Bon Secours Health System

Bon Secours Health System Employee Reviews in United States

Found 326 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work place. good to get your foot in the door.
Patient Accounting Representative (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 31, 2016
Bon secours is a good company to work for but a lot of management SUCK! it all about who you know to get where you want to be. The hardest part about the job is no bonuses and if you are sick that classified as an occurence. you have to use your PTO for everything even if it is the company fault.
Pros
benefits and healthcare incentive
Cons
everything i listed above
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it's a calling, you can find happiness.
Floor nurse-RN (Former Employee) –  Greenville SCJanuary 23, 2016
I have worked in several different departments in the Greenville Bon Secours system. In every area, my coworkers were spectacular. I have never worked with or amongst such a dedicated, committed staff. If your calling is to provide peace and compassion to people in need of care you can feel fulfilled at this job. However, management is quite disconnected from the reality of day to day work and loads. They preach a good story, but when it comes down to supporting their own people, they fall to the almighty dollar. Staff continues on through adversity and hurdles in a fashion that would impress anyone. No lunches, not enough staff, no holiday pay, playing of favorites and changing policies to meet management needs is well practiced and accepted even when brought to the attention of one of the poorest HR systems I have ever dealt with. This organization does not realize what it has in employees.. worth their weight in gold and much more, trampled on and disrespected they forge on performing at a standard demanded by but not practiced by administration.
Pros
Great co workers, lateral transfer opportunities, faith based
Cons
No holiday or call back compensation, short staff, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic greedy organization
NP (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 3, 2016
Dedicated staff but feel the talk about mission is just that, talk. Bon Secours likes getting paid despite their non-profit status. Case in point, Redskins deal with Richmond City.
Also in the last year, Bon Secours has added half a dozen new upper level management/administrators to the medical group while the entire organization is under a 'budget crunch' .
Seems like an odd sense of priorities while we can't hire diabetic educators and get the supplies we need.
Incompetent and unprofessional people/managers keep their jobs based on who they know regardless of complaints.
Pros
Opportunity to move around in organization
Cons
Mediocre pay, Vacation also includes federal holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization for Growth
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VADecember 28, 2015
A typical day at work is ensuring that all people are treated equally with respect and compassion. To ensure excellent customer service is always provided along with great professionalism. What I've learned working with the organization is patience. You must have patience when working with a diversity of people. I had to learn that everyone does not have the same thought process as myself. Management is a position you must be one to know how to hold people accountable, be consistent and lead by example. My co-workers/colleagues within the leadership team are very supportive. The hardest part of the job is reprimanding employees. I wouldn't say it's hard, it's challenging at times because it takes up a lot of quality time of daily productivity. The most enjoyable part of the job is receiving feedback from the patients that we provided excellent customer service and made their experience less worrisome.
Pros
Salaried, Merit Increases, Opportunity for Advancement, Faith Based Organization, Stability, Employee Engagement
Cons
Limited Employee Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon Secours
Outpatient/Community Nutritionist (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, VA 23114April 12, 2016
Catholic faith-based, non-profit hospital system that was both an honor and privilege for this company. I stand behind their mission and enjoyed identifying and helping those in need. The last position was a challenge for me personally to balance my family life and the demand of developing a new area of support services for the Medical Group. I was honored to have paved the way for other RDs to work within the realm of medical offices to be readily available to patients in one location.
Pros
mission, great co-workers, faith based, non-profit
Cons
some limited opportunity for management or leadership positions without MBA
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not The best, but ok
Inpatient Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 5, 2015
Tech supervisor is hard to deal with but I don't know how longer she will be there. Going through a transitional phase right now, morale is low now but usually is very high. Lots of very experienced technicians and pharmacists. Upper pharmacy management is good. Very little competitiveness, everyone is really willing to teaching you anything you want to know, but be careful, the more you know the more your schedule gets jerked around. Great pay and benefits, if your willing to sacrifice your home/family life.
Pros
Great co-workers, Great pay! Up to date technology, get to leave the pharmacy at the door when you leave!
Cons
Poor technician management, Really bad scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLJuly 25, 2016
Management promises anything to families to get them in the door, then cannot honor these commitments. Staffing is poor and there is no organization. Lower level management cannot make any decisions or changes without upper management approval. Upper management does not seem to know what is going on. Employees come and work as they please (come late and leave early). I see no accountability.
Pros
Co-workers - patients
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Opportunity
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VAJuly 14, 2016
Bon Secours is a great place to work, overall. Satisfaction depends on the culture of the floor and management. Differing personalities can have a great effect on the overall satisfaction of all employees. The hardest part of the job is working with very little help on understaffed units. The most enjoyable part of the job learning your team and getting to know them while providing care to those who depend on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very spiritual atmosphere, with good work values. Good employee engagement
Care Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJune 17, 2015
A typical day at my job was basically corresponding with various facilities, home health & DME companies, and Outpatient infusion facilities to set up referrals for patients being discharged from the hospital and setting up follow up appointments. Co-workers and management were great and I enjoyed interacting with the patients and their families. Very rewarding experience!
Pros
Health Benefits & Tuition reimbursement
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great resources for surrounding community and excellent tuition reimburment program
Ambulatory Outpatient Front Desk Registrar (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 13, 2016
Management was mediocre and the culture was one that I would prefer to be a bit more professional, the resources for the community and population it served were very good. The neighborhood was dangerous and a lot of crime and violence and addiction in the population. Was there for multiple shootings on the surrounding streets.
Pros
tuition reimbursment up to $5, 000
Cons
surrounding area
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Marriottsville, MDAugust 7, 2016
Bon Secours is a great place to work. We used Lawson software which I found to be very user friendly. Management is terrific and co-workers were great team members.

