Find companies:
Bon Secours Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
142 reviews

Bon Secours Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Class Company
Staff RN, Emergency Department (Former Employee), Midlothian, VAApril 10, 2014
Wonderful environment to work in
Caring excellently trained nurses
Culture of compassion
Great pay
Encourages advancement and giving back to the community
Magnet hospitals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Histotechnologist (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAMarch 29, 2014
It is great company.
They have a great culture.
Very diverse
Supervisor and crew are very open to opinion.
I like it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company with an amazing mission!
WELLNESS COORDINATOR/HEALTH COACH (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 26, 2014
I wake up everyday happy to go to work and help those I work with improve their health and wellness, I'm blessed. Its a great company because of its values, leader engagment and kindness to the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady and good place to work
Rehab Technician (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunch break, management
Cons: unpaid holidays, no sick leave
Makes sure the clinic is functioning to treat patients for physical therapy.
Answers phones, schedule patients for follow-up appointments, collects co-pays, create and file patient charts.
Management is great. Very flexible.
Co-workers are easy to get along with, flexible and caring.
The hardest part of my job is the lack of advancement opportunities – more... in my particular position.
The most enjoyable part is the daily interaction with different people who all have different backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
cna (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAMarch 19, 2014
great place to work. i worked here during nursing school on weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a organized enviorment peaceful no drama.
Certified medical office Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch if possible
Cons: hospital setting
a typical day at work is working in a hospital setting maybe front office. Providing excellent team building skills.i have learned to run the front ,Maintain a sense of humor under pressure. The Hardest part of my job for me is public speaking.I hope to land a job where that will become a better skill for me.The most enjoyable part of the job for me – more... is helping the customers be cause they come first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work, Great Co Workers
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 14, 2014
Great place to work, lots of training, good availability of advancement, great discount in the cafeteria, great vacation benefits and health benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place, Wonderful People, Wonderful Experiences
Registrar (Current Employee), Midlothian, VAMarch 8, 2014
This position requires not only efficient and quality data entry, but a unremarkable level of world class compassion and care to create a lasting impression on patients in their times of uncertainty. The registrar fulfills this important role of being the face of the hospital for patients and visitors while admitting/directing them to their needed destination. – more... I have to have a detailed knowledge of: every department within the building, medical terminology, physician names and practices to be able to provide accurate directions for patients' different procedures. Primary duties include: meeting and greeting patients/families and beginning the medical record, both written and electronic. I am responsible for quality patient registrations by obtaining thorough and accurate information, timely and efficiently, and entering this data correctly into our system. My specific duty as an emergency room registrar collects the patient’s chief complaint and enters their arrival into our system. I have to have a working knowledge and history with a wide array medical terminology to initially assess each patient’s acuity, sense stroke and heart attack symptoms, respiratory distress, circulation and chest pain to notify a nurse immediately. I must have knowledge of specific follow up questions to assess severity as well. I enter demographic data into the system, collect any copayments/coinsurances/deductibles as well as verify health insurance coverage or offer them different financial solutions for uninsured patients. Secondary Duties include; conducting end of day money reports, keeping the monthly employee copay log up to date, faxing all supporting documents to the finance department, deposit any cash and check collections for Dunbar pickup, weekend outpatient cover for any Saturday patients coming in with an X-ray Order: I schedule the patients visit, transcribe doctor's orders, linking it electronically with the patient's information, and signing in those patients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company emphasizes importance of values and mission.
Transcription Coordinator (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: well integrated transcription team.
Cons: limited availability of coding positions at this time.
Transcription coordination involves reviewing transcription done by the outsourced company, correcting problems, filling in blanks or adding demographics as necessary. We have an outstanding, talented team, albeit small, that works well together. I also am responsible for various radiology corrections and problem solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place but terrible management
lab (Former Employee), Newport NewsMarch 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: unrealistic expectations.
