Find companies:
Bob Evans Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
425 reviews

Bob Evans Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MIJuly 9, 2014
great workplace, learned great customer service. awesome management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned
Store Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 8, 2014
Pros: got tons of management experience
Cons: work schedule
The biggest thing I learned working at Bob Evans was how to balance work/personal life. Whille working at Bob Evans I had to work some crazy hours in order to move up in the company. Also you were required to work 10hr shifts. This was sometimes difficult while raising a family as well but I had great support from my husband as well as my mother thankfully. – more... It taught me to take advantage of every opportunity and how to balance life with a changing schedule all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy Waitressing
Waitress/Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee), Holland, MIJuly 7, 2014
I enjoyed the many different people I was able to meet and interact with as well as working in a fast paced enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Kitchen Preparation (Current Employee), Batavia, NYJuly 2, 2014
Great company to work for, flexible with hours and availability and great food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ill-Prepared Management & Mistreatment
Hostess/Cashier (Current Employee), Brook Park, OHJune 25, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no work-life balance, no consistency, no sense of trust, no respect, poor benefits, poor compensation
As a Hostess in the Greater Cleveland Area, I have had the "immense" pleasure of working for a busy Bob's location. A typical day at Bob E's is clocking in five minutes before your shift and clocking out half-an-hour after your scheduled time to leave. Management is inexperienced and underprepared. They do not maintain professional behavior and it's – more... easy to lose respect for them because of it. The turnover rate is high for good reason.

On one occasion in particular I was scheduled to work from 8AM until 4PM and was requested at 3PM to stay until 7PM because a coworker called out last minute because they had their "states-level track meet." You really think they'd find out that late they were going to states? Management is ill-prepared to handle its young employees without making themselves look dumb.

Hardest part of the job is tolerating Bob's policies.

The most enjoyable part is going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
hostess/sever (Current Employee), New Martinsville, WvJune 20, 2014
Pros: alot of nice people to work with
Cons: cut hours
A typical day at work starts out by me clocking in , cleaning and making sure that everything is stocked and depending on what i m doing would depend on how the rest of my work day went. I learned that we all had to come together and work as a team and help each other out. All my co workers at work get along and we work together to help each other out. – more... The hardest part of my job would have to be to deal with the costumers everyday but we were taught to deal with them with a smile. The most enjoyable part of my job is that i get to see new people everyday and get to spend time around alot of people . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work place
Server (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FloridaJune 20, 2014
Pros: making money
Cons: not enough hours, hardly ever any breaks
From serving, to customer service, to greeting people, and cleaning off tables. We have a good team. Teamwork is very important. It's a fast paced work place. We have to be on our toes. The management needs a little work in my opinion. I love the managers, they just need better communication skills. Hardest part of my job is having to clean tables, – more... take hot food from the window to the tables, greet my new guests all at one time. We are all only one human being. If we could only be in two or three places at one time. Very demanding, but rewarding. Easiest part is checking guests out at the counter and running the cash register. Most enjoyable part of my job is pleasing my guests. If they have a smile on their face when they leave, then I have done my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Hostess (Former Employee), New Albany, OHJune 17, 2014
Pros: great first job
Cons: customer complaints
I was a hostess for Bob Evans a little over two years, great first job. It helped me with my communication skills, customer service, etc. What I learned from the management at Bob Evans was do your job, and enjoy it also. I loved working with most of my coworkers that's how I met a lot of people and I still stay in touch with them. the hardest part – more... about my job was sometimes giving the best service, there are just some people that expect more and more. The most enjoyable part of the job was I would never have to stress or dread coming into work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like fast working place but i dont like the management.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Morgantown, WVJune 17, 2014
Pros: no free lunshe or anything
Cons: not much at all
During the busy hours...the jobs that is not mine , I do like buzzing table,.i dont like costumer wait for a long period of time.Most of the time I missed my break and starved to death and the management didn't see that and didn't even ask if i take any,They should have scheduled time for the worker to have their break
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Host & Server (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 15, 2014
A typical day would be once you enter the door its time to work and help out . i learned about being a host, server and how to be a great sales person and how to treat a customer. managers were always helpful so were the co-workers. hardest part of the job is when you first start and you hesitate alot about alot of things . the fun part about the job – more... i was able to experience new things and serve great customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help others!!
Hostess (Former Employee), Piqua, OHJune 11, 2014
Pros: the kids
Cons: rush hours
Loved working with all the customers and t=younger kids that would come in... also worked with some amazing people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job
Server, Carry-out, Hostess (Former Employee), Lewis Center, OHJune 10, 2014
Pros: can make pretty good money
Cons: poor management, long hours
its a okay job just depends on what managers you have. And if your full time get ready to work 60hrs a week. but if you like money and working really hard for it then this is your job!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different
Waitress (Former Employee), Hickory, NCJune 10, 2014
Pros: half price on food
Cons: cut hours do to new health care laws
Not all things are what they seem. Love waiting tables and being around people. Do not like the added drama that some coworkers bring to the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee), Waynesburg, PAJune 5, 2014
Pros: responsability and friendship
Cons: less hours and lack of opportunity to progress
Typical day: greeted and seated customers, ran the register, and took care of the closing duties
Learned: Social skills and how to rotate customers in the servers sections
Management: Answered questions that you had and helped you when you got busy at the register.
Co-workers: Helped out when you needed help and easy to get along with
Hardest part of – more... the job: lack of hours and opportunites to progress and learn new things
Enjoyable part of the job: working with a good team and gaining friends whether it was employees and customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier/Server (Former Employee), LakelandJune 4, 2014
Pros: pay rate and tips
Cons: not enough work hours
Hospitality specialist; greeted customers for dining experience; prepped food items for front area cook; prepared desserts and salads for servers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite job
Server (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJune 4, 2014
I loved working at Bob Evans and I would like to get back into serving. The people are always friendly and the food is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fast paced, and plenty to do.
Waitress (part-time) (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJune 4, 2014
Pros: plenty of hours
Cons: management
Some co-workers were difficult to deal with but overall a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Service Attendant (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 3, 2014
Pros: working in a small organziation getting to know regualr customers as well as the employees
Cons: not enough hours, or benefits
Job included working with others in the kitchen in meeting state and government regulations on sanitizing the environment as well as the utensils. This was a great place to work for as well as the people were easy to get along with we all helped each with making sure that the needs and wants of the many customers were met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun outgoing people to work with
Hostess/Server (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJune 2, 2014
A typical day at work would start off slow then as dinner time came around it would pick up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Host/ Dish Tanker/ Server/ Cashier (Former Employee), Catonsville, MDJune 1, 2014
Ive worker for Bob Evans sinc i was a senior in high school, I've seen a lot of mangers and people in this company, i was with the company for three years no problem but when i fell and severally injured my back in february, i was let go in march for poor performance, even tho ugh i was on light duty

1 2 3 4 5