Bon Secours Health System

Bon Secours Health System Employee Reviews

Found 342 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 21, 2016
Bon secours is a very great workplace, the people are great and the opportunity for advancement is also great. I would recommend this place to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place with daily prayer
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VANovember 17, 2016
not-for-profit Catholic health system sponsored by Bon Secours Ministries
headquartered in Marriottsville, Maryland
owns, manages, or joint-ventures facilities in six states, primarily on the East Coast
19 acute-care hospitals
one psychiatric hospital
five nursing care facilities
four assisted living facilities
14 home care and hospice services
more than 25,000 employees
Pros
daily prayer
Cons
long work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful employees terrible management
Pharmacy (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VANovember 17, 2016
Management is clueless & works the staff to death. Even though Bon Secours health system is in the top 20 largest non profit health systems and is actually bigger than Sentara - they pay the least and are very stingy.

We don't have the resources that we need to do our jobs. No bonuses this year either.

The hospital has roaches and is dirty in many places, and it's constantly short staffed.

Most of the employees are awesome hard working people but a few bad apples make it hard for us.
Pros
employees have heart
Cons
no breaks, roaches, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission and Values
HR employee (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 14, 2016
Don't quite align with culture of environment. Those with families should be aware of the absenteeism (write up) policy before joining.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Strict policies
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 8, 2016
i love this place of work very much you grow to to handle pressure well. This hospital is not just a hospital its a place of love and care. the PCTs and nurses are a family from a distants they listen, they understand and they care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Place to Work
Respiratory Therapist RRT (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 7, 2016
Busy place to work but your co-workers all help each other out. Management keep you in the loop in what is going on and coming down the road. Overall, pretty solid place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Information Services Network Technician (Current Employee) –  Suffolk, VANovember 5, 2016
Typical day is monitoring tickets for issues. I've learned many helpful skills in the work place. able to work with the same manger for 4 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with patients
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VANovember 3, 2016
Worked both day and night shift
Helped with all meal services
Took patients vitals
Checked blood sugars
Enjoyed working for the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grosse Pointe, MINovember 1, 2016
I started off processing mail and then took a position billing insurance companies. I then took a position as an accounting clerk. I am so grateful for this company and all the experience I gained. I worked with a wonderful group. Bon Secours was a wonderful place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resource Advisor Management
Human Resource Advisor (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 31, 2016
A typical work day is fast paced and you don't have time to get up to take a break or you will be scrutinized for it. I learned that this job is rough.
Pros
we get an hour lunch
Cons
No breaks, constantly monitored, micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was with youth works
I mostly did secretary work (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 16, 2016
Me and 20 other teens ages 14 to 19 would go to different stations at the bon secours hospital on 2000 w.Baltimore street from June 2016 to august 2016
Pros
Free lunch, my co-workers are nice
Cons
It was only temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
Staff RN (Current Employee) –  St MaryOctober 3, 2016
Not a bad place to work. I am looking into something different than my current position . The work environment is fair. The company tries to be good help to those in need
Pros
We eat lunch
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Transaction Posting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 20, 2016
I get to work about 15 minutes early. Get my tea,clock in and get ready to start my work day.I able to talk with my co workers if I have any questions their is always some one to help.
Pros
1 hour lunch breaks and free to move around doing the day.
Cons
Healthcare is to high
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission and vision
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 19, 2016
The hospital is a great place to work. The mission is to be "good help" and that's what we provide". The CEO is awesome and supportive. The benefit and leave package is amazing. Community Works is my favorite program.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Help
Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Suffolk, VAAugust 31, 2016
the employers was not nice. they always needs help. short in workers. staffing was not good. had more patients then empoyes.
Pros
good people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love
Phlebotomist (Lead) (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 30, 2016
I love love love this place wish i could work here forever.
great place to work, they put you family first.Ok salary. great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, beleive in team work, cares about employees,
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 27, 2016
Bon Secours cares about employees and offers excellent salary, paid time off, and insurance benefits. There is advancement opportunities within this company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Charge Nurse/Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Port Jervis, NYAugust 24, 2016
Great place to work! The residents are wonderful and the nurses are excellent. It has been a great place to learn. As a new nurse I have been able to gain experience needed to further my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon Secours in Michigan prior to 2008 with great productive and cooperative environment as a Physical Therapist
Licensed Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Grosse Pointe, MIAugust 21, 2016
Learned great skills in both the acute hospital setting and outpatient setting for orthopedics, neurological diagnoses as well as overall general medical related debility.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Marriottsville, MDAugust 7, 2016
Bon Secours is a great place to work. We used Lawson software which I found to be very user friendly. Management is terrific and co-workers were great team members.

I did not find a hard part of my job, everyone worked as a team and helped each other. There was always a open door policy.
Pros
Workout facilities and exercise groups
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bon Secours Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 348 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Bon Secours Health System Reviews by Location