Find companies:
Bluegrass Oakwood
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Bluegrass Oakwood Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet some of the best people there
RA (Former Employee), Somerset, KYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: 45 min. supper break
Cons: stress
management sucks. The most enjoying part of the day is knowing you have made a difference in the lives of the clients. The love that you show them and the love you received from the clients. the hardest part of the job is the mental stress that goes along with the job. The not knowing what will happen or where you will be the next day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun workplace.
LPN (Former Employee), Somerset, KYNovember 15, 2013
Pros: health benefits were average, but, probably better than other facilities, had a program to help pay for some schooling. long lunches, scheduled breaks, extra ones if time allowed.
Cons: no holiday bonus, not much over time, no optical insurance.
A fun and rewarding and sometimes challenging workplace, but, I truly enjoyed my time there. A typical day of work consisted of receiving and giving nurse report, narcotic count, checking 24 hour report to determine which client required follow up care, accuchecks, administering morning medications while performing some patient teaching, scheduling – more... on ground appointments PRN, reporting to PA during his rounds, administering afternoon medications, as well as PRN medications, assessments of clients, charting, etc. Management was fine, but, could be stressful at times. The majority of my co-workers were team players and always willing to help each other out if needed. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the death of a client or a client transitioning out of the facility. It is hard not to come to truly care for these special clients and when one would be lost it was a sad time for me; but, never interfered with my ability to perform my duties pertaining to my job description. The most enjoyable part of this job was working with these very special clients, learning about different illnesses, and, most importantly, seeing a client achieve a certain goal that they had for themselves. That was always very rewarding to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the greatest but a good place
SENIOR RESIDENTIAL ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Somerset, KYOctober 31, 2013
Pros: good pay, reasonable hours
Cons: hours could be longer, sometimes the work can be tough.
a pretty good place to work, not the best pay and you only get 37.5 hours per week but its a job that you could do for a long time and potentially retire from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you like to work with the type of individuals that reside there; very rewarding.
LPN (Former Employee), Somerset, KYAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great co-workers; always working together for the best care of the clients. some good benefits.
Cons: not the greatest benefits, never recieved my sign on bonus, as i know other nurses that also didn't.
Mornings would begin with recieving report from nurse from prior shift, reviewing the 24 hr sheet to see what patients needed to be followed up on, then accuchecks. Next, I would administer morning scheduled medications, chart in notes anyone who needed followed up on, escorted patients to on grounds appointments with staff members, conferred with doctors, – more... attended any meetings if any scheduled. Approximately 11:00 am I would begin administering afternoon medications, then continue to chart in nursing notes, if needed. I was assigned to one cottage, but, usually was pulled to another cottage as well as mine; so most days I would have two homes. I worked with clients that had seizures, g-tubes, and cathaters, did patient teaching, and basic LPN duties. At the end of the day I would give report to the oncoming nurse, and then go home. I thouroughly enjoyed working with the individuals I did, they made my job so rewarding. They are very special people!! I learned to have compassion and to be grateful for a life without these disabilities. Honestly, the clients are what kept me there as long as I was, as I didn't agree with the way the facility was ran at times. My co-workers were wonderful and staff worked really real with the nurses so as to better care for the clients. The staff have an extremely difficult jobs at times and don't get the credit they deserve; in my opinion. The hardest part of the job was losing a client, whether it be to moving on to a new facility or passing away; it was always sad to me. Lastly, working one on one with the clients was the most enjoyable part of my job; I felt I was the fortunate one to have worked with such remarkable clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, very stressful
Residential Aide (Former Employee), Somerset, KYJuly 1, 2013
One of the best paying jobs in the area, but very stressful with little rewards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just to many chiefs not enough indians
Residential Associate (Former Employee), Somerset, KYMay 19, 2013
Pros: awesome peer to peer relations and self to low lever workers
Cons: way to many managers to answer to u will see at least 6 daily
If management doesnt like you then you will not last... Thats all I can say about the job besides if you like helping others and cleaning then you will fit in great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Somerset, KYApril 5, 2013
Pros: working and helping residence.
Cons: lack of trust, respect, lack of common sense.
liked the job, Management was lost and used little common sense, but it was fun help residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
residential associate (Current Employee), Somerset, KYDecember 14, 2012
Pros: work at my own pace
Cons: no raises
I have the pleasure of impacting peoples lives everyday. I get to to teach disabled individuals life skills that are so imperative to our culture and our way of life; that the average person deems so little these clients make great strides in bettering themeselves and learning even the smallest of skills. I really appreciate the co-workers that i work – more... with because we always make sure that the client is taken care of in a safe timely manner. The hardest part of the job is dealing with adaptive behaviors such as kicking, punching, etc. but for the most part i love my job and plan to stay in this business for the rest of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKING WITH MENTAL RETARDINESS
LPN (Former Employee), Somerset, KYNovember 29, 2012
Pros: vacation and sick time that could be used at any time.
Cons: no raises for two of years that i worked there.
WORKING WITH MENTAL DISIBILITIES AND DIFFERENT TYPES OF PHYCOLOGICAL PROBLEMS HAVE IMPROVED MY VISION ON THIS TYPE OF WORK.SOME DAYS WERE LONG AND HARD TO SEE THE DIFFERENT THINGS AND STAGES THAT THESE INDIVIDUALS GO THROUGH IN THEIR LIFE.CO-WORKERS WERE EXCELLENT TO COME TO YOUR AIDE AT ANYTIME. I LOVED WORKING IN MY AREA DUE TO THE FACT THE CLIENTS – more... WERE USED TO ME AND THEY WERE EASY TO DEAL WITH FOR THE MOST PART. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THIS JOB WAS THE SMILES AND THEIR REACTION WHEN THEY WERE AT THEIR HAPPIEST TIMES.I'VE LEARNED TO BE MORE PATIENT AND UNDERSTANDING WITH THIS KIND OF WORK . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding job
Residential Associate (RA) (Former Employee), Somerset, KYNovember 3, 2012
A typical day consisted of anywhere from 1-7 patients/clients to provide care for. I had great coworkers and learned alot about mental health and disability. The hardest part was seeing individuals leave that I had spent years caring for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKay for a short term
Case Management Services (Former Employee), Somerset, KYAugust 31, 2012
Pros: insurance and benefits
Cons: low job security
Not conducive to long term work. Low job security. Shifts swap often without much notice which makes it hard for family oriented people to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Residential Aid (Former Employee), Somerset KyApril 11, 2012
Cons: everything
no job security. management doesnt hear your concerns. its not a place i would ever want to work again. You're put in very stressful situations and given no support at all.