Find companies:
BNSF Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
179 reviews

BNSF Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Production Engineer Roadmaster for BNSF (Current Employee), USAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: great job great benefits
Cons: 90 percent of the job is away from home
Typically working in management around the country with groups of 75 men or more daily. Goals, safety, time deadlines, overtime management, budgeting, pre job trips, communication with NOC headquarters on projects. Debriefings moring briefings with crews for job duties. Ordering of project equipment for machines and men. 27 heavy duty on track machines that have to be moved from state to state through logictic movement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Agency Recruiting Manager (Former Employee), ArkansasJanuary 3, 2014
I enjoyed almost all aspects of working for this company. Great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an good work place
Foreman (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: good work place
Cons: always on the road away from family
I have real good days at work. I have learned a lot on building bridges. Work around some good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BNSF
, hostler (Former Employee), Kansas City KSDecember 19, 2013
Pros: 8 hour shifts and lots of overtime
Cons: different culture.
Shift Work, Hard Labor, Rough Environment.
Great Job, good experience, Great pay and benefits. This job is not for everyone but many excel here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Senior Analyst Revenue Accounting (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXNovember 21, 2013
good company hard working groups
good friends and are very charitable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun College job,
Corporate Management Trainee (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 21, 2013
Pros: free sandwiches, easy job
Cons: possibly not full time
Not a bad job to have while being a full time student. Flexible hours and nothing too taxing. Worked with other twenty somethings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel.
Tower Maintainer (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 20, 2013
Pros: excellent training programs. while traveling we ate for free.
Cons: travel nearly 100% of the time.
Traveled almost everyday. Had a great training regimen. Coworkers were fun to work around. Safety was in high regard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great comradery
Engineering Management Intern (Former Employee), Fresno, CANovember 8, 2013
One gets the opportunity to get hands on railroad experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
producitve
Train Conductor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 4, 2013
great place to work wouldnt say anything bad about there people was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Carmen / Material corridinator (Former Employee), Springfield, MOOctober 29, 2013
although the pay was great for what we were required to do. The management was lacking on a professional level. a lot of finger pointing and no one ever has the ansewer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Conductor Trainee (Former Employee), minot, NDOctober 22, 2013
Great pay. Plenty of work. Learn all the rules of the railroad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: veriety of employees to work with.
Cons: long hours and on call schedule.
Bnsf is a very good company to work for. The pay is very good and great benefits. I can say proudly that everything I have today is because of Bnsf. They gave me knowledge experience and personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Intermodal Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2013
Great company with endless opportunities and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BNSF Railway is a great job with exalent benefits
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: exallent pay and benefits
Cons: being on call 24 hours a day 365 days a year
Overall the BNSF Railway was an incredible job that had a lot of good qualities, however due to the fact that the railroad is a 24 hour a day, 365 day a year industry the quality of life was difficult. The co-workers I dealt with came from all types of backgrounds and I made a lot of good friends in my 10 years of service. A typical day on the railroad was challenging and yet simple, it would all depend on the task we had to preform. One of the most difficult parts was having to be on call 24 hours a day seven days a week which made it very hard to plan spending quality time with my family. When it comes to the management aspect of things at times it became frustrating due to the fact that most had no railroad experience and their training was not as extensive as it should be. Working on the BNSF Railway a person develops a unique bond with co-workers account of the type of industry and quality of life it creates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
NCS GIS Data Analyst (contractor) (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 2, 2013
a typical day at work are long
what i learned are latest technology
co-worker are great group to work with
the hardest part of the job is starting new projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with interior and exterior customers with multiple tasks
Senior analyst (Current Employee), Topeka, KS and Ft Worth, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: very good working enviorment.
Cons: can't think of anything i would change in the departments i worked
My day consisted of a number of activities and responsibilities.
Monitor customer data regarding rail movements into facility. Verify data is captured within tariff provisions.
Receive and make calls to customers regarding issues such as miscellaneous charges due and discuss reasons charges have not been received.
Coordinate change program changes with our IT Department to handle changes in tariff provisions as well as Marketing requests for changes to current processes.
Monitor tariffs and make changes as required along with reviewing other Railroads tariffs.
Training within the department as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice because you can move around with and within the company
BNSF (Current Employee), West of the MississippiSeptember 21, 2013
As a XXXX a typical day is 8 hours, sometimes you may work more depending on the location and availability of workers, and you are on hourly wages.

As a XXXXXX, you work all of the time and are on call all of the time and are on a salary.

It is a huge company so you see that in a lot of the structure of the business and business dealings.

Management is like most things there are some really great managers and there are some pretty awful managers too, unlike most places, though, the railroad has it's own culture, some people really really like it and others find they it's not for them.

I think it depends on what side of the company you are on to describe what the hardest part of the job is, and I think it depends on what your goals are. For some it can be the people, for some it can be the physical side of the job, or being chained to a desk, and for some it can be the 24/7/365 culture of the railroad. For me, I don't like it when it's slow, I would rather be busy mentally and physically at work.

I like working outdoors, and the physical side of the job, so for me that is the most enjoyable side of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Welder/Grinder (Current Employee), Pueblo, COSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: travel pay
Cons: traveling
Shoot welds and weld/grind on frogs.
Learned how to weld on track components.
Management is good.
Get along with all co-workers
Trying to get time to work on tracks would be the hardest part of the job.
I enjoy the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to be employed
Carman (Former Employee), Barstow, CASeptember 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: worked nights and weekends
everyday was a challenge and experience
I learned about trains
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with sacrifices.
Railroad Conductor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: ability to relocate, seniority permiting
Cons: recent contract negotiations, medical plans are terrible.
On call status 24/7 includes weekends and holidays. you learn teamwork how to plan ahead and problem solving. Managers are good to work with but they have goals and resposibilities that they have accomplish on a daily basis.Hardest part of the job is not having a regular schedule, most people that hire out will be on call for 5-6 years. Schedules get better with time. The money, but theres a price to pay. Your time.

About BNSF Railway

BNSF Railway is one of North America’s leading freight transportation companies, with a rail network of 32,500 route miles – Read more

BNSF Railway Salaries

Conductor
$80,000 per year
Engineer
$80,000 per year
Conductor
$22.00 per hour
$7,000 per month
Senior Analyst
$72,000 per year