Book Store Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lamoni, IAJuly 18, 2017
My typical day at work in the book store. while attending school and working in the Campus Book store it was very fun and productive hours. Gain knowledge on how to order and read codes on how to order the merchandise. my store manager had a good balance management system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's only work, no fun work place where i work
Worker (Former Employee) –  Tunis, VAMarch 12, 2017
I learned how to deal with customers, i discovered many things i did not know previously, they are all educational. but in fact i can not accept the idea of continuing to work in this company because i have goals i want to achieve in my current situation.
Pros
Lunch in the afternoon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Adventures ahead
Mail-room Manager (Former Employee) –  Circleville, OHFebruary 2, 2017
Each day book orders needed filled. Books were ordered for all classes. Shipping books on a timely bases was extremely important. This was a new position for the university so I had to learn from the ground up. Additionally my department was responsible for all incoming and outgoing mail/packages.
Researching, ordering and displaying merchandise became a huge challenge. Working with students and teaching them customer service and priorities was a challenging part of this job. All in all it was a great job.
Pros
Compensation and benefits were good.
Cons
long hours and difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work with others
Student Work Study Program (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLAugust 19, 2016
we were all students .it was a fun job and great people to work with. the work wasn't too hard but there was always something to do . most important was that i learned that i like helping people.
Pros
great environment .fun working with people and helping others
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Auburn, CAMarch 10, 2015
There were cats in the back and it was a humane society/ bookstore. whats not to love there. There was just a cash box instead of a actual established way of receiving money, and had no debit option. the books were cheap and well stocked.
Pros
Cats and books
Cons
cash box
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very cool place to work in
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILDecember 10, 2014
this is a great partime job that is always open during the summer. mostly will be hot due to school saving money on unneed use of A/C unit. most of the work consist of lifting and labeling for the fallowing school year. It is only three months so long term isnt an option.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BookStore
Book store Attentant (Former Employee) –  Twentynine Palms, CAAugust 17, 2014
Greet and attend bookstore customers
Offer relevant information about products and prices
Make order in customer's name
Sell books tocustomers
Operate the cash register and other bookstore equipments
Collect payments
Take inventory
Order and maintain books, magazines and other bookstore supplies
Arrange and display books on shelves and counters
Attach price tags on books before display
Organize books according todefined categories (children books, travel, fiction, non fiction)
Maintain and update bookstore database
Keep maintenance within the bookstore
Provide high quality services tocustomers
Maintain long term relationships with other bookstore clerk, customers and members of community
Load and unload merchandise and verify invoices
Make refunds
Handle forms such as invoices, journal vouchers, book vouchers and catalog orders
Solve customer complaints
Perform general office procedure and practices
Pros
I really liked my manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over
Manager (Former Employee) –  BelgradeJuly 7, 2014
The years that I spent at The Book Store were some of my first as a young professional.

Students would come and go and my loyalty paid off.

Very fortunate to have this experience at a young age.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
book stocking
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Fort Valley, GAFebruary 6, 2014
the was a great job to have while in college. FVSU gave me the opportunity to meet not only my classmates but everyone on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling and organizing books and other school material that the store have
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALJune 29, 2013
A typical day at work was organizing and selling the books, school spirit cloth and materials that needed for the student. In this job I learn how to be a good sale person and convenes the student to buy the material they need. I learn how to manage my time well I'm working and studying.
The fun part of the job was attracting the costumer by decorating and organizing the place to make it more welcoming. This job was not hard to manage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work and dealt with all kinds of awesome customers
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMay 27, 2012
I would open the store, and start my day and would do inventory, keep the shelves stocked and in neat order. I also did inventory counts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Book Store reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Book Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.3
Culture
4.6