I worked in the Hampton Roads area for about a year. Both times I worked at this particular hospital I had horrible managers who had their preferences and made it miserable for the rest of us. This last time I worked for Bon Secours I actually had an altercation with one of my fellow employess which forced me to walk off the job.After speaking to my – more... manager about the incident I was told that I needed to decide whether I wanted to continue working there. An old employee was brought into the conversation who didnt even work there. I felt there was a HUGE amount of descrimination and favoritism. I hope others dont expericnce the same things I did at Bon Secours Hampton Roads. I now work for a competitor and am very happy with my decision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Insurance Verifier (Former Employee), Glen Allen, VAFebruary 25, 2014
You learn so much in a day and you get to communicate with so many people. Your goal in your day is to make sure everyone 1. Able to go to the appointment and 2. Go in with most paper work is already comepleted so it will be a fast experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a hard time as a minority
RN (Former Employee), Newport News, VAFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits, clinical ladder
Cons: unfair working conditions, always short staffed, disconnect with corporate office on expectations from staff
Was able to network with many talented healthcare professionals but experienced a lot of prejudice working for bon secours - st francis in newport news. Its not the place to go if you really want to advance professionally! The culture is toxic! The company might be good but my experience throughout bon secours hampton roads was not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Critical Care Transport, Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 21, 2014
Bon Secours truly supports their employees and is listed as one of the top places to work in Virginia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place to work
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: get to work for one of the well know healthcare service industries in va
A typical work day is focused on providing excellent customer service to patients and/or other contacts through the health care systems. Must have the ability to work in a team environment while meeting multiple needs of patients, professional medical staff as well as internal and external contacts. No part of the job is hard; however, most challenging – more... is when your day gets busy and you must find a way to have a win win day for the patients as well as yourself because we work in a service industry where the well being of one's healthcare needs is key. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy hospital
Cook (Current Employee), Port Jervis, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: schedule changes alot
I have learned a lot working under a food service company.I enjoy working with my co-workers.All are very pleasant and are all different age groups
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: health benifits and incentives.
Cons: salary, pto
Typical day is seeing patients on a mobile clinic as well as patients that do not have health insurance.
Management is great very understanding and professional.
Co-workers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Health System
ACCOUNTING MANAGER (Former Employee), Altoona, PAFebruary 6, 2014
This was one of my favorite jobs. I loved working for a Catholic Hospital. The Sisters of Bon Secours are very intelligent women and I enjoyed the frequent travel that I did in my internal auditing position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the independent, organized therapist.....
Licensed Physical Therapist Assistant (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: autonomy, independence, varied work environments and patients
Cons: time consuming, demanding, unpredictable
This job provides the opportunity to see different patients in different environments almost every hour. It also allows autonomy which can also improve skills of improvisation. Overall a good job but very demanding in terms of time consumption with scheduling and overall paperwork associated with the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller hospital with close OR family
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee), Midlothian, VAJanuary 30, 2014
Typical Non teaching hospital with, smaller hospital with lots of Ortho and spine. Some days can be long but not awful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, stressful work environment
Cna (Former Employee), Newport News, VaJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: shift went fast
Cons: poor management, unorganized, little teamwork, on feet entire shift
Cna's are expected to do supervisory duties, such as filling out the assignments of the other cna's. The cna/nurse to patient ratio was extremely over what it should have been in order to provide adequate, quality, personal care. Not enough equipment for taking vital signs and the machine being used was broken with everyone on the unit waiting to use – more... the same one while each cna needed to do up to 10-15 sets of vitals two times per shift. To ask a question, especially as a new employee, only got you blank stares or blatant ignoring you to your face. Answered call lights but while you were caring for that patient you would be pulled away and forced to be in 2, 3, 4 places at one time. Asking the nurses for assistance was taken as if it was an insult. The physical aspects of the job were impossible. A bully cna was allowed to harrass and follow other cna's and force her way of patient care as the standard. Worst work place ever experienced, physically as well as mentally. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Bon Secours Health System

Bon Secours Health System, Inc. based in Marriottsville, Maryland, is a $3 billion dollar not-for-profit Catholic health system – Read more

Bon Secours Health System Photos