Find companies:
Bluelinx Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Bluelinx Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better management
Supervisor/ Finance & Accounting/ Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 2, 2014
Turnover rate seems too frequent. I think management requires too much of the staff and this is the reason for the hi turnover rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 29, 2014
Great co-workers; job advancement is limited. Building products distributor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke!
Sales/Product Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch break
Cons: management and lack of communication!!
Been with the company for less than 3 years. Management is terrible!!! I would rather work as a greeter at Walmart than work for my current district manager. Communication sucks and the only way you find out about what's currently going on is through the rumor mill. They don't even have the guts to let you know when someone has put in their notice. – more... They care more about a number by your name than taking care of your customers. Customer service is the last thing this company cares about!! Since day 1 on the job, I have heard the only reason customers don't buy is because they can't trust our delivery time! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work at
Utility's (Current Employee), San DiegoMarch 6, 2014
Pros: none.......
Cons: everyone is a weasel
I must say its a very horrible place to work at. Not enough pay for the position you work. They have you working on things that is not on your Job description. Management is real horrible. Everyone blames everyone else for there own wrong doings. And the lead/ shop Stewart (same guy) does NOT have your back at all. I recommend you look for a job somewhere – more... else other then Bluelinx. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant restructuring
Accounting (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 12, 2013
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: poor management
Worked for company for 6 years and it seemed like they were always in the process of restructuring. Management certainly follows the outdated authoritarian management style. Too many upper level people left over from Georgia Pacific days that have no clue how to operate as an independent distribution company. Leadership has been weak and outdated. Good – more... ole boys network cannot compete in global market. Competitors are making money yet Bluelinx continues to lose hand over fist. Absolutely no innovation just an attitude that hard work will turn the company around. Not gonna happen. Good employees but continuous brow beating from bad management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two Step Distribution Crash and Burn
Sales (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 5, 2013
Pros: free coffee & tea
Cons: bad management, bad work environment, zero communication, hi turnover, frequent layoffs
This thing is going down soon. The margins are slimming and people buy direct and from specialty distribution. Not to mention the people here thing that they still work for Georgia Pacific in that they have the profits and the big money of an organization as such. This place is very much like the movie Office Space, a whole bunch of Lundbergs. Also – more... they are very good in doing the same thing and expecting different results... Isn't that referred to as insanity? Also, there is ZERO communication within this organization. The only thing you will hear is rumors. In my short time here I've been subject to 3 sets of lay offs and it's not going to get any better. I don't see this place being around in 5-10 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Specialist Customer Service (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 31, 2013
I love working there, the people are great ans fun to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Dedicated Co-Workers
Product Mgr. (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 28, 2013
Pros: predictable work schedule
Cons: slow economy has impacted opportunities.
Good work environment with highly dedicated co-workers. Positive work / life balance. Good management team at the Denver location. Opportunity for advance has been minimal due to recent economic struggles but should improve as housing continues to rebound.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very productive place
Customer Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 21, 2013
I love my co-workers! However, a typical work day is answering calls and solving customers problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Significant restructuring and redefining of roles and responsibiltites.
Category Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 22, 2013
There are a lot of great people that work there. However, continued losses financially and talent wise over the past years and constantly changing initiatives and caused morale to deteriorate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works as a family
Logistics Administrator (Former Employee), Independence, KYAugust 7, 2013
Pros: free safety lunches once a month
Cons: health benefits, long days
The people at BlueLinx were great to work with; however, upper management did not step up to the plate and left the branch hanging in many circumstances. There were no places for advancement. The guys working in the warehouse were expected to work from 8am to 10pm in the summer or busy months. I learned information regarding how distributions run and – more... how to work with inventory. The values that I learned at BlueLinx are irreplaceable and would not trade it for anything. The hardest part of the job was watching co-workers stress over benefits. The most enjoyable part of the job was to work with the customers and clients that came in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Teamwork!
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee), Elkhart, INJune 11, 2013
This is one of the first companies where I learned more than I did at any other job, I learned how to use the CNC machine, grinder and worked more on driving forklift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Material Handler (Former Employee), Newark, CAApril 22, 2013
A typical day comes with challenges that require me to utillize my effectiveness and efficiency skills. I enjoyed working with a diverse group of team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One star is too high!
Supervisor - Yard / Transportation (Former Employee), MAApril 16, 2013
Pros: fellow (non management) employees were great
Cons: no 401, no sick time, too many to list!
Worked for the company for 15 years and saw first hand many good dedicated employees get laid off or fired due to their years of employment. Most defiantly saw my own termination coming as they tried to get me to quit by putting me on a crazy shifts (long hours) and leaving me out of the loop entirely with anything that was going on. Just a sad place – more... it turned into after BL took it over. If you seek satisfaction with a company that will eventually will stab you in the back, then this is the job for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, comfortable, and fun place to work.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: customer service and management's support.
Cons: not much advancement without a four year degree.
A typical day at work envolved dealing with the company's vendors, the procurement department, and processing vendor invoices for payment. I learned how to have exceptional customer service. Management was easy to work with and encouraged excellence. The hardest part of the job was having to pay back "unearned" discounts. The most enjoyable part of – more... the job was interacting with vendors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not concerned at all about employees and their development
Transportation Mgr (Former Employee), Ft Worth,TXAugust 11, 2012
Cons: they don't care about the employees
I worked for this company for 15 years and was kicked to the curb when the economy started to get a little tight. Their stratagy was to get rid of the higher paid, long term employees and have the facilities run by those with little or no experience. Instead of getting ideas from their seasoned employees on how to cope, they just let them go.

I had – more... increased the backhaul revenue by %300 the prior year and was on pace to break that and was let go because I was on an upper pay scale. – less

April 16, 2013

Same situation happened to me 15 year employee! Never missed a day, always on time and always dedicated to the customer. I've seen it first hand many fellow employees get fired or laid off due to the years they had with the company. Very sad company to work for. If you like working hard for a company that will eventually stab you in the back then this job is for you!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but does not seem to have a strategy to move forward or position themselves as a "player" inthe wholesaler distribution Building Products
National Account Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 26, 2012
Pros: god people
Cons: constantly trying to save $, and eliminate positions. not much forward thinking just a survivorlist mode.
I was given an ovefrall 4 out of 5 review as I was able to bring new business as well as maintain sales an margin in an industry that was slowing down. My job was eliminated due to current economic conditions and was placed in another role that did not utilize my skill set and overall talents with little psoosibility of upward advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paycheck, but not a career...
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 21, 2012
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: bad atmosphere
BlueLinx is a large undercapitalized company that is struggling to exist in a bad economy. They are making attempts to change the marketing strategy, but seem to continue to make the same mistakes repeatedly. Consequently, the talent needed to help make the transition is leaving the company.

Because of this, people at all levels are uneasy. Many of – more... the remaining employees are more worried about staying employed than they are about taking the company to the next level.

There are still some loyal and dedicated employees. Bottom line - a better-than-nothing place to earn a paycheck, but not a good place for a career. This is especially true for sales jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
COMMERCIAL / RESIDENTIAL ARCHITECTURAL ENGINEER (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 15, 2012
Excellent company to work for. Potential for growth and advancement.