Find companies:
BNSF Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
186 reviews

BNSF Railway United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace; unfortunately growth is limited
Transportation Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 19, 2015
Pros: Occasional free lunches, young and fun culture
Cons: Occasional after-hours work, weekend expectations via email
Great, young, and fun workplace. Work-life balance is lacking but that is more of an industry downside, not a company downside. Company doesn't really have much room for growth. Good entry-level job for building up experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and Benefite bad work life balance
Trainmaster (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 15, 2015
Pros: Pay and benefits
Cons: working hours
Typical day - 14 hours 0500-1900 or 1700-0700
What I learned - A great deal about safety
Management - Not bad at the mid level, not good at the upper level, bad at the lower level
Hardest part of the job - Learning all the union guide lines for employees
Most enjoyable part of the job - The train crews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Development and support projects
Application Developer (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 10, 2015
BNSF was Infosys client and I worked on Mainframes developing systems and improving performance. I also provided support when systems had issues and fixed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture is okay
SAP Technical Consultant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 9, 2015
When you work in Production support project, you have to be available always like 24*7 phone call support which is bit difficult to handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Benefits are the best in the industry.
Apprentice Carman (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 6, 2015
Pros: Pay and benefits.
Cons: Horrible work schedule.
Would be a lot better if they were more family friendly. Days off were in the middle of the week with no opportunity for weekends off to spend time with your family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/n
Conductor (Former Employee), amarillo txMarch 18, 2015
good for single person; dont have a life outside of work; management only looks out for themselves; taxes are out of this world and union due are not worth it; union is in bed with the company;
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a , at times , fun place to work , I learned something new almost on a daily basis
Track Inspector / Foreman (Former Employee), Chariton, IAMarch 17, 2015
Pros: loved working in an outdoor environment.
Cons: the winter extreme temperature changes
It is a great place to learn various skills, ( machine operator, Foreman ,, got to meet a lot of different people from different backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Employer
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Enid, OKMarch 12, 2015
Pros: getting off duty
Cons: dishonesty with the company and labor union.
Government needs to step in and break this company down. Supervisors are not qualified. Workers are based solely on seniority. Labor union is in bed with the company yet takes dues from its members. Definitely do NOT recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Good Working Enviroment
Conductor (Former Employee), Spokane, WAFebruary 27, 2015
Pros: great benifits, great pay
Cons: shift work, on call
Switch Box Cars In Train Yard, Go On Road Trips. Work With Other Employees as a team. Made sure all Paperwork was up to date and followed all guide lines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BNSF Railway is a good career to have.
Trackman (Former Employee), Longview, TXFebruary 23, 2015
Pros: the pay, benefits, retirement, and having a union.
Cons: i was only home maybe 18 hours a week to 2 weeks.
BNSF Railway has wonderful benefits, great retirement, great pay, and they are very safety conscious. Safety is their main goal. Then production. We worked hard as a team, and accomplished a lot. They pay was the same for everyone, but seniority was how things where based off of. We would normally get a dinner once a month at a steak house of our choice for have to accidents for that month. The structure with the Road Master, Foreman, and Assistant Foreman's was well kept up. Things seem to run smoothly most of the time. I learned a lot about safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Conductor (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: free safety meals
Cons: short breaks
well ran operation, lots of fun employees, and a safe work environment. I enjoyed working for the railroad. It was fun. Always away from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dry life style.
Conducto/ TYE (Current Employee), Mandan, NDFebruary 20, 2015
systematic work environment; long hours away from family and fun. large number of angry; demotivated individuals. company is truly missing on building the TEAM work attitude and spirit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB!!
Signalman (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 11, 2015
• Installed, inspected, tested, and repaired electric gate crossings, signals, and signal equipment within division of railroad system.
• Drove truck along track route and stopped truck to inspect & test gate crossings, signals and signal equipment, like interlocks hotbox detectors.
• Tested signal circuit connections, using standard electrical testing equipment.
• Climbed poles or dug trenches to install wiring, conduit, and related hardware.
• Used non-power tools such as: shovels, picks, axes, sledgehammers, etc.
• Completed on-the-job and classroom training as required to remain on the job, Maintenance Way/Safety Test
• Trained in operating the crane/boom truck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Company
Relief Supervisor (Current Employee), Denver, COFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: health benefits / competitive pay
Good company with excellent benefits. Requires work availability 24/7 in all weather environments. Great training programs. But limited advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job
Java Developer (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 30, 2015
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
The job I learn a lot in it
Best environment, employees, and project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work
Account Manager (Former Employee), Seattle WAJanuary 28, 2015
Lack in advancement opportunities highly competitive and cut throat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, Steady, Work
Intermodal Checkpoint Inspector (Former Employee), Alliance, TXJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: people, reliability
Cons: hours - no leeway for children's after school activities, etc.
The community at BNSF is a close one, and every employee seems to be there to support each other. I really enjoyed that about this job and I haven't found an environment quite like that since I left.
At the time, management left a little to be desired, as the managers at the time were inexperienced in leadership. To be fair, I worked night shifts mostly, and that is where management began training as the inbound traffic was much slower.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with huge growth potential for most employees
Demurrage / Senior Analyst (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: good, stable, private company
Cons: agressive corporate culture
I enjoyed working for the BNSF railway though the environment is a competitive and unforgiving one at times. The company is designed to promote those willing to succeed at any cost and to minimize or marginalize those who are interested in stability and wanting to remain stable in a job role or function. The motto is if you are not moving up, you should be prepared to move out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moved locomotives from shop to outbound areas, some cleaning and maintenance
Mechanical laborer (Current Employee), Barstow, CAJanuary 15, 2015
Pros: retirement benefits, health care
Cons: some health hazards and dangerous environment
Great place to work. Potential upward mobility and job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Conductor (Former Employee), Dilworth, MNJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: pay
Cons: family time
Great guys, fullfilling work, location and family time not accomadating.
Mgt was not understanding of family problems.
Hours were 10 off and 12 plus on 6-7 days continuos
Conductors class was intense but rewarding
Road trips were my favorite
The yard had many positions but it varied daily

1 2 3 4 5

About BNSF Railway

BNSF Railway is one of North America’s leading freight transportation companies, with a rail network of 32,500 route miles – Read more

BNSF Railway Salaries

Conductor
$80,000 per year
Engineer
$80,000 per year
Conductor
$22.00 per hour
Senior Analyst
$72,000 per year
Conductor
$7,000 per month