Bob Evans Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bobevans
Cleaning, food prep, cooking (Former Employee) –  Clayton, OHSeptember 22, 2017
its a great place to eat but. not to work really...
how to run a dishwashers
was never tobe found
great ppl
ppl not caring and rushing
get food 4 hafl the price when you work..
Pros
half price food
Cons
very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Lewes, DESeptember 22, 2017
just like any restruant it can be very fast paced and sometimes slow paced. the managment is wonderful, they help out and not just bark orders around.
Pros
50% off food
Cons
no free lunch and sometime the had early server cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism As Far as the Eye can See
Server (Former Employee) –  Midland, MISeptember 22, 2017
Hours were short for what they were paying you.
If you weren't one of the managers' favorites, expect to have a 2 to 3 table section while the favorites received 5 to 6 tables and made more than enough to pay the gas it took to get to the restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at bob evens
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLSeptember 21, 2017
It was a good work environment I enjoyed working with my co workers and the opportunity they gave me to advance in the company. The only thing was they don't offer very many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun co workers
Server (Current Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHSeptember 21, 2017
management was always friendly to all employees, and the workplace culture was always a fun atmosphere. the hardest part would be some of the customer complaints but management would take care of them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Kitchen Prep (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, OHSeptember 21, 2017
I really enjoyed working with Bob Evans Farms, the job was easy and still fast pace. My days went by fast and I was paid well. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helped you whenever you needed help. It also had an amazing gereral manager.
Pros
Free food, good environment to work
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management while making no money
Server (Current Employee) –  Defiance, OHSeptember 20, 2017
It gets busy for ten minutes and you think you're going to make money until your food comes out looking and tasting disgusting after a half hour of waiting and then you are tipped $3 or less. You could give a table all you had and all of the kindness possible and you won't even get a 5% tip. The managers could not care less about your life outside of Bob Evans. They legitimately expect Bob Evans to be the only thing you're ever worried about and devote your whole life into it. Then, if you have a problem regarding something of the company, they do little to nothing to try and fix that problem. So much drama with everyone. Would never recommend working here to anyone.
Pros
50% employee discount
Cons
basically everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a nice place to work
Prep Cook and Cashier (Former Employee) –  East Peoria, ILSeptember 20, 2017
I got along well with most of the staff and management while working their, I made some life long friends. The work gave me a challenge but if I needed help their was always a manager around to lend a hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYSeptember 20, 2017
Best company to work for, but not if you want to be promoted. Its so great to work for, nobody ever leaves and the company isn't really growing. Getting promoted takes a LONG time.
Pros
Hours, pay, environment, career development
Cons
Promotions take decades
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and on your toes.
Dishwasher/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLSeptember 19, 2017
you were on your toes for the whole shift, always had to keep your area neat and clean for weekly inspections. management was nice and cooperative. everyone was nice and was like family .
Pros
discounts on dinner
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management
Kitchen Prep cook (Former Employee) –  Maysville, KYSeptember 19, 2017
people quit weekly,always had to do your job,and cover for people missing,expected us to do all floor wk, while they sat at table w 4 managers on floor, thats why we could not get hrs.,
Pros
none
Cons
hardly ever got breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Hours
Server (Former Employee) –  Panama City, FLSeptember 19, 2017
Multiple shifts available to work flexible hours. The store I worked at wasn't extremely busy but other stores in Florida were much busier and you could make way more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Woodhaven, MISeptember 18, 2017
Very difficult work environment. You either get too many hours or not enough. Management tends to show favoritism towards employees that have been there longer.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but steady enough to go at a even pace
Host (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INSeptember 18, 2017
Pretty laid back. It was a good experience to have. Management was good. Workplace culture was okay. The hardest part was using the cash register. The most enjoyable was working with my co-workers and customers.
Pros
Reduced food
Cons
No healthcare for part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bob evans is a blast
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Owosso, MISeptember 18, 2017
fast but not to fast, perfectly balanced work and life if you will. flexible hours and great hospitality and great bosses and co workers. it was an amazing experience to having been able to work there for the short time that i did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, great.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MISeptember 15, 2017
Worked there 19 yrs ago and loved the job. I still have many friends who remain working there, so something has to be right . Food was always great and working with the staff was also great. Also loved the regular patrons.
Pros
Good income
Cons
Changes in corp over years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporation. Great bemefits, matching 401k. Corporation relates to hourly employees. Managemebt made workers feel appreciated
Server (Former Employee) –  Harmarville, PASeptember 14, 2017
Great career matching 401 k. Great work environment. Great family work environment. Excellent benefits. Great retirement package. Respectable company.
Pros
Greatvwork enviroment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but poor managment
Host (Former Employee) –  Port Orange, FLSeptember 14, 2017
As much as I enjoyed working at Bob Evans, the management was horrible. Many employees were late if they even showed up but was still able to keep their job. They hired just about anyone off the street which would be fine except many of the people didn't know their right from their left and would complain every 10 minutes about needing a smoke break but if you didn't smoke, then you rarely got a break unless you are a minor.
Pros
discounts, flexible hours, decent pay
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bob Evans
Server/Store Attendant (Former Employee) –  Rio Grande, OHSeptember 14, 2017
I loved working at bob evans, But i was a horrible waitress. Even though they did all they could to help me become a better one. Despite being a bad waitress i made great tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy
server (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 13, 2017
busy place, fun and stressful i would recommend this place to anyone needing specific hours or needing extra pay.overall not a bad place to work only bad thing is the amount of running you do lol
Pros
great tips
Cons
sometimes you dont get a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bob Evans Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,062 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4