Find companies:
Bob Jones University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Bob Jones University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student worker
Student worker (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJune 14, 2014
Worked with a great crew of girls. I learned different skills everyday with the help of my crew chiefs and supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for ministry minded employees
Recycling Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Greenville, SCMay 26, 2014
Most managers are great to work for. If you have a desire to serve in a ministry minded workplace, this is a great place for you to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding place to work
Custodial Crew Chief (Former Employee), Greenville, SCMay 13, 2014
Pros: majority of coworkers are competent
Cons: management and extremely low pay
Advancement is based primarily on who you know and not what you do. Management varies from department to department, but overall managers tend to be reclusive and uninvolved unless they are fighting a fire as a result of not dealing with a small issue earlier. The coworkers are usually qualified, but some are just dead weight and should be cut.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assistant Professor of Nursing (Current Employee), Greenville, SCMay 12, 2014
Pros: godly environment with chapel four days a week.
Cons: pay is not competetive with hospital, but we have not gone without essentials.
I love my current job and am not looking to leave it. The position I am interested in at GHS would be very part-time in addition to the full-time work I have at Bob Jones University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and academic environment promoting growth in all areas.
Freshman Speech Instructor (Former Employee), Greenville, SCApril 19, 2014
Pros: a lot of office time (rest time) in between teaching hours, free room and board (although i lived off campus in my own apt and have a food allergy), supervisor was always present and ready for questions, people could be counted on
Cons: since i was a teacher and still a student (grad student), i had to be present for everything else too: daily meetings, chapels, and other evening events.
I taught Com 101 (freshman speech) at Bob Jones University during the 2 years I worked on my Graduate Degree. My schedule involved teaching 3 sections of speech every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday as well as taking Graduate courses in Theater Arts on Tuesday and Thursday. I learned classroom management, creative learning strategies, and interpersonal – more... skills all while motivating students and communicating student-centered instructing. The supervisor for my job and teaching is extremely gifted academically and she prepared me for every one-on-one confrontation I may encounter. The other people that I worked with were amazing. Since we were all in education, we had one goal; show Christ to our students while teaching them how to live. The hardest part of the job was the time management. I was in several shows on stage so that took away my evening time at home. I taught all day and then would go straight to rehearsals. But the most enjoyable part was and still is when I run into my students or when I see how well they have progressed throughout the semester and that they have truly enjoyed themselves learning under me. Seeing them understand...wow! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Landscaper (Former Employee), Greenville, NCApril 14, 2014
A typical day at work involved performing whatever upkeep necessary on the grounds of Bob Jones University. I learned skills of grounds maintenance and landscaping. The staff co-workers were a privilege to work with, but the other student workers were not. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the student workers, but the most enjoyable – more... part of the job was working with the staff while performing duties and getting to know them better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great
Security Intern (Current Employee), Greenville, SCApril 7, 2014
Like any job you will have some down sides. But very professional and was a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Greenville, SCMarch 4, 2014
Pros: allowed to do homework while sitting at the desk.
Sit RA desk for 8-10 hours during the week.
Responsible for a hall of 51 girls.
Build relationships and have opportunities for counseling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - poor income
Custodial Crew (Former Employee), Greenville, SCAugust 31, 2013
BJU is a great place to serve but it comes with major sacrifice. The health benefits are good, and if you have kids that are in school it is a good free education. However, the income is very difficult to make a living off of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great co-workers
Line runner (Former Employee), Greenville, SCAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great meals during some of the banquets
Cons: usually evening hours when students needed to study
A typical day included driving a delivery truck to the university's associate schools, cleaning the kitchen area, and preparing and serving banquets to staff, faculty, and distinguished guests. I learned how to cater a formal banquet and how to drive a medium U Haul sized truck. My co-workers were fun and hard working. When one was busy, someone else – more... would pick up the extra duties of the other person. The environment was very team-oriented. The hardest part of the job was setting up for banquets. However, the most enjoyable part was serving the guests and seeing their smiles of gratitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job and work environment
Student Caller (Former Employee), Greenville, SCJuly 19, 2013
I am so thankful for the great opportunities and experiences I had as a Student Caller in the Office of Admission. The job consisted mostly of communicating with prospective students over the phone, but I also had the opportunity to get to know the students when they came on campus for prospective student events. I learned how to build relationships – more... with the students, talk with them about their interests and abilities, and then use that information to present the University in a relevant way to each student. It was very rewarding to be able to assist students in their college search and have a part in making their campus visit enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get some experience.
Audio-Visual Lead Tech (Current Employee), Greenville SCMay 20, 2013
Great place to get some good experience. There is not much room for moving up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, not many people were ever in the pool.
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Greenville, SCMay 7, 2013
Due too the fact that Bob Jones is a christian school there was only mens swim times that I could lifeguard. And the hours were only in 1-2 hour increments that I could guard because everyone was in class the rest of the day. So I would go in and check the chlorine levels every day and keep the pool area clean. Also I would open and close the pool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work, great colleagues
German Instructor (Former Employee), Greenville, SCApril 3, 2013
Pros: free education for my children, free use of fitness facilities
Cons: lower pay than in most schools, high expectations from administration regarding rules
A typical day involved generally 3-4 classes and one office hour and otherwise prep time for the next day. Depending on how new the course was would determine how much time I would spend outside of class getting ready. I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction with the students - that was without doubt the best part of teaching and I had very good relationships – more... with my students. I tried to continually improve from one semester to the next and I used the suggestions of my students from their course evaluations to make changes and improvements.
My Department Head was the member of management that I had the most interaction with - I had a great Dean but we didn't have a lot of interaction and otherwise I had little exposure to upper management. I had a fantastic office mate and we taught in the same department so it was great to be able to bounce ideas off of each other. The faculty members from other departments are all very nice people but I can't say I had a lot of interaction with them other than just conversations in the hall. I already mentioned that the students were the best part of the job - every semester was different and every class had its own personality and that kept things very interesting. I found that the hardest part was just the fact that teaching was always on my mind - unless I was on vacation, I found myself constantly thinking about the next day and making sure I had everything ready and prepared for class. That gets to be very taxing and I grew weary of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work staff in a good environment
Custodial Worker (Current Employee), Greenville, SCMarch 22, 2013
Pros: great workers that care about each other
Cons: work time, low pay
The team members have great attitudes and are a joy to work with.
From 11-midnight I go in and clean a section of the main auditorium of the school building
You learn how to work alone well while having a common goal of as a group getting the whole building done
The hardest part of the job is the hours, being a student worker is always difficult because – more... you are tired from the day of classes and the late hours are tiring
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you meet and work with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great people
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Greenville, SCFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: lower salary
Day begins with checking for new project requests, reviewing with the broadcast coordinator the progress of work in progress. Picking up and continue productions projects already in progress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but busy workplace. Job will easily become your life. Impractical for someone living on a single income or a person juggling family needs at home.
Wig Master (Current Employee), Greenville, SCNovember 2, 2012
Pros: healthcare
Cons: schedule, very low wages, strict dress codes still expected outside of work while off the clock on personal time
A typical day at work usually consists of constructing wigs and/or facial pieces; building period hairstyles; styling hair for choirs, recitalists, and cast members; accepting appointments; supervising and teaching student workers; researching for upcoming productions; and cleaning up in between.

