Find companies:
Boise State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Boise State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student and very much enjoyed learning.
Full time student (Former Employee), Boise, IdahoMay 30, 2014
I found the professors to be very knowledgeable and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory Assistant
Biology Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Boise, IDApril 5, 2014
Cleaning biology lab and biology teaching lab, creating and setting up supplies for lower and upper division Microbiology lab classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service industry providing a variety of sports for students and patrons to participate in a recreational and competitive environment.
INTRAMURAL SPORTS SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Campus RecreationMarch 30, 2014
I learned valuable skills of customer service, conflict resolution, and management of employees. Each work day was different and exciting and can never predict what will happen. Working with a great team environment was beneficial for the growth of individuals and the reputation of Campus Recreation. Having the pleasure to meet many fellow students – more... in different sports was the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience in life.
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish Language. (Current Employee), Boise, IDFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: the environment, the possibility to form future teachers, the honor of teach my language.
Cons: the benefits.
I teach Spanish in lower and upper division which is great because I have the opportunity to deal with beginners and advanced students. This semester I am teaching three classes which means spending almost the entire day on campus, teaching and attending to students in the office, this is my normal day.
Teaching is the best part without any doubt. The – more... hardest part is grading but at the end of the day I enjoy it as well.
I have a group of amazing co-workers, I can not complain about it.
Even though I love what I am doing now, I miss the energy, the passion, the dynamic that I know very well when I work in sales, with group of sellers etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good after school job
Computer Operations Support (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 29, 2014
Was fine with the people. Very flexible when it came time for my finals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job.
Member of the Boise State Broncos football team (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 16, 2014
It was a great experience and I learned a lot. This was not a place of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One time consulting job
Community Messaging Support (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 12, 2014
Good work experience provided during my MBA studies. We were asked to help a local government organization with constituent messaging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work!
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Boise IdahoNovember 18, 2013
Sat in on classroom lectures, graded papers and assignments. Conducted exam reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BSU
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Boise, IDOctober 23, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: compensation
Overall it is a good place to work. Boise State University is a public research institution located in downtown Boise, Idaho, an urbanizing and growing capital city that is the State's center of government, business, technology and health care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team work and support as an adjunct faculty
Adjunct Online Nursing Faculty (Current Employee), Boise, IDOctober 15, 2013
Boise State has a tremendous amount of support for their adjuncts and consistent communication. Excellent organization to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical resturant
BRC Front End Associate (Former Employee), Boise state universityOctober 10, 2013
Pros: eat all you want
Cons: bad management
Worked about 5-8 hours 3-4 days a week part time. Work load was very easy, pay was ok at best, managment was horrible. no hard part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good educational envrionment
Adjunct Mycology Instructor (Current Employee), Boise, IDOctober 8, 2013
Pros: wonderful support staff
Cons: no health benefits
A great place to work as an adjunct because of the breadth of students that you get to interact with. The support staff is always very willing to help with making sure you can effectively reach the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BSU is a relatively new school with much to learn but it is growing fast and getting better with each year.
Range Technician (Current Employee), Havre, MTJune 24, 2013
Pros: boise area is excellent! decent night life with all kinds of outdoor recreation at your finger tips.
Cons: classes and school still needs to catch up with the rate at which they are admitting students.
The professors are relatively new which results in new classes that are somewhat disorganized and not as valuable. However, the effort to continually get better is there so it will take some time before each new professor works out the "kinks" of teaching and lesson plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright.
Custodian (Former Employee), Boise, IDJune 22, 2013
College job, simple custodial work. Short hours, low pay, flexible schedule, easy work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced home/ School with family and kids
Student (Former Employee), Boise, IDApril 25, 2013
Pros: learned new subject mattter
Cons: not always the best professor
Some are helpful and other were not. This semester I am at school 13 hours a day, I have three courses that are spread out so not very convenient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here; the atmosphere and co-workers were great.
Research Assistant/Data Coordinator (Former Employee), Boise, IDMarch 26, 2013
A typical day at work and what I have learned are; Metadata curation and entry into a database and placing documents into a digital library for the US-Department of Energy’s Geothermal Data Repository. Established workflows and integrated them into standard of procedures documentation and glossaries for users of varied skill backgrounds. Researching, – more... acquiring and digitizing legacy publications related to the geology of SW Idaho following the policies and procedures for critical data curation and management. Web (and desktop) applications development, testing, and feature reporting Assistance was also provided to application development in the form of testing and the structured report of bugs. Tested database for bugs/defects. Worked alongside an integrated data and IT team to address defects for application release.
Management and co-workers were awesome to work with.
Every day at this job was an adventure and I enjoyed every aspect of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community development.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), HousingFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: fun, compensation, job history
Cons: stressful, angry customers
Working for Boise State University for the past five years lead to much development for myself as a person, student, and employee. I was lucky enough to have great supervisors that were supportive and did not lash out when other issues were occurring in the work place. The hardest but also most enjoyable part of the jobs would be interacting with others. – more... Not only have a large staff but also the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boise State Review
Textbook Manager (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: i gained a lot of management experience which led me to my other positions.
Cons: none.
I would work with professors in getting their course materials and then work with publisher reps to ensure I got the right ones. I would input data into a textbook management system, order, sell and return books that were not sold. I work in daily staff meetings and sat on the Professional/Faculty Staff Council. I managed over 35 people to make sure – more... my shelves were set, shipping and receiving sent me the correct books on time and returned them according to publisher's specs. I work collaboratively with other managers so that we worked as a team within the store operations. Bigger projects as trying to spend less and produce more revenue was a continual goal of all five of us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding learning experience
Biochemistry Researcher (Former Employee), Boise, IDJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: i find working with protiens and chemicals extremely interesting.
Cons: worked on a volunteer basis.
Worked in a biochemistry lab and learned how it functions. Gained experience with many different devices commonly used in the lab as well as proper document keeping skills. Met deadlines for important data collection. Made friends and had fun. I love working with molecules!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Instructor and student assistant (Current Employee), Meridian, IdahoJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: people skills, microsoft office knowledge, verbal judo, security and safety experience
Cons: no benefits, repetitive responsibilities every day
Start of my job would be opening the satellite campus and unlocking all rooms being used by students and instructors. If either on asks for a spare room, I do my best to create an area for their interests. I check all fax, copy, computer, and printers to ensure that all devices are working correctly before student use. If there is a problem, I make – more... a note of it and contact the personnel that can remedy any malfunctions. Once the classes have started, I manage the computer lab for student use and make myself available to assist anyone in need. After the classes are over, I keep the campus open for additional time for the students and instructors that need some extra time for the technology and rooms to be used for studying and time outside their busy lives. – less