I did not find a hard part of my job, everyone worked as a team and helped each other. There was always a open door policy.
Pros
Workout facilities and exercise groups
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon Secours in Michigan prior to 2008 with great productive and cooperative environment as a Physical Therapist
Licensed Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Grosse Pointe, MIAugust 21, 2016
Learned great skills in both the acute hospital setting and outpatient setting for orthopedics, neurological diagnoses as well as overall general medical related debility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Bon Secours
Medical Call Center Operator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 5, 2016
I absolutely loved my job. I am a Mass Communications major so I enjoy meeting new people and conversing with them. I enjoyed be able to talk daily with new people from all walks of life and assist them with whatever need they had.
Pros
being able to help people daily
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Saint Francis.
Patient Transporter (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCJune 22, 2016
Saint Francis has some great departments that work together as a team. Getting my schooling behind me and joining one of those departments would be amazing. If you don't have some sort of license or certification then you do not matter. Go to school!
Pros
Great Pary
Cons
Jerked from shift to shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Godless
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 11, 2016
Sociopathic leadership. Zero accountability of leadership. Incestuous leadership. Only concern of leadership is company and their job liability. Pathetic benefits and raises if you are not part of leadership.
Pros
Some staff. Opened my eyes to prevasiveness of sociopathic leadership.
Cons
Read the review.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educative and welcoming
externship/Shadowing (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJuly 4, 2016
A place where I could learn and get exposed to the cast technology in first world countries in a learning environment. I learnt a lot frm the doctor I worked under. Got exposed and allowed to examine patients and question as wellas advise them on their health.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place should be shut down!
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 18, 2016
I was lied to so much by the HR leaders, the employee wellness leader and EAP leaders. It was a scary, dark place to work. No growth. Its all about who you know. SO many people got jobs here because they are family, friends or whatever to higher ups. My purse was stolen twice here and nobody cared.
Pros
Leaving this company for good
Cons
No growth, lies, hidding behind religion.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Learn and Grow
NURSE RECRUITER/ NURSE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 24, 2016
Leadership from the VP of Nursing to the CEO were very accessible and down to earth. The Nursing staff and EVS staff were awesome to work with. The other departments were also great to work alongside.
Pros
Open Door Policy of Leadership and staff was wonderful to work with.
Cons
Needs more community support.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace sometimes
Registration (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 29, 2015
This is a great place to work at times. Great benefits and can be a fun place at times. Happy co-workers in most departments. Just sometimes feel like the company don't care about us as a person.

Pros: The wellness for employees are great. Insurance is good and decent co pay. Pay not bad but could be a little higher.
Pros
The wellness for employees are great. Insurance is good and decent co pay. .
Cons
Do not like to hire. When a person leave, they want replace them unless it is a dying need. Sometimes can be over worked. Sometimes we, the employee don't feel valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely the worst I have EVER experienced
Hospice RN (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCNovember 19, 2015
CONTINUAL turnover of staff, can not keep staff more than a few months, most leave before 90 day eval. Completely inept management who, thankfully, is rarely there. One coworker said that the Director was like a seagull: they fly in once in a while, xxxxs all over everything, then leave the mess for others to clean up! I found them to be unfair, bias, racially charged, lying, and inept. In over 30 years in the healthcare field, this place takes #1 for the worst ever. Turnover at last look for 180% in last 12 months. I truly do not know how the management keeps their jobs! Is there less than 1 star for management??

You WILL get called off for low census several times a month. If you work for money and not for volunteering...this place is not for you.
Pros
Nurses have "banded together" and universially despise management
Cons
There's not enough room in the website to list these out! POOR pt care being the worst.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 332 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8

Bon Secours Health System Reviews by Location