Bluegrass Community and Technical College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bctc
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 16, 2017
Teaching math at BCTC was a very rewarding experience. I truly enjoy when my students are learning well. I would like to continue teaching math and statistics.
Pros
Students
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help mold new nurses as adjunct faculty
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 27, 2017
BLugrass Community and Technical College is a great place to share your passion for nursing with student nurses. It was great watching them gain confidence and improve on skills during their clinical rotation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 5, 2017
Great place to work. I was a student worker and I loved it.Supervisors are really helpful and concerned about employees.Really good opportunity for students to learn new skills while working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BCTC is a great place to teach.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMarch 1, 2017
BCTC has a very supportive math dept. staff. The students
are also very eager to learn. I appreciate the opportunities
provided to me teaching math courses. It was a great experience.
Pros
Supportive staff
Cons
35 miles from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Phlebotomy Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYFebruary 6, 2017
If your in the business of helping others succeed, this is a great fit. Staff is very nice and all are ones who expect the best from the student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Head Security Officer - Newtown Campus (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 5, 2017
A free education and great off time, Christmas shut down paid 2 weeks. Tons of vacation days and sick days. Awesome group of people to work with. I had the pleasure of working all (7) campuses and the people I meet and know are amazing.
Pros
free classes, Pto
Cons
Greatest Boss in the world left the college
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has been a great long term position. Good people and policy.
Staff Associate II (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYSeptember 20, 2016
I have been happy with my time at BCTC. I have learned so much about communication and public relations in this position. My position has allowed me to become distinguished with customer relations as well as inner office relations. This institution has offered amazing life experiences and people from all walks of life to learn from. I have been fortunate to work here and gain the experience I have so far in life. I love working with students and the public in general. I love getting to speak to them in large and small groups. Even more, I love that they have come to trust me and look to me for assistance. The only hard part is knowing that it is time to move on in order to better myself and offer what I have learned here in a new capacity.
Pros
Benefits and retirement are really great here.
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Policy
Communications Representative (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 23, 2016
Policy and politics get in the way of a lot of things, but there are good (and fun) benefits to working for BCTC. Some free classes and access to the cosmetology, auto, and esthitician classes which is nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Presidential Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 16, 2016
This is a great first job for any college student. I work part time to help pay for my college. I would recommend this job to most people who can handle the public well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
Site coordinator /GED Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 18, 2016
Learned how to teach diverse adult learners
great starting place for education
Enjoyed helping students obtain their GED
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great blend with family obligations
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 9, 2016
I do love my job. However, I can not speak on everything because I am a temporary employee without benefits. Based on what I have seen, they offer great benefits.
Pros
Much support
Cons
Clicky with Departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work if you value student equity.
Assistant Professor of Biology and Biotechnology (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 12, 2016
working with students as they reach their goals comes with a sense of duty. BCTC tries to foster a school climate that encourage students success but fails. faulty and staff are at one another throats. The leadership does not have the faculty support nor do faculty feel any sense of autonomy.
Pros
ok benefits
Cons
terrible working climate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYFebruary 10, 2016
The people here are amazing i really found the hours to be at my liking and i enjoyed tutoring people. the job was rich in happiness.
Pros
good people
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss and people to work with!
Security and Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 7, 2016
Basically I am in charge of my campus at BCTC! Providing security for students and employees. I make my rounds mostly on foot over the entire campus which includes 4 buildings. I document incident reports and act as Incident command in case of a emergency. I also conduct fire drills twice annually as required by state.
Pros
Great Boss, Good hours, Medical benefits.
Cons
Low salary, not much room to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Adjunct faculty (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KyOctober 1, 2014
Very nice co-worker and work environment. It is just a great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was incompentent
Director, Career Development and Counseling (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 2, 2014
Mgt often was clueless and did not know what to do from week to week.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
working with incompetent people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to do work study while attending school
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 19, 2014
I have a wonderful boss, she talks to me when I need someone to talk to and very understanding. The part about my job is that I am not in a busy department so when school is in session, I can focus on my class work. My co-workers are awsome, they always make sure its not boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Computer lab assistant (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 20, 2014
I enjoyed my time working here. I was able to study and work at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Student Records/Admissions/Financial Aid (Current Employee) –  Lexington KyApril 25, 2014
nice place to work
very organized
daily routine stays the same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and friendly workplace
Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 16, 2014
A typical day at my job includes me answering the phone and greeting visitors. My manager is amazing and easy going. My co-workers are friendly. The hardest part of my job is parents that call in wanting information on a student, which we can't give them and in return makes them very upset. The most enjoyable part of my job is everyone has a good attitude and my boss praises our good work and sometimes rewards us with pizza
Pros
Great boss, great environment
Cons
Temporary job, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bluegrass Community and Technical College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Reviews by Job Title

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Reviews by Location