While working here, I have learned much about the art – more... of wig making. However, more importantly, I have learned to teach and instruct in different methods in order to help various types of learners grasp concepts.

The management has been okay. Difficulties can arise from lack of communication. Management seems to understand, but does not necessarily listen.

I love my co-workers.

The hardest part of this job is probably the schedule and the sparse compensation rendered. Because of this job's description, I am expected to return to work sometimes just on a manager's or director's whim with only a few minutes notice. Some days, I may not get off work until 2am or later. Some days, I have had to go in as early as 4:00am. It depends completely on what is going on at the time with various productions. It is not rare to have to go in to work for at least some amount of time all 7 days of the week.

The most enjoyable part of this job is working with my crew and various casts. Reaching out, helping them, and watching them learn and grow is exciting for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence promoted in all things
Chemistry Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Greenville, SCAugust 30, 2012
High standards are in place for all staff; great communication between trainers/professors and lab assistants; safety is a primary priority at all times; excellent equipment and resources available to lab assistants; personal protective equipment required and supplied; full compliance with regulation is a practice all are familiar with. Extremely friendly – more... and supportive work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while pursuing an Advanced Education
Student Supervisor - Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Greenville, SCJune 16, 2012
Pros: meals and housing were worked in, opportunities to learn, christian environment
I believe the most enjoyable part of the jobs I've had here was the fact that I would consistently be given new skills to learn and the freedom to go through the development process

I learned many design and construction and assembly related skills throughout and was also give many opportunities to grow my leadership and communication skills both across – more... departments and across cultures – less