Find companies:
Bob's Discount Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

Bob's Discount Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bobs
Office Associate (Former Employee), New JerseyAugust 7, 2014
Coworkers are friendly and caring. Managers are never around when you need them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work, product needs work
sales (Former Employee), stamford, ctAugust 5, 2014
pleasant place to work, no excitement in quality of product selling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bobs Discount Furniture / Warehouse-customer service associate
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 4, 2014
Very organized company that provides great benefits including healthcare, vision, 41k, etc. Majority of my co-workers are friendly and great team members. A typical day at work includes loading and unloading trucks, assembling and placing furniture on showroom floor, as well as loading and unloading customer merchandise from and onto vehicles. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I helped get it all done. In addition, making all the customers happy and satisfied with their furniture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Office Associate (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYJuly 28, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), 4095 US Route 1 suit 300, monmouth junction njJuly 21, 2014
Pros: they work around your schedule and have vacation days, sick days, and birthday vacation
Cons: have to work weekends especially sunday the entire day mostly
What makes it an enjoyable place to work at is that you get to work with people who are willing to assist you in areas you are weak at. You get to expand your people skills and improve vastly when it comes to public speaking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Office Assistant/Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYJuly 1, 2014
Great people and customers. Your schedule is not set and the pay is okay. The discount is great to have and the opportunity for advancement is readily available if you can circumvent the politics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work environment
Sales Assocate (Former Employee), Worcester, MAJune 27, 2014
Pros: lots of vacation time
A typical work day starts by taking care of your area of focus. It's very busy but it helps the time fly by. All managers and co workers were great. Don't get me wrong we all had our moments from time to time but at the end of the day we all understood that we were a team!! That was most important to me. The pay structure was awesome; hourly and commission. – more... Over all this job was perfect only thing is they need to work on product knowledge a little more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office
Office Assistant (Former Employee), worcester,maJune 19, 2014
many task and abilities as of great customer service skills, multi task , computers, office environment changes everyday, different things to do as in the office.
management was not that excellent I feel management team lacks professionalism along with other areas. but over all things got done and customers were taken care of on time and all issues – more... resolved.
I was able to meet great people nice co-workers everyone is a big team and gave great customer welcoming and great environment to work in. the hardest part of my job was that I needed to completely solve all customer issues on my own because it would take an excessive amount of anger from a customer for a manager to step in and help customer. the most enjoyable part of the job was to have everything done and all customer taken care of and giving customer there satisfaction on there order and problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with wonderful people
SAP Business Analyst (Former Employee), Manchester, CTJune 17, 2014
Pros: bob’s encourages continual training and promotion from within the company.
Cons: the workload can make a work-life balance difficult.
Even as Bob’s grows to a regional chain, the family atmosphere has remained. Bob’s employees want to see the company succeed and take pride in its achievements.

Bob’s encourages continual training and promotion from within the company. Employees are genuinely excited about new projects and opportunities.

Occasionally that excitement leads to a project – more... the company isn’t ready to support yet: ex. Coast-to-coast delivery. Many hours of planning and preparation will go into a short-lived project. Many of these aborted projects will be implemented successfully in the company’s future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Paramus, NJJune 10, 2014
The store and company have great potential.
The company has a lot going for it, can't say too many bad things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekends a must but pay is good for driven individuals
Commissioned Sales Associate (Current Employee), South Portland, MEMay 13, 2014
Pros: money, easy work
Cons: work weekends
a typical workday at Bobs involves competing with 20 other associates within the store for sales opportunities. There is an up list where each employee gets a shot at greeting a customer. Once there is more customers than sales reps is when the elite separate themselves from the mediocre reps. There is good money involved if you are able to read people – more... and pick up on buying signals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and ambitious place to work.
Receiving unloader/stocker (Former Employee), Taftville, CTMay 7, 2014
Pros: cafe, fresh made burgers and dogs, games, vending machine
Cons: inconsistency
This specific place of employment offers young individuals with a great income and solid benefits. This employer offers training in many different areas including: customer service, Lift truck operation, and Fork lift operation. At the end of the day, I learned some great new job skills such as, time management, warehouse safety, and etc. Although, – more... whenever there is a issue at hand, it can be either resolved sooner or not at all. On that same note, management is very assertive with fellow co-workers for the shared goal of equal opportunity. This specific place of employment is very diverse so it took some adapting to when I first got hired. Overall, this job is very physical and fast-paced. From my personal view, that is the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Interior Designer / Sales (Former Employee), Farmingdale, NYApril 21, 2014
Just moved to ft lauddale fl
now working at Macys

Bobs was a great position wanted to mve to Florida
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paid slavery nothing more.
Picker / Selector (Former Employee), Taftville, CTApril 19, 2014
Pros: free soda.
Cons: healthcare, trying to schedule vacation time
in the distribution center drugs run rampant. some bosses being rumored as part of it. Overall environment is not one that an upstanding citizen would want to be around on a daily basis. I had a piece count position and met required standards 4 times and 4 times the company made adjustments to standards or rules to avoid paying the rightful money owed. – more... I have witnessed many good employees get terminated, while corrupt and lazy individuals were rewarded. I have worked here twice. my first time I loved my job and was part of a family, but since bob sold it and corporate America took over, that great company that I was once part of died. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Exactly the best sales job ever
RETAIL SALES (Former Employee), Woburn, MAApril 3, 2014
This would be a steppingstone job for a salesman, but i would warn anyone to be cautious as this is also a black-hole job. (meaning it will suck the life out of you)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very enjoyable place to work
Warehouse associate (Former Employee), South Portland, MEApril 3, 2014
Pros: free ice cream, cookies, coffee decent pay rate
Cons: customers coming in at the last minute when we already locked the bay door
Start out unloading merchandise from trucks unwrap/unbox and assemble items (chairs, fireplaces, beds, etc.)
Take customer invoices enter them into the computer locate merchandise on the floor load it onto customer vehicle. keep the floor stocked, take inventory on beds. .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
furniture everywher and of all kinds nice
clerk office (Former Employee), Stamford, CTMarch 26, 2014
Pros: relaxed environment
Cons: some cons
The staff is friendly. The customers however have a lot of complaints and are not happy sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good stepping stone
Consistent top performing salesperson (Former Employee), Bellingham, MAMarch 14, 2014
Bob's was a great place to work while I was in college pursuing my education. The schedule was flexible and management was accommodating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work, however; management is poor in the DC Metro location
Office Associate (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good health, vision and dental benefits
Cons: terrible management
Bob's Discount Furniture is a good place to work, only if you are in certain areas. The DC metro management especially at the Hyattsville, MD store management is terrible. The customers aren't that friendly and they always ask for a discount, at a discount furniture store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place
Office Associate (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDFebruary 25, 2014
A typical day at work is very interesting with the customers that approach the office.
I have learned a lot in retail and I already have expertise in customer service.
Co-worker we all got along
The hardest pary of the job is knowing how to work the system.
My most important part of the job was helping the customers with their problem of delivery, getting – more... their money back and just someone they say to vent on. – less

1 2 3 4

About Bob's Discount Furniture

Bob's Discount Furniture is an everyday low price furniture and bedding retailer with over 51 showrooms in 11 states in the Northeast – Read more