Boise Cascade Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 107 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice hours weekends off
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Union Gap, WAJuly 4, 2016
No advancement they would rather get a drinking buddy in from outside. no shade on hot days, kept equipment up to date. best part of day was lunch
Pros
some good people
Cons
Lack of managment skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are OK.
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Medford, ORJune 29, 2016
Salaries at Boise Cascade Medford are low. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It is a good pace to get some experience.
Pros
Staff is friendly
Cons
low salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot environment, decent people to work with and heavy emphasis on safety.
Layup Operator (Former Employee) –  Lena, LAJune 22, 2016
Work environment was very hot, but co workers were friendly and helpful, work was relatively easy, requiring strong observation skills and quick reflexes. Company puts heavy emphasis on safety and doing things in a methodical safe manner.
Pros
Benefits, Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another Great place to work.
Office Clerk/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chester, SCJune 8, 2016
When I worked at Boise, working with and for the managers was a very good experience for me. I had a chance to speak to other companies. I also learned a lot about filing and becoming a Receptionist. I enjoyed working here as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work Under paid
Fork lift Operator (Current Employee) –  Cascade, MTJune 5, 2016
Work load Is a lot Not willing to increase pay even when work load tripled. Hot in the summer cold in the winter they do provide Jackets shirts gloves and steel toe boots. Big on safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXJune 2, 2016
I learned how to use a computerized phone system. Meeting new people everyday. Great Holiday Parties. I had some awesome Co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Production Techs
Industrial Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lena, LAMay 28, 2016
The people on the floor are a joy to work with especially when working to solve problems.
Management has opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Kettle Falls, WAMay 16, 2016
Everyday had a different challenge. the team work combined with some exceptional employees allowed this facility to be world class.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and easy to work for
Coater Operator (Former Employee) –  International Falls, MNMay 9, 2016
Maintained the operations of the coater kitchen and stock prep crews.
Learned to operate machines and machinery.
Learned to manage time well according to desired needs of stock and pulp for the paper makers.
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Job, Growing Culture, Some Archaic Practices
Industrial Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kettle Falls, WAApril 14, 2016
Boise Cascade is a strong company that is making good business decisions. Some aspects of the company lag behind in the progression towards better technology and practices, but upper management is working to improve these issues. It is not an exciting industry to work in, except perhaps in the engineered wood products mills.
Pros
Stable, Nice Rural Locations, Quick Movement Internally
Cons
Not Exciting, Old Fashioned Coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good physical job with a nice schedule and decent pay.
Planer Feeder (Former Employee) –  La Grande, ORApril 13, 2016
The days went by quickly due to the fast pace of the work. I enjoyed the people that I worked with. I got to learn how to use equipment I had not seen before.
Pros
The schedule was great, got paid holidays.
Cons
The mill was very unstable which is why I lost my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn forklift skills
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNApril 7, 2016
this is a big company that deals a lot with lumber. the forklifts are fairly large and you must be ever so vigilant as to what is going on. i learned an lot of new skills working for this company and would recommend anyone that want to learn forklifts to work here.
Pros
wide open spaces
Cons
cold in the winter working outside
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok if you wanted to be treated like poo from management
Deckhand/ Lathe Operator (Former Employee) –  White City, ORMarch 28, 2016
management is horrible,they won't take care of you.you are just a number to them .pay is good, other then that they are poo.
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place and very profeesional
Operator (Former Employee) –  Lena, LAMarch 23, 2016
I enjoyed working here, a typical day started at six and ended at six. Pay was good, and co workers were enjoyable. Management is very professional and saftey is always number one.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good paying job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Chester, SCMarch 23, 2016
typical day was long
i learned how to be a team player
the manager acted racist
the coworkers were fun to be around
the hardest part was working 12 hours
the most enjoyable was the employees
Pros
pay, team lead
Cons
shift, coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Life at Boise Cascade
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Moncure, NC 27559March 19, 2016
It's a good job that pays good money and good benefits. If your a family man or women then it is not that much of a good choice. Yes the money is good, but you are always working, your barely home, and the company is not very caring toward their coworkers. All this job is good for is money and benefits.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Barely home, bad management, and no time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were incentive programs, for work well done, both hourly and salary.
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Rumford, MEMarch 18, 2016
I worked as an hourly general laborer.
I started at an entry level position.
I learned all aspects of making paper.
I learned about security papers, inclusions, watermark.
My co-workers were very helpful to train me.
The hardest part of the job was when the machine didn't run properly.
The most enjoyable part was working with the crew.
Pros
hourly people were valued
Cons
Boise sold the company
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sr EWP Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodinville, WA 98072March 16, 2016
Co-workers are a great part of this company.
Worked for Boise for 25 yrs.
Made lots of friends an relationships.
Nice product mix.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the way the employes look out for each other when it comes to safety
Millwright / Plywood (Current Employee) –  Elgin, ORJanuary 1, 2016
Having never worked in a plywood mill seeing how much they are like sawmills in the way you have to run them.I was able to get the whistle chaser job with in the first 2 mo. of going to work for Bosie Cascade
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Florien, LADecember 22, 2015
A good place to work. turnover rate is high. the plant has VPP status and is a safe environment. The hardest part of my job is the turnover rate in upper management. we've had in two years two plant mangers and four superintendents.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4