Find companies:
BMC Software
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

BMC Software Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Executive Assistant/Office Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2015
Pros: free lunch once a week, free fruit, snack, soda
Cons: advancement
There are buys and not so busy days, no micromanaging, nice people, helpful people, promoting from inside does happen in some situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a matter of survival
Lead Technical Marketing Consultant (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
The Good:
Very good company to work for.
Lots of freedom to do what you think is best for the company.
Lots of possibilities to travel and meet colleagues abroad.
Good package.

The Bad:
Promotions are on a Who-Knows-Who basis and based not on merit.
No real salary increase.
Company constantly finds ways to pay the least bonus possible.
Working from home gives you less visibility into the company.

The Ugly:
Management lives in another world completely unrelated to the workforce.
Yearly cost reduction. Every end of March it's a gamble if you stay or if you go. Being layed off or not is completely unrelated to performance or importance in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BMC Software
System Desktop Analyst/Executive Level Support (Current Employee), Houston TXMay 27, 2015
Pros: Great Benefits, Gym on campus, New Technologies
Cons: No annual raises
I started at BMC 3 years ago and I have moved up from Sales Desk Support to Exec Level Support my current manager is probably the best manager I have worked with. My hours are set but are flexible which is great anytime I need time off it is granted and I work with all different types of technology which of course will help me in the future. Overall it is a great place to work and I am glad to be part of BMC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome org.
Senior Product Developer at BMC (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNMay 25, 2015
Company is run "lean", especially since going private. Decent place to work considering all factors for "tier 1" devs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and casual, yet professional, work environment!
Senior Video Production Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 5, 2015
Pros: great work environment, variety of lunch options, workout facilities, media/technology, small community
I looked forward to going to work each day. The team I worked with was very creative and very easy to bounce ideas off of and make things happen. The professional and casual atmosphere allowed each person to be themselves and do the job in which they were hired to do. If it weren't for corporate downsizing, I would expect to still be there today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever-changing and fast paced
Administrative Assistant IV (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 27, 2015
The only constant here is change. Which for most, can be a very good thing. The fast paced environment makes the work day go by rather quickly. Excellent benefits as well!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Sr. SQA Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CAApril 13, 2015
Pros: inside lunches
Nice workplace, good friendly environment , great coworkers. Learned in details about all BMC core products CLM Cloud, BNA, BSA, AR, ITSM, SRM, CMDB, Mid-Tier, Marimba Tuner and Transmitter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Support Analyst/Partner Liaison (Current Employee), Houston, TexasApril 8, 2015
Nice place to work - minimal advancement opportunities.
Nice people overall.
The buildings are nice and well kept
Covered parking
Not extremely stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small place but fun
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Laurel, MDMarch 30, 2015
Pros: I worked alone
Cons: I wored alone
This was a small company but a fun place to work. I mostly worked alone and there was not a great deal of down time a stayed busy and my days went by fast. The size of the work place was in a very nice area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, progressive, flexible, great people, great management
Lead/Senior Technical Writer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 28, 2015
Wonderful place to work! Management appreciates their staff, and there is good rapport among coworkers. Very professional environment and a place you feel respected and valued.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good products ready for a larger audience, teams in need of fresh direction
Technical Support, BladeLogic Server Automation (Current Employee), Lexington, MAJanuary 26, 2015
BMC Software provides large-scale infrastructure software, such as Remedy ticket tracking and BladeLogic Server Automation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BMC Software
Organizational Development Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 25, 2015
BMC was overall a good company. Good management is lots of business units. Good company benefits overall. No major complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grinds it out
BUSINESS VALUE CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 24, 2015
BMC could do a better job of looking at people as people instead of carbon units. I found my fellow workers to be very pleasant people but constantly under excessive pressure to sell sell sell. I would create a culture that brings customers to BMC as opposed to sending sales reps to customers. Software companies, for the most part, live and die on quarterly numbers. Maybe it's time to do something different?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Software Developer Intern (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 13, 2015
It is good place. I learned a lot. Great people to interact and to learn many things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely helpful management
INTERN / CORPORATE SALES OPERATIONS TEAM (Current Employee), Irvine, CAJanuary 9, 2015
Pros: great compensation for interns
Cons: not much room for advancement as intern
Great place to advance your career in software technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it was Remedy
SENIOR PERFORMANCE ENGINEER (SAAS) (Former Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 18, 2014
When it was Remedy - it was a great place to work. Soon after BMC purchased us - it was a different place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
House Supervisor.
House Supervisor (Current Employee), Panama City, FLSeptember 20, 2014
I interact with MD's, staff and families. I do staffing and am the night shift administrator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work related
Field service engineer (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Nice company, but lost the contract to Dell computers. Nice people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experiance
IS&T Project Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 29, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: yearly lay offs and they don't give out raises very often
Working for BMC gave me great opportunities to learn many skills to further my career. Management for the most part is fair and professional. Co-workers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Traveling Job
Sales (Former Employee), Dallas Tx.June 19, 2014
I enjoyed working in the Furniture industry. I requires a lot of travel

1 2 3

About BMC Software

BMC offers IT management solutions that help customers master the complexity of IT. From mainframe to mobile, BMC delivers the – Read more

BMC Software Salaries

Account Manager
$100,000 per year
Software Consultant
$120,000 per year