Bon Secours Health System Employee Reviews

Found 279 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job, flexibility
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 31, 2016
Medium-sized hospital with the laboratory separated into BB, Micro, and Automated departments, without any overlapping. Would have loved to continue my BB and micro experience. Hopefully the next spot!

Flexibility was amazing, especially during my child's birth and year after!

Pay was pretty good, tough working a second shift..but loved the variety of testing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it's a calling, you can find happiness.
Floor nurse-RN (Former Employee) –  Greenville SCJanuary 23, 2016
I have worked in several different departments in the Greenville Bon Secours system. In every area, my coworkers were spectacular. I have never worked with or amongst such a dedicated, committed staff. If your calling is to provide peace and compassion to people in need of care you can feel fulfilled at this job. However, management is quite disconnected from the reality of day to day work and loads. They preach a good story, but when it comes down to supporting their own people, they fall to the almighty dollar. Staff continues on through adversity and hurdles in a fashion that would impress anyone. No lunches, not enough staff, no holiday pay, playing of favorites and changing policies to meet management needs is well practiced and accepted even when brought to the attention of one of the poorest HR systems I have ever dealt with. This organization does not realize what it has in employees.. worth their weight in gold and much more, trampled on and disrespected they forge on performing at a standard demanded by but not practiced by administration.
Pros
Great co workers, lateral transfer opportunities, faith based
Cons
No holiday or call back compensation, short staff, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization for Growth
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VADecember 28, 2015
A typical day at work is ensuring that all people are treated equally with respect and compassion. To ensure excellent customer service is always provided along with great professionalism. What I've learned working with the organization is patience. You must have patience when working with a diversity of people. I had to learn that everyone does not have the same thought process as myself. Management is a position you must be one to know how to hold people accountable, be consistent and lead by example. My co-workers/colleagues within the leadership team are very supportive. The hardest part of the job is reprimanding employees. I wouldn't say it's hard, it's challenging at times because it takes up a lot of quality time of daily productivity. The most enjoyable part of the job is receiving feedback from the patients that we provided excellent customer service and made their experience less worrisome.
Pros
Salaried, Merit Increases, Opportunity for Advancement, Faith Based Organization, Stability, Employee Engagement
Cons
Limited Employee Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Enjoyable Workspce
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 24, 2015
This is a family environment through out the building. We are community Friendly and provide support in areas such as tax prep, early headstart, and job readiness
Pros
There is a large emphesis on Community Engagement amongst the Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 28, 2015
Great place to start your nursing career. great team player and busy pace to work. co-worker are very hardworking and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream job
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VANovember 23, 2015
This was my dream job in many ways. I worked the hours and days I wanted so that I could attend church.
This is a religious based hospital so it fit perfectly with what I am looking for.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely the worst I have EVER experienced
Hospice RN (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCNovember 19, 2015
CONTINUAL turnover of staff, can not keep staff more than a few months, most leave before 90 day eval. Completely inept management who, thankfully, is rarely there. One coworker said that the Director was like a seagull: they fly in once in a while, xxxxs all over everything, then leave the mess for others to clean up! I found them to be unfair, bias, racially charged, lying, and inept. In over 30 years in the healthcare field, this place takes #1 for the worst ever. Turnover at last look for 180% in last 12 months. I truly do not know how the management keeps their jobs! Is there less than 1 star for management??

You WILL get called off for low census several times a month. If you work for money and not for volunteering...this place is not for you.
Pros
Nurses have "banded together" and universially despise management
Cons
There's not enough room in the website to list these out! POOR pt care being the worst.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
TSA (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VANovember 17, 2015
Great people that care. Awesome environment. The work was enjoyable and face paced. Management is awesome and always willing to listen to suggestion.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much stress from management
Registered Nurse, Field Nurse (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 13, 2015
The management team is great as they allow you to do your work without much hassle. Didn't get much training to start but that has been like every job that I have ever had as a nurse.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Monday through Friday and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal I.C.U. Enviroment
Registered Nurse Intensive Care Units (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCNovember 11, 2015
I felt valued here. I knew my worth to and for this company. I was respected. All of this until a supervisor came on board that gave me several really bad gut feelings.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Variable listening managers
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLNovember 9, 2015
Great place to work. Developed their employees to the Maximum. Supportive management with all aspect of employees development.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Very supportive of staff and customers coming in for services.
Neighborhood Health Advocate (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 5, 2015
Great place to work. Very supportive of staff and customers coming in for services. Most enjoyable part of job is helping our customers maintain optimal health.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credit check for a job!!
Clerk job (Former Employee) –  manyOctober 30, 2015
I applied for a job several months ago, had a friend trying to get my application pulled so i could be interviewed. Well i found out that they would no even send my application due to credit check. Well ya know to me sometimes i don't think that is fair to people, I mean up until about a year and a half ago i had good credit even got a job at a bank, which is where i'm working now, but only part time that's why i'm looking for full time, but a year an a half ago my husband who was a truck driver walked off and left me and moved to Alabama with a woman, and left me to not only try and support my self on a part time job, but also never paid 1 bill and was making approximately 4000 dollars a month. I on the other hand was making about 1000 a month and house payment, electric, and insurance alone were 900, and that isn't counting the 12 credit cards that were not paid. I had to make a choice, and therefore had to chose to keep a roof over my head cause i knew if i was homeless i wouldn't even keep the part time job i have now. Do to an injury there are only certain jobs i can do, and needless to say i can't get a job due to this fact. You all seem very proud of your religious statue in this company so explain to me why even though i wrote a cover letter explaining my situation i still was not considered. In my opinion this doesn't seem like what religious people in my opinion would do.
Pros
N/A
Cons
read above
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT BENEFITS
RN-ASN, CCRN Clinical Nurse I, Intensive Care Unit (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 22, 2015
SUPPORTS WORKING MOTHERS, supports growth and development. Ample opportunities to growth within the organization. Managers support staff and promote teamwork. Pay is competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, warm supportive culture
R.N. (Current Employee) –  Ashland, KYOctober 20, 2015
I really enjoy working at OLBH, management , and co-worker's provide caring supportive environment .It is a workplace that provides opportunities to grow and flourish
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay...that's about it
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 17, 2015
I only worked here through my orientation period which was horrible. I was made to rush into tasks I was not prepared for and was not offered adequate education opportunities. I did not feel supported by other coworkers or management, most coworkers from travel agencies.
Pros
pay
Cons
orientation, staff, paper charting, lack of materials
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the day
LPN (Former Employee) –  Norfolk VaOctober 16, 2015
Everyday I got to spend it with great co-workers. They helped me grow as a nurse. I will forever be grateful for each and every one of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Telecommunications Lead Agent (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 14, 2015
The best part was my co-workers and the relationships a have with them.
Why do I have to review it? and why is this publicly shown?
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall its good.
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCOctober 13, 2015
Its not a bad company to work for. Most of the staff is great. Overall nice work environment!Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Coding Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Midlothian, VAOctober 12, 2015
Perfect example of corporation. Although it has helped me learn a lot about working for a corporation and how a corporation works in America
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 284 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture