Boise Cascade Employee Reviews

Showing all 150 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent Management
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Moncure, NCMay 2, 2017
Was told on a few different occasions a start date, but after being hired it took over two months to finally be able to start. I was given the run around by two different members of human resources.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Plant needed updating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production enviroment
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Grand Junction, COApril 29, 2017
Typical day at work is pretty basic, just get your work done, quality is important. Pretty heavy work load some days but manageable. Good people to work with. Very family friendly, whenever my kids were sick, no questions asked i was able to leave work and pick them up. Monday through Friday 7 am to 4 pm.
Pros
Family friendly, good people, good hours.
Cons
Pay is pretty low for the physical work that is required.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an easy job
Operator (Former Employee) –  Boyce, LAApril 28, 2017
A typical day is a 12 hour shift. 2-20 minute breaks and one 30 minute break. You work 2 week days and 2 week nights.
You have to prepare yourself mentally and physically to work here. Its not an easy job. I worked there for 5 years and had no more opportunities to move up in the company. Its a strenuous job and isn't for the weak. The management could be better. Even though you build up your vacation days, you literally have to fight to actually take your well earned days off. They come up with excuses why you can't use your own days. Its ridiculous. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting life long friends who work their tails off just like you and get treated badly.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything else other than benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labore
Dryer puller (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORApril 27, 2017
It's a good place to work with great pay and benefits but slow during winter season. I loved working there but requires Manuel labor and need to drink lots of water.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical company with some benefits.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 26, 2017
for the time that I worked with Boise Cascade ,it was interesting ,kind of an every day challenge ,never the same pattern ,overall a good company to work for.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad hours
Stacker Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Chester, SCApril 24, 2017
Its real hot in the summer & real cold in the winter. Management is ok but they don't tell you when you have stay overtime till bout time you get off. Hardest part is the hours & days you work 12days in a row 10 to 16 hours a day
Pros
pay is good
Cons
you dont have time for home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CAApril 23, 2017
loved working there but my shift wasnt right for my family schedule. wish i could have stayed they have great benefits pay was decent always had what i needed to do my work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMApril 21, 2017
Loaded and unloaded semi trucks with building materials using a forklift. Kept the grounds clean and free of debris.

The management was good and the people were great.

This was a very good job, I enjoyed working there.
Pros
Very nice parties and compensation.
Cons
No cons about this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Lena, LAApril 18, 2017
It is an easy job with great benefits and flexible schedule. It becomes stressful at times,with the task of performing duties in a timely manner,with safety first and outstanding production.There are various opportunities and chances to learn a lot and contribute to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term potential
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 17, 2017
Boise Cascade is a good company for someone looking for a long term career. Great benefits and flexibility. They work with your schedule if something comes up. Pay well too
Pros
Benefits and flexibility
Cons
management is a little lax
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boise
Production Technician operator (Former Employee) –  Boyce Canyon,LaApril 17, 2017
Hated it. you do the exact same thing everyday for 12 hours and then switch from days to nights every two weeks. Pay is horrible and after 5 years you only get a 50c pay raise a year
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Production u (Current Employee) –  Thorsby, ALApril 12, 2017
it's a great job if you don't have anything else to get done throughout the week it's decent pay but a very stressful place to work. Stress level depends on the department
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Only 20 minute breaks, no life outside of work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Room for Advancement
Admin Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 9, 2017
Boise Cascade is a great company to work for if you are interested in having the same job for several years. There is a lot of turnover in the manual labor positions, but not much in management, so the room for advancement is very slim.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Medford, ORApril 7, 2017
Great benefits, very professional work environment. Clear business goals and methods in which to go after them. Very secure company with reasonable ability to advance.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, LAApril 4, 2017
Boise is a good place to work. It is a very clean for a engineered wood product facility, The pay for the area is excellent and offers good opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Green chain puller (Former Employee) –  Kettle Falls, WAMarch 22, 2017
it was a good work place for a kid right out of high school. would have liked more overtime. i worked with some pretty rude co-workers who didnt show me anything
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is awful
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 21, 2017
If you are young and willing to work for low pay, this is the job for you. The new manager cleared out the majority of the employees that worked for the former manager. You are constantly wondering who is going to stab you in the back next. Also be prepared to hold prayer meetings on the sales floor. Very uncomfortable. Don't bother having a personal life. Management does not care. This used to be a wonderful place to work. The new manager has turned it into an office of low paid, inexperienced workers with no direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Engineering Internship (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, LAMarch 13, 2017
Everyday we would have our morning meetings to identify what needed to be worked and assign it to a particular team. Once the meeting was over, we would work on the task we were assigned. While working here, I learned different systematic approaches for problem solving. Management was really laid back, however they held you accountable to complete your task. The hardest part of this job was dealing with the heat. Everything else was fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boise
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  White City, ORMarch 13, 2017
I loved working at Boise but it wasn't a permanent postion I enjoyed the employees with . I Learned alot of differnt things loved the office work kept me busy
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
wasn't permanet
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and stressful
Millwright/Machinist (Current Employee) –  Oakdale, LAFebruary 23, 2017
Good balance of work and personal time. Can be very demanding and stressful. Needs a culture change in order to sustain any consistent improvements that are needed
Pros
decent work schedule
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boise Cascade. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 150 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3