Boise State University Employee Reviews

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diverse and accepting work culture conducive to teamwork
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 15, 2017
I loved my time associated with Boise State, both as a student, and as Rersearch Assistant, Teacher Assistant and Graduate Assistant. It made coming to work and school exciting and enjoyable, as well as productive.

Management is inclusive and forward thinking, diverse, and communicates well with employees. I also knew and felt comfortable with addressing any topic woth management.
Pros
Felxibilty and diversity
Cons
compensation compared with private sector
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
French Tutor (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 14, 2017
you can easily get help and advice
you can laugh and joke even with your boss, don't forget to work!
people are nice
students love to learn something new
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Recruiting Specialist / On-Campus Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 8, 2017
Identifying and Evaluating Prospective Student Athletes
Update our Recruiting Boards
Organize unofficial / official visits
Pro liaison for NFL Scouts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!!
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 6, 2017
I really enjoyed working for different departments at Boise State when I was a student. The best position I enjoyed was working for the Athletic Department. My supervisor was awesome and very easy to work for!!!!
Pros
Free tickets to events, meeting famous people!!!!
Cons
Job wasn't full time with benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind, supportive very professional Staff
RN-BSN Completion Program (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 27, 2017
Great work place culture, very supportive faculty colleagues. The program is well organized as are the courses and this makes it very easy to work within.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place, But Government Wages
Student Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 9, 2017
The development groups at BSU are fun to work with, while still being professional and productive, but unfortunately the wages are what you would expect for a government job in the State of Idaho. On the plus side, if you want to take night classes, you get greatly reduced tuition.
Pros
Nearly free tuition
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be
Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 3, 2017
Boise State University is a great place to work. The pay isn't the best in the Treasure Valley but the benefits make up for that. And the best part is that you get to live in Boise.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Conflict Coaching Internship (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDDecember 11, 2016
I worked as an Intern doing Conflict Coaching through the Dispute Resolution Program and I felt like I got great valuable experience. It was enjoyable, meaningful, and interesting. I don't have anything bad to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Swim Teacher (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 28, 2016
The boss was very nice and u work 6 hours a day but only during the months june and july. You teach kids how to swim which can sometimes be a challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Associate/Bookstore Associate (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 27, 2016
Supervision is great
learned a lot under great co-workers
hardest part of the job was during book returns
typical day at work involved a lot of customer service and employee to customer contact
Pros
Great supervision
Cons
strict guidlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Environment
Equipment Manager (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDOctober 30, 2016
This was my most fulfilling job and I look forward to working in a professional workplace like Boise State. Everything about the town is amazing and the people are extremely nice.
Pros
Traveled With the football team
Cons
too cold
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place, nice co-workers, bad mgmt
Enterprise Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDOctober 6, 2016
Great co-workers, very supportive. Mgmt abusive to consultants -- unclear on how to pick them or direct them and brutal in their dismissal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part Time Work
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDSeptember 15, 2016
Adjunct Faculty at Boise State have no benefits.
They have very low pay.
They are empowered.
They are appreciated.
Co-workers are hands-off, but willing to help.
It is very satisfying to mold students' minds.
Student appreciate my hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good workplace
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDAugust 16, 2016
we were helping student to understand the materials more. In this job I learn how to work with many different people with different thinking. I learned to how help students in different ways indeed. I really love when I see students understand the materials more and being more comfortable with the class
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bronco Bookstore
Staff Employee (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDAugust 2, 2016
The book store had great flexible hours, provided a good working environment, and a good way to socialize with other students. Also the managers were really nice and described all of the daily task in detail. Sometimes in the middle of the semester it would get a little slow but when it got busy it was actually fun to work there.
Pros
Fun to work in, very understandable managers, good way to socialize with others
Cons
Only busy during the begining of the semester, got slow and boring in the middle of the semester
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grants Accountant
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 25, 2016
I worked in this department right after I graduated from college. I enjoyed my co-workers and learning the grant and contract accounting field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Life
Student (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 22, 2016
it is a really good campus to attend if looking for an affordable university. Professors are very knowledgeable and always offer to help or point you in the right direction for assistance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility Manager
Facility Manager (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJune 26, 2016
Working as a facility manager is a good way to gain knowledge of many areas of a facility. I love working with the staff and making sure the upkeep of the company is going on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Math learning center is more computer based
MATHEMATICS INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 28, 2016
Teaching for the students is not the best. I would like to work somewhere that focuses more on 1-1 student interaction and hands on learning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 23, 2016
I thoroughly loved my year in Financial Aid. The people and staff were all outstanding and now that the Graduate Assistantship is over I still miss them. The people--the team--were the best part.

The were was sometimes difficult and stressful, especially at the beginning and end of a semester, when pressure was high and lines were long. The many federal regulations and Boise State policies made work interesting but complicated.

A typical day was 4 hours for me, as I was a Graduate student at the time. I would spend a portion of my day at the front desk, and others on phones, email or special projects, or training.

I brought many customer service skills and experience to this position but learned a lot about how a large organization (such as Boise State University) interacts with federal regulations concerning financial aid and scholarships.
Pros
People, Management, work environment
Cons
Grad student pays little as it is predominantly a learning position.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boise State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 77 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0

Boise State University Reviews by Location