Find companies:
BNSF Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
152 reviews

BNSF Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great comradery
Engineering Management Intern (Former Employee), Fresno, CANovember 8, 2013
One gets the opportunity to get hands on railroad experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
producitve
Train Conductor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 4, 2013
great place to work wouldnt say anything bad about there people was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Carmen / Material corridinator (Former Employee), Springfield, MOOctober 29, 2013
although the pay was great for what we were required to do. The management was lacking on a professional level. a lot of finger pointing and no one ever has the ansewer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Conductor Trainee (Former Employee), minot, NDOctober 22, 2013
Great pay. Plenty of work. Learn all the rules of the railroad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: veriety of employees to work with.
Cons: long hours and on call schedule.
Bnsf is a very good company to work for. The pay is very good and great benefits. I can say proudly that everything I have today is because of Bnsf. They gave me knowledge experience and personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Intermodal Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2013
Great company with endless opportunities and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BNSF Railway is a great job with exalent benefits
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: exallent pay and benefits
Cons: being on call 24 hours a day 365 days a year
Overall the BNSF Railway was an incredible job that had a lot of good qualities, however due to the fact that the railroad is a 24 hour a day, 365 day a year industry the quality of life was difficult. The co-workers I dealt with came from all types of backgrounds and I made a lot of good friends in my 10 years of service. A typical day on the railroad – more... was challenging and yet simple, it would all depend on the task we had to preform. One of the most difficult parts was having to be on call 24 hours a day seven days a week which made it very hard to plan spending quality time with my family. When it comes to the management aspect of things at times it became frustrating due to the fact that most had no railroad experience and their training was not as extensive as it should be. Working on the BNSF Railway a person develops a unique bond with co-workers account of the type of industry and quality of life it creates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
NCS GIS Data Analyst (contractor) (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 2, 2013
a typical day at work are long
what i learned are latest technology
co-worker are great group to work with
the hardest part of the job is starting new projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with interior and exterior customers with multiple tasks
Senior analyst (Current Employee), Topeka, KS and Ft Worth, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: very good working enviorment.
Cons: can't think of anything i would change in the departments i worked
My day consisted of a number of activities and responsibilities.
Monitor customer data regarding rail movements into facility. Verify data is captured within tariff provisions.
Receive and make calls to customers regarding issues such as miscellaneous charges due and discuss reasons charges have not been received.
Coordinate change program changes with – more... our IT Department to handle changes in tariff provisions as well as Marketing requests for changes to current processes.
Monitor tariffs and make changes as required along with reviewing other Railroads tariffs.
Training within the department as needed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice because you can move around with and within the company
BNSF (Current Employee), West of the MississippiSeptember 21, 2013
As a XXXX a typical day is 8 hours, sometimes you may work more depending on the location and availability of workers, and you are on hourly wages.

As a XXXXXX, you work all of the time and are on call all of the time and are on a salary.

It is a huge company so you see that in a lot of the structure of the business and business dealings.

Management – more... is like most things there are some really great managers and there are some pretty awful managers too, unlike most places, though, the railroad has it's own culture, some people really really like it and others find they it's not for them.

I think it depends on what side of the company you are on to describe what the hardest part of the job is, and I think it depends on what your goals are. For some it can be the people, for some it can be the physical side of the job, or being chained to a desk, and for some it can be the 24/7/365 culture of the railroad. For me, I don't like it when it's slow, I would rather be busy mentally and physically at work.

I like working outdoors, and the physical side of the job, so for me that is the most enjoyable side of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Welder/Grinder (Current Employee), Pueblo, COSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: travel pay
Cons: traveling
Shoot welds and weld/grind on frogs.
Learned how to weld on track components.
Management is good.
Get along with all co-workers
Trying to get time to work on tracks would be the hardest part of the job.
I enjoy the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to be employed
Carman (Former Employee), Barstow, CASeptember 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: worked nights and weekends
everyday was a challenge and experience
I learned about trains
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with sacrifices.
Railroad Conductor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: ability to relocate, seniority permiting
Cons: recent contract negotiations, medical plans are terrible.
On call status 24/7 includes weekends and holidays. you learn teamwork how to plan ahead and problem solving. Managers are good to work with but they have goals and resposibilities that they have accomplish on a daily basis.Hardest part of the job is not having a regular schedule, most people that hire out will be on call for 5-6 years. Schedules get – more... better with time. The money, but theres a price to pay. Your time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day was never the same.
Track Engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 10, 2013
Start the day out with a job briefing and then it was any number of tasks to do. There was pulling ties, dropping anchors, pulling spikes, picking rail, pulling cars, or driving and carring materials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowwer Pay and high hours
Terminal Manager (Current Employee), Spring, TXSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: high starting pay
Cons: long hours and little time off
Field and Office Personnel who work entirely different schedules are paid the same. Field Personnel may work over 60 hours a week, nights holidays and weekends, depending on the boss that you work for. Bosses may may give the flexibility in schedules as long as requirements are met, however that is purely up to their discretion. There is no standardization – more... of responsibilities so many manager may delegate jobs and tasks that they don't want while not taking off other tasks their subordinates do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BNSf tells me Wealth and Wellbeing
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 3, 2013
Safety and quality are the operation grown of the railroad.
Safety at all levels.
Wealth and a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging enviroment
Operations Manager - Transportation Department (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: no work, personal life balance
Different management style. Politics are a big factor. BNSF was a great place for employment, pay as well i learned many skills and trades along the way. The hardest part of the job was the outside workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work place
Carman tech (Former Employee), Elwood, ILAugust 19, 2013
Pros: work 3.5 days off 3.5 days.
Cons: not enough pay
BNSF was a great place for employment, pay as well as benefits, i learned many skills and trades along the way. The hardest part of the job was the outside workplace I loved my partner, co-workers and the ablility to learn quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company and friendly working environment
Intern (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 8, 2013
It feels good working here. Every in my group is kind, smart with high efficiency. I have learned a lot from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job if you had Ten years of senoirity
Conductor (Former Employee), Guernsey, WYAugust 7, 2013
Could never hold a job, was always bumped a lot and finally furloughed.

About BNSF Railway

BNSF Railway is one of North America’s leading freight transportation companies, with a rail network of 32,500 route miles – Read more