to study and work at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Adjunct faculty (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KyOctober 1, 2014
Very nice co-worker and work environment. It is just a great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Student Records/Admissions/Financial Aid (Current Employee) –  Lexington KyApril 25, 2014
nice place to work
very organized
daily routine stays the same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.3

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Reviews by Location